Redline 1999 Conquest CycloX Older Cyclocross Bike

DESCRIPTION

Redline Conquest CycloX

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 10  
[Mar 07, 2003]
Lonny
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Inexpensive. Versatile. Strong build.

Weakness:

The geometry was a major problem for me. It never quite fit correctly. I raced for almost two seasons on it. Went through numerous bottom brackets and derailleur hangers. I dnf'd three races due to torn derailleur hangers. Frame is not that stiff, nor does it dampen vibration very well. The ride is a little sluggish overall.

A good, versatile first bike. Solid value and performance. I do winter training, mtb with friends, race 'cross, and commute on it.

Similar Products Used:

Kona Jake the Snake

[Apr 21, 2002]
Damon
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Light weight, tough and cheap.

Weakness:

1" steerer, non-S bend seat stays.

Excellent Bike... I got a great deal on it and have had to put very little money into it since to make it really great. Excellent ride, light and fast... bike actually feels better in the dirt than on the road!

Similar Products Used:

Trek XO-1

[Jan 03, 2000]
Anonymous
Cross-Country Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
Strength:

REDLINE cyclocross's have a great frame layout. I like the beefy welds, nice work.
Pretty darn light even though the groupo kinda low budget.
Shimano M515's are a bonus.

Weakness:

Kermit the frog, green is not everyone's cup of tea & might as get with the times: toss the barend shifters and move to STI.

Even though the groupo's low budget, the bike is still race worthy. When and if you bust stuff (rear D, wheels, etc) I'd suggest going to upgrades. however, even with factoring in the price of upgrades, it's still worth it.I've read other reviews about the stock stem layout. I agree, it's too long, but alot of it has to do with the long top-tube, however, at least Redline was smart enough to put a threadless set up. ie. swapping out the stem is not any big deal.

Similar Products Used:

None worth mentioning

[Dec 11, 1999]
Anonymous
Weekend Warrior

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Strength:

Good Steering Responsiveness, Light Weight, Price

Weakness:

Front Derauiller,
Handlebar Stem too Long causes neck/back to stiffen

Good cyclocross bike for the money ~$800 and lightweight Front Shiamno RX Derauillers cheap durability even for Road Duty, needs shorter front handelbar stem to alleviate back/neck stiffness

Similar Products Used:

None

[Oct 22, 1999]
Anonymous
Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Strength:

price!, functionality, durability and versatility

Weakness:

None

i made the setup changes so that i could use the bike for touring and with the triple you can go literally anywhere off-road with it. this bike is adventure waiting to happen. it is incredibly versitile and a great value.

Similar Products Used:

None

[Feb 22, 2000]
Anonymous
Cross Country Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Good price, strong frame, decently light

Weakness:

Long top tube, no frame braze-ons for rack

This is a great bike for the price, but it limits its all-around use by not having braze-ons for attachments. I would have liked to put on a rack to go touring or for full fenders. I use it for commuting as well.

Similar Products Used:

Cannondale cyclo-x

[Feb 22, 2000]
Anonymous
Weekend Warrior

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

LIGHT FRAME. I GOT THE FRAME FOR $299.00 AS AN END OF CYCLE CROSS SEASON CLEARENCE. COULDNT BEAT PRICE. $1440.00 BUILT

Weakness:

THE FRAME HAD NO CLEAR COAT ON DECALS PART OF REASON SO CHEAP. MINOR TOE OVER LAP.

BOTTOM LINE THE BIKE IS LIGHT. IT CLIMBS GREAT. ITS GOOD CROSS BIKE. I WILL RACE CROSS NEXT SEASON. FOR NOW MY WINTER TRAINING BIKE. IF I HAD MORE MONEY AND DID NOT HAVE A SWEET ROAD BIKE AND A PRETTY GOOD MTN BIKE, AKA MY WIFE WONT LET ME, MY DREAM CROSS BIKE WOULD HAVE BEEN THE I.F. PLANET CROSS $1275.00 FOR THE FRAME. SET UP THE SAME WAY THOUGH. SINCE MY BUDGET WAS LIMITED FOR THIRD BIKE I AM PLEASED.

Similar Products Used:

TEST RODE KONA JAKE SNAKE/ BIANCHI AXIS & TREK XO-1

[Feb 08, 2000]
Anonymous

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Very nice bike for the money, strong frame light for a metal bike

Weakness:

brakes need some V's some people might say that it's over kill but its worth it

it is a very good bike for the money if you dont what to spend a billion $'s, so if u know some one that has one try it out or if your bike shop has one ask them if they would let you test ride it

[Apr 01, 2000]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Good bargain and alot of potentional.Would do more but have nice road bike,Gitane T.T bike,and a dual suspension Mt. bike that used some not as much as i should though.Plus have to respect my wives wishes been supportive of my cycling but need to make her happy as well,tough line to draw sometimes.

Weakness:

Changing the stock fork to a ruby with 30 mm travel to take the edge off and considering the V-Brakes and different seat to start

Good value and you can take this a long way with whatever you choose to do with it.Plan on racing local x/c races for fun and see what happens.Will update if i think of anything more or come across anything else.Thanks for everyones input and ideas.Still new to cyclocross.

Similar Products Used:

none

[Apr 09, 2000]
Anonymous

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

This bikes versatility is amazing. I commute on mine, use it in the winter for road training and ride it offroad .
Currently I ahve it set up as a winter training bike. Fenders and road tires.

Weakness:

They didn't make a size that is ideal for me.

A awesome bike that sees much more use than I would have thought.

Similar Products Used:

An old touring bike with Knobbies

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.