BikeE CT Older Recumbent Bike

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 10  
[Feb 15, 2002]
simonwheeler29
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

quite fast but built for comfort and has a very stronge frame. I can say it saved my life when a car drove into the side of me at a round about.If I was on a conventional bike I would not be here to tell this story. Only the base of the seat was damaged. All I had was a few bruses and concussion.

Weakness:

The bikee bage is the wrong design. When I got the new up grade seat there was no room for the bag to rest on. Now it just hanges there. cables rattled underneath the frame when I first got the bike, but solved by sticking using waterproof tape underneath.

At first had trouble with rear wheel spokes breaking. However I was up-graded to a stronger wheel and better seat for no exstra cost. I love this BikeE it is a part of me-its fab. Chad, from the factory, was very helpful in sorting out the problems I had -handled every thing pro like-a credit to the BIKEE.

Similar Products Used:

dawes recumbent. very heavy! pashley pdq the rocket.

[Apr 13, 2000]
Anonymous
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Great, simple design. Easy to ride (or learn to ride).

Weakness:

Stock Primo Monster tires (65 psi) are great for all around riding, although if you are doing your riding on (smooth) pavement, switching to Primo Comets (100 psi) will definitely make the bike accelerate and cruise faster. The stock handelbar is only adjustable up and down at one location, while the stock handelbars on the RANS have 2 adjustment points; one up and down and one in and out (front to rear).

With the current suggested retail price of a new 2000 BikeE CT 2.0 non-suspension of $695 ($745 for the XL frame), I would suggest that anyone who will be riding more than an ocassional recreational ride only, should consider spending a few hundred more and purchasing a higher performance bent, such as a RANS Tailwind. Otherwise you may end up buying that second bike sooner, or wishing you had! Also if your X-seam is anywhere near the maximum limit of 45" for the regular frame (mine is 44-1/2"), I would HIGHLY recommend buying the XL frame for $50 extra, as it will fit you much better and be much more comfortable to ride.

Similar Products Used:

Rans Tailwind.

[Apr 15, 2000]
Anonymous
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Simple, strong, and very unique design. Easy to just get on and ride. Comfortable seating and pedal position. Very sturdy. Comfortable seat bottom. Seat is a breeze to adjust for leg length. Flip two levers and you can slide it right off the frame for transporting inside a van. Excellent commuter and errand bike. Good line of O.E.M. accessories.

Weakness:

Seat back is too short. This has been solved with the new "sweet seat" from BikeE on the 2000 models. The kickstand attachment arrangement leaves a little to be desired. I'd like to see more adjustability in the seat. This is not a "fast" recumbent, but it's no slouch, either.

Bought this bike 2 years ago as my first recumbent. It continues to serve me well as a commuter and around-town errand bike, even though I've since purchased a RANS V-Rex and Rocket for longer rides. This is the one that I let curious friends test ride. Good quality, very sturdy. Easy to ride. My wife loves to ride it while she's waiting for her own bike to be delivered. Good customer service from the factory. The fairing increases effeciency, and helps keep the wind and cold off of me when I ride on those sunny days November - April.

Similar Products Used:

RANS Wave, RANS Tailwind, RANS Stratus, BIkeE AT and FX.

[Jul 15, 2000]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

My favorite features are the simplicity of maintenance for the 3x7 rear hub and the seat while not quite as nice as my RANs seat it is very good. Also the adjustability of the seat is great the bike fits me at six feet and my nephew could ride it at just under five feet tall.

Weakness:

Kickstand has started to come lose already and the bike is almost new. This is a problem that is mentioned on the NG's but does not seem to be fixed yet. The dealer even mentioned this problem when I bought the bike.

I think this makes a great all around recreational bike.

Similar Products Used:

RAN's Rocket, RecumbentBarn Redbent

[Aug 02, 2000]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Solid and easy to ride after the first 20 minutes. Seat cushion was a little uncomfortable but can be replaced for about $60.00 with the sweat seat only (no back). Seat has a wide range of adjustments. I've had no problems with the bike except for the loose kickstand. Brakes are strong, and the gearing works like a charm!

Weakness:

The loose kickstand is the only problem so far. A quick fix entails a short piece of aluminum stock bent against the frame to hold the kickstand in place. I understand the factory has changed the design and this is no longer a problem.

Can be found in the $600-$625 range if you try hard enough making this a great value. If you had enough pain in the wrists, back, and rear from riding an upright and can't spend a bundle...buy this bike!

Similar Products Used:

Tried a couple of other fully recumbments and felt most comfortable on the BikeE.

[Nov 14, 2000]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Simple design, not too heavy

Weakness:

I have to be truthful. This was probably the most uncomfortable bike I have ever ridden. I think it had a lot to do with the thickness of the seat and the short back rest. The fact that it had no shocks probably added to the discomfort. The problem with test riding a recumbent is the fact that most of the time you only get to ride them around a couple of blocks near the store. They all feel good for such little time you are in the saddle. This was the only time I got to ride 20 miles on one and I had a sore butt and back for a week. It seems like a comfortable position to ride in until you go 10 or more miles. Don't get me wrong, I'm sure there are very comfortable recumbents out there, but no one will let you take them out for a long ride to see how it feels. Thats the only way I would ever consider buying one.

I think with some modification, this bike could have potential, but as is its terrible.

Similar Products Used:

Rans Tailwind and Rocket

[Apr 29, 2001]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Is build like a tank and is very confortable easy to ride for first time recumbent users olso it looks very cool I get comments every where I go.

Weakness:

If you dont like to atract attention to yourself dont buy it

Greate Value good for going to school, work or work-out.
it looks like it may last for ever and the price is right to atract the general public I am sure they will sell a lot of them this is the VW beatle of the bicycle world. One word of causion if you like to do fast club rides do not get this bike or EZ-1. this bike is good for confort, I have done two 40 miles ride allready and felt good at the end.

Similar Products Used:

Test rode Rocket, Wave and EZ-1

[Jul 03, 2001]
Anonymous
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Comfortable to ride (took bike on 450 mile 7 day ride two weeks after I got it and was very comfortable - many riding $3000+ road bikes were in agony); Can shift rear hub sitting still (very handy at stop lights); compact size makes transportation simple; resonable price; nice panier racks; very easy to adjust seat (can adjust in seconds to fit riders from 4'8" to 6'8");high seating position for a recumbent (I can see accross the top of a standard 4 door sedan while seated); low bottom bracket (makes it easy to start and stop); kick stand that came with the bike bolts directly to the frame and works great (sadly, Bikee decided to eliminate this cool kickstand on their new CT model)

Weakness:

The brakes that came on the bike wouldn't accept standard brake pads (silly design which has apparently been corrected on current bikes); rear external gears don't shift well in the rain (although the internal hub seems to be totally unaffected by weather); no quick release on the rear wheel which makes changing flats a bit more trouble; flimsy fenders which are now duct taped together (I understand the new models have more sturdy fenders available, although they wont work on my bike);although the bike itself is an excellent value, some components are overpriced (for example I think $50 is a bit steep for fenders)

My three most recent commuter bikes have been a GT Karakoram mountain bike, a Bianchi road bike and the Bikee CT. The GT would go anywhere, the Bianchi was the fastest and had campagnalo components but the Bikee is easily my favorite. It is so nice to look up and foreward rather than craining my neck to see ahead of me. It is nice to not have my hands, arms, kneck and back ache and go numb. It's nice to be able to put my feet down at stop lights rather than to the tippy toe thing and it is comforting to know I would absorb a forward crash with my legs rather than my neck.

Interestingly, the Bikee is also the least expensive of the three.

I think the Bikee CT is an excellent value. The overall build quality seems bo be consistent and good. There are faster bikes and there are cushier bikes, but I have not ridden a bike that provides a better mix of quality, comfort and value.

Similar Products Used:

Have ridden Bikee AT, Bikee NX, Bikee RX, Rans Nimbus, Rans Stratus, Vision R30, Easy Racer Tour Easy

[Mar 03, 2001]
Anonymous
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

The BikeE CT has received dramatic improvements from one end to the other for 2001. With its weight loss and price drop, it is now an outstanding value. I would recommend it to anyone.

Weakness:

In it's price range it really doesn't have any.

For $545 delivered from RBR at (http://www.recumbent.bikeriders.com) it is one GREAT DEAL!

Similar Products Used:

All of them.

[Sep 02, 2001]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

All of the above plus: lightweight, easy quick-release front wheel and seat. Easy to hang packs, water systems, lights, or even your jacket on the back. Seat is cool and mesh-like. Seat is super cushy so who needs suspension? Price is UNREAL: $549. You get triple gearing and 21 speeds. Adjustable seat and handlebars make it a versatile fit. No reason why you can't do it all on this bike: tour, ramble, commute, do some distance. Very stable at high speeds. Takes panniers and other neat accessories. This one without the suspension is actually more fun to ride: more responsive, quick, light, nimble. CLWB handles easily and bar feels natural in your grip.

Weakness:

Not cut out for heavy off-road riding unless you'd add knobby tires. Not a high performance road bike feel, but it can go when you put your knees into it. Sometimes the shifting was a little sluggish or difficulty going into certain gears, but mine IS brand new and could use some adjusting this first few months. Rear brakes a little "clicky" sometimes-not bothersome. Tough to find a place to hang a light for dusk riding.

This is for the 2001 CT. This is a really super new bent rider bike. It is simplistic in it's design, yet functional. It is "spiffy" and FUN. It is COMFORTABLE. Can't say that enough. It is responsive, smooth, and oh so COMFORTABLE. It can "book out" or it can cruise. It even provides a comfy seat to sit on while you're having a water stop or even your lunch on the trail! Easy to load on roof rack or trunk rack.

Similar Products Used:

BikeE AT. EasyRider Super Cruiser.

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.