Rans Recumbents Stratus Older Recumbent Bike

DESCRIPTION

Rolling legend that kicked off this adventure into two wheeled recumbents. It has earned the CLASSIC status. A respected machine for handling, comfort, and speed. Tour, commute, cruise, race...a lot.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 17  
[Oct 08, 2017]
David Bobby
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

on the level and downhill, nobody can touch me. uphills I die. very easy on the hands and wrists. everything is done with the thigh muscles. easy on back and butt. I have three of them and best investment I have ever made.

Weakness:

geared for level and downhill. going uphill is a bear but good workout for the legs and heart.
a wonderful investment. welds are superb. I weight 270 and the bike handles my weight with aplomb.

I am in the process of buying a third one if I can. for years my hands were numb from riding regular bikes. crotch would hurt. now nothing hurts. recumbent is the way to go if you are over 60.
good workout for legs and heart. cannot say enuff about quality of rans bikes.

[May 23, 2016]
Laurin
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Comfortable position makes for low stress endurance riding. Quality is excellent and product representation nation wide is a huge plus. I am for American products that are built with the idea of being better than some of the hi-tech Euro countries. I think they succeeded.

Weakness:

A little twitchy at slow speeds, but so was my best horse! :)

4.5 stars, only because there is always something that can be improved. Definitely a leader in the business of commuter biking.

[Aug 21, 2010]
Bike Mike
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Comfort, durability, reliability, easy to ride, fast speed, good looks

Weakness:

Off roading, turning radius, hill climbing

If you see one of these 2003 Rans Stratus' with the long style handlebars come up for sale, BUY IT! They are the best bicycle ever made. Look for the rare Purpleish blue paint job. It's beautiful. The stock components are very high grade. You can ride all day long in comfort. They hold there value. They are great at high speed down hill. They will track perfectly straight and very stable.
The stock gear ratios are very versatile.
Shifting is very smooth and predictable even under full power.

Similar Products Used:

Sun Recumbent, V Rex, and a few others I test rode before choosing the Rans Stratus.

[Oct 04, 2003]
h a r v
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Can you spell: "COMFY"? This is a most comfortable LWB bent! It has some built in frame flex that helps to smooth out the bumps in the road. It rides beautifully. Consider the optional riser tube and handle bars though. It's worth the extra. However, if you have a LBS like mine - they took the original riser and bars in trade for the new optional components!

Weakness:

The only weakness I had with the bike was the original seat cushion that came with the bike. However, RANS was quick to fix this problem by sending a replacement cushion to my LBS. Once replaced, the bike became 100% the best!

Primarily tour on my bikes. Used to ride a Trek 520 until I started to experience hip problems. Test rode a recumbent, and the hip pain was non-existent. My RANS Stratus is my 2nd LWB bent. This is a very comfortable ride. I opted for the optional riser and handlebar steering components when I initially purchased mine. Next to no 'tiller effect' by deciding to do this. I'd recommend this to anyone considering a RANS Stratus.

Similar Products Used:

Sun EZ Sport. Comes nowhere near the bike that this RANS Stratus is.

[Aug 31, 2003]
apcguy
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Comfort and removal of aforementioned pains are the utmost testimonial. Componentry is solid and proven to be reliable. I have never owned SRAM anything but am impressed with the SRAM 9.0 shifters and rear derailleur. Flawless shifting, even under load. The wheelset (Alex DA-16 rims, hard anodized, LX hubset) appears to be strong and true, although I would have preferred an XT hubset. Overall fit and finish is superb, a testimonial to RANS as a manufacturer.

Weakness:

I immediately disliked the "tiller effect", caused by the stock riser and bars. From my perspective, this effect made for a very unstable and "twitchy" machine, especially at low or high speeds. I had to rectify that, if possible. I ordered a different solution from RANS, had them mounted and the tiller problem is almost non-existent. A good fix to correct instability. The RANS seat, the de facto industry standard, causes an issue for myself. When riding and compressing the seat foam pad, the seat pan has a raised lip in the rear which causes irritation where it contacts my posterior. Others are experiencing the same issue. The problem has been reported to RANS...

I purchased this machine due to cycling maladies which have crept up on me with age. I suffered from the normal cycling ailments: hand and feet numbness, sore neck and back not to mention untold crotch discomfort and numbness. Much research led me to try a recumbent, a 2003 RANS Stratus in particular. I was drawn to the lower crank position due to the fact I tried to ride a Bacchetta Giro and couldn't start up from a standing start. That would go away with familiarity but the Stratus was for me. I ordered one and am pleased I did so. Comfort and being able to stay in the saddle was what I was after and I'm not disappointed: it has delivered what I expected. I am now "bent" (my wife has always insisted I was this way anyway) and refuse to "wedge" anything between my legs again...

Similar Products Used:

None

[Jul 17, 2001]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Comfortable, stable long-distance touring bike or commuter. Well-made, good design suitable for tall or short riders. Frame available in 2 sizes. Time-tested, classic LWB design from established recumbent company. RANS seat is used by several competitors.

Weakness:

Somewhat difficult to haul or carry because of bike length. Slow-speed U-turns take practice; tiller steering awkward at first, but easy to learn. Seat mounting system could be improved.

I had Angletech of Woodland Park, CO build up a Stratus frameset with optional components. This is my first recumbent and I've been very happy with its performance and comfort since I bought it in Oct. '99. I would not hesitate to buy another RANS recumbent.

Similar Products Used:

none

[Aug 05, 2001]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Comfortable and fast. Components work well together. Classic LWB RANS design.

Weakness:

T-Bar steering could be better designed. It is difficult to access jam nut in stem riser which discourages regular checking. I found it difficult to find a comfpratbable position for the bars. Too high and too springy.

Nice bike overall. I was deciding between the Stratus and an Easy Racers Tour Easy. I bought the Stratus because of the price difference. Even though I like the Stratus, I would choose the Tour Easy if I had the decision to make again.

Similar Products Used:

Trek R200, EZ-1

[Apr 15, 2000]
Anonymous
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Very well made with nice component group. Comfortable, relaxed seating position. Very good value for the money, especially compared to soom other long wheel base recumbents.

Weakness:

Some "tiller effect" in the steering due to long wheel base. Also more sensitive to cross winds for the same reason.

If you like the feel, handling and relaxed seating position of a long wheel base recumbent, this may be your bike. I've only taken one for a demo/test ride, but I think this would be a very good choice for touring.

Similar Products Used:

BikeE CT

[May 10, 2000]
Anonymous

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Comfortable, relaxed seating position. Good component group. Very good value for the money, I personally bought mine used. Faster than I thought I could ever go. Carrying capacity excellent.

Weakness:

Some "tiller effect" in the steering due to long wheel base. ( sensitive to cross winds) I never found this to be true in fact when the wind is strong i ride the Stratus instead of my trike. I hate to change the front tire pain in the A--.

I love the bike, i love my Phoenix Trike better but will never get rid of the Stratus. I have tried to destroy the Stratus, if you can think of something to carry home I probably have done it on this bike. 8 Twelve packs of soda to a desk. If you want to feel like your flying down the road with the minimal amount of effort, and no pain a recumbent is the way to go.

Similar Products Used:

Nimbus, R-40, R-44, Liner, Stealth, several E-bikes, Ryan, Greenspeed, Phoenix Trike

[Jan 11, 2001]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Low to the ground, good shifting components,
easy to haul up to second story Apt.

Weakness:

Brakes on newer model seem to squauk.

It's a great commuter and touring bike.

Similar Products Used:

Vision R40(short & longwheelbase),RANS Rocket, Bike E

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.