Merlin Metalworks Inc. 1999 Road Older Racing Bike

DESCRIPTION

Merlin Road

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-9 of 9  
[Oct 04, 2010]
Neilmac
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Light, lovely, buzzy ride, comfortable even as 20, 30 and 40 miles pass.

Weakness:

None that I know of.

I went for ti 11 years ago, after a lifetime on steel (Fuji Professional, Olmo Competition). I will never ride anything else.
I have, over the years, replaced all the components. But the frame itself is a perfectly balanced masterpiece, as great a ride as the day I bought it. I figure it has 20,000-25,000 miles on it.
Last year, bedazzled by the Colnago C50, I just about talked myself into buying one. Then I rode my son's super-trick Cannondale, which I concede is not a Colnago C50, but a masterpiece of engineering itself.
I hated it. It just felt dead compared to the Merlin. So I then did some reading, and discovered that unlike steel, titanium does not suffer metal fatigue. It is, technically, in perfect condition.
One little complaint: the chain hanger peg snapped off. Merlin, though, not only welded on a new one, it re-polished and re-decalled the frame for no extra charge. I will have this bike till I stop biking. I cannot imagine a ride getting better.

Similar Products Used:

Never anything like this.

[Feb 12, 2008]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

How many frames out there weigh only 2.5bls? Good hard racer! Fast and strong! Since it's older people don't realize how nice of a bike it is. Never have to replace!

Weakness:

Merlin is out of business :(

WOW! My bike is 1998. So about 10 years old and has about 35,000 miles on it! Still rides the same as the first day. Maybe even a little faster! I have upgraded the components on it to Record 10 sp. coming in at 17.5 lbs. I lvoe it. No need to purchase a new bike for the money, I only save 2lbs. Let's see Carbonfiber last this long! If you have a chance I would still buy a merlin!

Similar Products Used:

Colgnogo C40, Specialized M4, Vitus, Centurion master.

[Apr 29, 2006]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

After over 15 years, it still carries my increasingly fat ass with the same zeal it did when I purchased it.

Weakness:

As classy as Merlin is, they shoulda used paint instead of the flimsy decals. Especially since I can't get the black ones anymore. On the other hand, w/ industrial-looking (but beautiful) welds; no ID but for the aftermarket headbadge; sweet components and metallic gleam, it looks like a no-nonsense jugernaut. Oh yea, the proprietary BB was kinda inconvenient, but it's not like I replace it often.

My Merlin is actually closer to an '89 (serial number just above 4500), but that wasn't an option; and I really paid $1450. and traded in a $1250. Kestrel that broke in three places (with no accidents) w/in 3 months of its original purchase and I've never looked back. My old Merlin is plush, accelerates like a bat outta hell, climbs beautifully, descends with incredible stability, & corners like it's on a monorail- in a nutshell, it kicks ass and looks gorgeous doing it (still)! I've read that it's ridiculous to upgrade such an old bike, but it isn't old, just "well-aged." Its weight is still lighter than most stuff out there, and it still performs as well as it ever did (well, it would if I still did). There is a lot more Ti out there these days, and I'm sure they're quite nice, but none have the style of a Merlin.

Similar Products Used:

a couple of Cannondales, a Miyata, a Trek composite, and that damned Kestrel.

[Jan 03, 2003]
pedalruns
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Durability, light weight, good all around comfortable geometry and did I mention these are light.

Weakness:

None, when your talking about a frame that will last for years and years and won't rust, the price is worth it.

I have been riding the Merlin Extra Light for over 3 years now and still love it! I rode a Trek OCLV before and in all honestly I think these are junk. Mine was sent back to Trek several times, the frame replaced twice. The frames just aren't made to last. The Merlin has really stood-up, it hardly has a mark on it and nearly looks like new. The ride is very comfortable, even better than the OCLV, very responsive and quick and it climbs great. (wish I could climb as good) The geometry is like my old steel Ciocc and feels great, but much lighter. If anyone is looking for a bike to last and last, and ride like it was new over 3 years later, this is the one.

Similar Products Used:

Ciocc Columbus SL, Trek OCLV

[Apr 03, 2002]
litespeeder
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Light enough, very smooth, very strong.

Weakness:

None.

I thought my Ritchey Road Logic was about as comfortable as a racing road bike could get, but I was mistaken. This thing soaks up road bumps like a magic carpet, is very stable, corners great, and weighs 16 and a quarter pounds. What a nice ride. Also stiff enough for sprints, and climbs (almost) by itself.

Similar Products Used:

Nothing like a Merlin.

[Jul 20, 2001]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Light in weight, comfortable ride, outstanding workmanship.

Weakness:

price could be a factor for some riders.

This is my dream bike and no compromise was consider. The
Merlin extra light custom exceeded all of my expectation
and then some. I had consider all of the major players
in the titanium sphere and my choice was the Merlin.
It is a work of art, simplistic in look and function and
their in lies the beauty. I have ridden the Merlin for
about three weeks and have not been disappointed it is
fast, smooth, and stiff. That is a hell of an accomplishment when you consider the frame is 59cm and weighs 17 3/4 pounds fully equipped. I consider it money
well spent because beauty and $$$$ factor is in the eye
of the beholder. When it comes to your dream bike don't
compromise. After all what are dreams for but the pursuit
of the realization of that dream. For all the dreamers
go for it and don't be denied!

Similar Products Used:

Klein, and Marinoni

[Nov 07, 1999]
Anonymous
Weekend Warrior

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Strength:

supple ride, excellent power transfer from pedal to frame, climbs like a mountaing goat, corners well, extremely comfortable on long rides

Weakness:

Hard to say, price isn't a positive, could take aggressive corners a tad better

If I could find a better bike, I'd own it!

Similar Products Used:

Seven, Kestrel, Serotta Steel

[May 31, 2000]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

First of all, The Merlin Bicyle Company describes the Merlin Road frame as a racing bike, not a touring bike as listed in your title. It's strengths are obviously its light weight, fast and comfortable ride that only titanium can give. If you have never ridden a titanium frame, you are really missing all that a bike can offer. With the Merlin Road, you feel in complete control of the bike and yourself. You feel strong, sleek, fast and solid. You don't feel tired. What else can I say. You need to ride it to believe it.

Weakness:

I haven't noted any yet. I wouldn't expect any from a $2000 frame, would you? After spending $2000, I'm not sure I would admit any weaknesses anyway.

The Merlin Road is absolutely the best road racer I've ever ridden in 25 years. Besides being made in America, by Americans, with American titanium, it's a work of art. It was a pleasure to build and is also a pleasure just to look at. In a word, perfection.

Who should buy one? Anyone interested in riding fast, in comfort, for a long time. But first, you'll have to save for a while. Why not, it's the only frame you'll ever need.

Similar Products Used:

I've ridden 2 Cannondales and a Bianchi over the past 10 years. The latest Cannondale was an CAD 4 full blown racer and the Bianchi as a Mega Light Pro. Neither compares to the Ti ride of the Merlin. The others are stiff, bouncy and unforgiving. I'm seemed to be always sore after a long ride on Aluminum. I'm not having the same problem with the Merlin.

[Dec 28, 2000]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

I'm 6'6", so the ability to go full custom was a necessity. I have the Extralight Road model. The welds are the cleanest you'll find anywhere. The ride is smooth and responsive. The thing descends like a hot knife through butter. The comfort level is superb; I'm fairly well intact after 5 plus hours in the saddle.

Weakness:

The frame is raw titanium, which is hard to keep up appearance wise, and the decals are easily marred because of that. I just had it painted this winter, so that takes care of that.

Pricey, but worth every penny. If you spend a lot of time in the saddle, you'll appreciate the comfort. Buy it if money is no object, or if you want what is probably the best titanium frame out there. Buy it from a quality shop from someone who knows how to fit you. Fit is everything, especially at this price point.

Similar Products Used:

None as far as titanium. This was an upgrade from a 1984 Basso Gap.

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.