Trek 1999 700 Older Hybrid Bike

DESCRIPTION

1999 Trek 700, hybrid, Hybrid Mix components, Trek fork

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 10  
[Nov 15, 2017]
Steve
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

I have a little older 1996 or 97 trek 700 sport blue, 21 speed, I have been all over the place with this bike,20 years plus of pedaling. No complaints at all, rear wheel spokes finally went, replaced that, nothing else but tires, I ride it a lot, about 100 miles a week. What purchase it was, still ride 10 miles to work and 10 miles back every day, not in the snow. No complaints at all, Just a great bike.

Weakness:

Shifting was a little tricky at first.

Its a TREK!!

[Apr 20, 2016]
pedro franklin
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

sturdy

Weakness:

old design (by 2016 standards)

I bought mine new in 2000 for $216 and rode approx 300-500 miles a year for first 15 years. Then last year I did maybe 5000 miles and that firmly pushed the bike into the repair zone. The wrist shifter is a little hard to operate but if you've got decent hand strength, it's OK. For bikes of this price/age the weight is normal.
Things I had to repair... For 12 years, no repairs. Then in chronological order. The front derailler cable broke and I replaced it. Also the right pedal (which has mostly plastic housing) broke so I replaced both pedals. Then about 3 spokes broke on rear wheel which I had repaired. Then within about 3 months, more broken spokes so I replaced rear wheel for $50. Then the chain started slipping when under hard pedaling. Took to the store where I bought it to have a tuneup. Turns out the chain is stretched out and both the rear cassette and the front chain wheels are worn beyond specs. I had no idea that chains stretch and then cause skipping. (me stupid). Bike shop wants $200 to fix. This diagnosis after I'd just bought a Cannondale Quick 4 for $640 to replace it. I'm going to attempt replacing the chain and rear cassette myself to save some money (albeit I'll purchase some special tools) and then I'll donate the bike to my 30 yr old son. Oh yeah, the handlebars which appear to me to be some kind of alloy are actually showing some rust spots so I'm guessing they were steel with a finish that made them appear to be brushed nickel.

[Feb 06, 2002]
steeplechaserKW
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

good value, very adjustable, gripshift, versatile bike. holes for attaching panniers or front bag for touring

Weakness:

heavy, can slide out from under you around corners at speed.

I have an older model than the 99 - i think it is a 95 or so. This bike has been through more use and abuse than i intended when i got it. After many years of riding, and sometimes being left out in the rain, it has held up great. I ha had to replace the tires last year but after 3000 miles or so on roads it was about time. I''ve used this bike for several charity rides including back-to-back centuries and I would not recommend it if you are interested in that. It''s way too heavy and the geometry is all wrong for me. It does keep up with roadies, but requires much more effort to move. I''m planning on getting a good road bike this spring, but will definitely keep my old 700 around for commuting and general use. The spokes are a little rusty like someone else mentioned but as a whole it''s still working fine

Similar Products Used:

really old road and mountain bikes (1970s or so)

[Oct 01, 1999]
Anonymous
Weekend Warrior

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
Strength:

None outstanding

Weakness:

Rust, rust and more rust. Brakes parts break frequently. Treks lack of customer service.

I agree with Sam's review of 720. Lots of rust on the spokes. Trek doesn't respond to email at all. I would not recommend this bike.

Similar Products Used:

Cannondale

[Sep 07, 1999]
Anonymous
Weekend Warrior

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
Strength:

nice quite ride, very smooth riding

Weakness:

ugly design

i rented this bike for a day, wow it is a lot smoother than my trek 800 sport , no funny noise from crankshaft the gears switched excellenty so much better than the 800 sport.

Similar Products Used:

trek 800 sport

[Jul 11, 2000]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

sturdy frame, durability

Weakness:

low end fork and rims

I've had this bike 9 years and ridden the hell out of it on both paved surfaces and some moderately bumpy off road trails. All told it has somewhere between seven and ten thousand miles on it. It has been in several wrecks and the only one that actually damaged it was due to smacking head on into a fallen tree log (I was run off the trail by a road biker who didn't look before he decided to pass a blader), this wreck required replacement of the fork and the front wheel. I've kept the bike stored inside when not being used and my only problem with rust is on the exposed cables. The paint has scratches and dings galore but considering what it's been put through I think that's understandable. It still shifts smoothly and responds well, I don't recommend one as a dirt trail bike and it can't keep up with a road bike. However, I have a very fast Cannondale CAD2 road bike and this bike is a far more comfortable ride. All in all, I think it's still a good ride even after all these years and miles, definitely worth the $300 I paid back then.

Similar Products Used:

cannondale, specialized

[Oct 01, 2000]
Anonymous
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Easy adjustment of components, handlebars, etc., due to easy-to-use hex fittings. Which is great because the bicycle constantly needs tightening and adjustment. When it works and is capable of being ridden, it's comfortable and offers easy shifting.

Weakness:

Rusty hex screws. Spokes break regularly . . I hesitate to ride it any distance that I'd not want to walk home from or to somewhere where I'd not have the confidence to hitch a ride from.

I WOULD NOT recommend this bicycle. Spokes break regularly, even after replacement of all on rear wheel. Wheels do NOT stay true. Seatpost "suspension" failed after three months - it's a PostModerne seatpost.

A local Trek dealer me NOT to expect a quality product . . and that, ". . they've started skimping on seats, pedals and wheels."

Trek's customer service is dismal . . they DO NOT return emailed questions, instead returning an automatic reply. "If it's a weekend, we're probably out riding our bicycles." I hope they're not riding Trek products or they might NEVER return to work. They haven't addressed the problems with the bicycle. One would expect more from such an established manufacturer. It would make me hesitate regarding the purchase of ANY of their products.

Similar Products Used:

None

[Sep 27, 2000]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Light Weight, Problem Free,Easy Shifting (My wife can't ride anything else without problems).

Weakness:

None for the price

My wifes bike. We go on 5 to 30 mile bike rides, up and down hills. We get a smooth ride on a bike that can keep up with the road bikes. It offers as many features as the more expensive bikes at a fraction of the cost. I use a road bike most of the time and am looking at buying one of these because it works easier and is much more comfortable.

Similar Products Used:

Fuji, Giant, several rentals

[Oct 16, 2000]
Anonymous

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Smooth fast ride.

Weakness:

None for the price.

I went to the store with 225 in my pocket and ask what they had for the price. The salesman told me this bike would not let me down and it was on sale for $209 so I bought it. In a little over two years this bike has showed no signs of rust or corrosion. On paths you will blow by people on regular mountain bikes. I still have all of the original cables on the bike and I ride it 2-4 times a week. All and all the best investment I've made and plan on keeping it at least another year. If your looking for a bike for city or smooth path riding this is the bike for you.

Similar Products Used:

This is my first bicycle since I was a kid.

[Jul 30, 2001]
Anonymous

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Comfort, Speed and gear selection

Weakness:

It's age.....must be from about 1991 or so and has a steel frame....which is not all bad....

I have a Guechotti Carbon Racer, a Specialed Rockhopper and a Bianchi Road Bike but still at my age I enjoy the upright ride of my Trek 700....I ride everyday that weather allows and am blessed with the Cascade Trail right out my front door....usually ride about 12-25 miles each day with longer rides of 35+ miles on weekends....Find this a great bike for anyone who finds their Mountain Bike too slow on the flats or their Racer too uncomfortable for long rides...
I am 81 years old and still enjoy every minute of riding!

Similar Products Used:

Cannondale, Specialized

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.