Rans Recumbents V-Rex Older Recumbent Bike

DESCRIPTION

A design worthy of being the Stratus reciprocal, the V-Rex has cult and classic status, and its own identity. The stretched short wheel base design gets the ride right where it should be... double sweet like a CLASSIC should be. Tour, commute, cruise, race... a lot.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 36  
[Feb 07, 2015]
Dan

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Fast. Quick. Stable. Comfortable. Smooth shifting. Powerful brakes. Good gearing for speed and climbing.

Weakness:

Flip It is wobbly and under seat rack is expensive. Had to put a inner tube around seat clamp so it wouldn't slide. Where do you put the bottle cages? You have to burn holes through the seat with a soldering iron. Seriously. Check out the website.

This bike KICKS ASS! No bike is perfect but this thing is darn close.

[Mar 19, 2013]
Dillon

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

very aerodynamic, very fast (just as fast as a road bike), doesn't hurt your back, sort of light weight, easy to drive and steer, I got mine from a non-profit bike shop i volunteer at, the owner found it in Maine used for $800.00, i put in a ton of hours in trade for it, because i couldn't have afforded that even.

Weakness:

You can't lift it up very far, it is a bit heavy, but still light enough for doing some racing without tiring you out. I use mine for everyday commuting and i ride 3 miles each way, and plus sometime even more than that in a day.

I would recommend it to everyone it to any one who's looking for a good recumbent to ride, whether for fun or commuting, this is the best you can buy, and i have tried many different types of upright recumbent's. I have had mine for almost a year and it has been the best bike I've owned.

Keep on Biking....

[Jun 30, 2012]
rgito
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

I have the 2000 version of the V (royal blue paint - gorgeous) and have enjoyed many comfortable miles along/in the Colorado/Wyoming Front Range. After having ridden my upright Eddy Merckx/Campagolo Record in my younger years, I finally wised up and got 'bent. No more sore crotch/back/neck/arms, etc. I can't believe more people don't choose to ride in comfort.

The VRex (mine anyway) comes well equipped with SRAM 9.0 grip shifters and rear der. Shimano 105 3 ring crank and front der. Avid Dial7 brake levers and really nice ArchRival brakes. Ritchey headset and the most comfortable recumbent seat I have yet found. Alex rims, LX hubs, and Comet Primo tires have run true all these years (yup still on my original pair).

I installed a RadicalDesigns rear pannier and a GreenSpeed kick stand and a Sigma Sport 800 computer and I could not be happier.

Weakness:

It is a bit pricey ($1500) new, but worth it. I just saw one for sale for $600 in my local paper. On a whim I went by and took a look and it was a newer model than my own. The owner was an older fellow who could no longer ride. I thought about picking it up...but i don't need another as mine has lasted forever!

This is the classic short wheel base (SWB) recumbent. Fast, manuverable, and fun. Yes it is not as stable/forgiving as a long wheel base. Even so the enjoyment factor is so high I could not imagine not owning one.

Enjoy the ride.

Similar Products Used:

Linear
eBike
GoldRush

[Nov 19, 2011]
John Foltz
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Ergonomics and utility. The RANS seat sets the standard for comfort in the recumbent world. The back is mesh for good ventilation, and it's angled up enough to give a great view of the world while you're riding. The pedals are at seat level, just high enough for good aerodynamics without going to extremes. The triangulated chromoloy frame is bulletproof, as well as stiff and responsive.

Weakness:

I'd have to say the RANS Flip-It(tm) stem is the biggest weak point. Although it's functional, it's chintzy. When it wears and starts getting sloppy, replace it with a Terracycles Glide-Flex stem and never worry about it again. Also, like many recumbents, the OEM wheels are kind of heavy; replacing them with a nicer set of low-spoke-count wheels will help performance noticeably.

The V-Rex epitomizes the 'standard' short wheelbase recumbent. It is fast enough to let you keep up with your non-racer friends, and it's comfortable enough for non-stop century rides. Or, you can add panniers and really load it down for touring. It climbs nearly as well as an upright bike, and handles high-speed downhills with aplomb. I've had mine for 14 years, and every time I sit in it, I have an "ahhh!" moment. I may never sell it, because everyone I know who's sold theirs was ultimately sorry they did. Yeah, it's that good.

Similar Products Used:

Optima Baron, Velokraft NoCom, and an M5 Carbon highracer

[May 27, 2011]
Brian
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Well made, light, fast, the seat is great.

Weakness:

I guess some kind of saddle adjustment for the angle would be good. Its a minor issue. other than that. no weakness.

This is my second SWB bent. I sold the first 1, A Sun EZ SX SWB. The V-Rex is smooth, light, well made, etc. I ride for exercise, I have had Hernia surgery and my knees are not great. - Too many years of riding uprights. I therefore wear knee braces and an abdominal brace. I can do 16 miles on the V-Rex without any problems. The bike tracks well and is very fast. 1 point to remember when first riding an SWB: Make sure the vertical steering tube is at the same angle as the front fork. If you do not have the geometry right, the bike will feel very unstable. I would recommend this bike to anyone that loves to cycle.

Similar Products Used:

Sun SX SWB (2,500 miles)

[Sep 05, 2010]
Frank
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Comfort
SPEED
VALUE
abality to shame the wedgie riden, Spandex wearing. Cycleist into rethinking old school bikes.Its so fun to ride this thing once you get used to it.The best thing is that you can pour on the power in a bank turn. You can't do this on a regular bike.. Not like this.
Durable...I ride it hard and put it away wet.Other than tube ire failure. It has bin flawless.
Value..The only other recumbent that I would concider other than the V-Rex is a lightning P-38.. But thats @$3200

Weakness:

Paint sucks
Tires suck
To comfortable..Makes my 76 mile trail to short now.

After about 5000 miles I can honistly say this bike is the BEST thing I ever bought. I rode the trail for years on a mongoose mountian bike until a shoulder injury made it a chore to do my regular 26 miles without discomfort. Well I got this bike and my "regular" ride went to @40mi. My speed also increased. 38mph top speed so far.
I wish I got it years ago. It took me an injury to consider one. My best advice is JUST BUY THE THING, Change the primo tires to PP tires and ride Your butt will thank you later. What sold me was the fact that with a regular bike the only way to truley relax and to take a break was to get off and sit on a bench or a rock. With this I just stop pedeling. My ride is non stop. Except to stretch 1 or 2 times. Everybody says that I look relaxed when I ride. Thats because I am. And thats part ot the technique to ride the thing. That and gearing. You MUST be in the proper gear prior to taking off.READ THE REST OF THE REVIEWS. We all love our bikes. Join the croud. I'm a very bitter customer. Hard to please type>> Nothing is good enough.. For me to say anything positive about anything I ever bought is so rare...JUST BUY IT ALREADY!!!!!

Similar Products Used:

Bruchetta with 2 26" tires
I fell during a test ride

[May 11, 2009]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

handles curvy bike trails and the open road with ease. Shifts well, climbs well, now that brakes are adjusted it stops well even loaded. Wonderful seat and love the new handlebars.

Weakness:

little tall, I have to tip toe to balance at stops.

bike wasn't put together correctly when picked up. Loose headset, brakes not adjusted, and not cleaned up from shipping. Despite having to work on it right of the box, I now have 1149 miles on it and love it. My fourth bent, second short wheel base and this is the best fit for me at 6'2" and 225#s.

Similar Products Used:

Burley Canto, Ran's V2, Ran's Rocket.

[Nov 20, 2007]
teetoncey
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Comfort, comfort, reliability. Requires some ingenuity to carry sufficient water for long trips, but great for small items (lock, granola bars, tools).

Weakness:

New ones are costly, but hold value quite well.

I've done about 800 miles, compared to 10,000 with various road/mtn bikes. The V-rex is more comfortable; more, well, civilized than non-recumbents. There is that learning curve, but at this point it's stable, reliable, well-made, and eminently lovable. Wish I'd tried it years ago.

Similar Products Used:

Tried Burley (ugh), Bacchetta (cute; hard to find used).

[Aug 06, 2003]
Dyson Hunt
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Great climber/you can really crank on this bike.

Weakness:

Rans should work on a better mechanism for the tilt steering.

I sold a 10 year old Linear USS and also have a homebuilt SWB that I've ridden for 1 1/2 years. The XL V-Rex is exactly what I expected from reading specs and reviews. It's light, stiff enough frame and therefore, quick and geared well. The new seat clamp is great! Buy it!

Similar Products Used:

Linear LWB USS Homebuilt SWB OSS Demo's of Haluzak, Bachetta, Vision and Rocket - almost bought the Rocket

[Jul 23, 2003]
Scootems
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Frame geometry and material delivers a responsive, smooth ride. Quality components with the Shimano 105/SRAM 9.0 combination. Rans offers the best bent seat in the house! Road bike gearing, road bike speed and handling. Totally adjustable seat and handlebar set-up with provision for upgrading the handlebar & stem. Rad-loc was a welcome improvement over older style Rans seats. So far no slippage after 100 miles on the road. Shifts flawlessly. Excellent Rans support. Wide array of Rans components to choose from. Easy to transport in a van or on a rack. 2 nicely placed water bottle cages. Lots of room to slide stuff down the seat back like a jacket, cap, or Camelbak bladder for extra hydration. Comfort, fun, speed, and a BLAST to ride!

Weakness:

Would have preferred another color, though the white and black combo is growing on me. It is a very sharp looking bike. And if you like to clean and polish your bike after every ride, here ya go! Will likely upgrade the tires after I wear these out. Otherwise, it is PERFECT.

The best thing about this bike is how you can literally FLY on this baby in TOTAL COMFORT! My mileage has tripled on this thing in just about a week! I can't stop riding it! If you like to go fast and to travel long distances in comfort, this is the bent for you. Next is that it is so easily adjustable "fit": handlebars go up and down, tilt different angles, and the handlebar itself twists for better hand position. Seat is easily removable for transporting the bike. It now has a "rad loc" that is a flip-up, hinged device that seems to hold the seat on snug, in contrast to the old bolt system combined with the hose clamp from True Value. No more worries about the seat flying off while you are cruising at high speeds! I like the ride of a SWB bent and the advantage of easy transportability. V-Rex is the "King of Speed" and rightly named. I look forward to many happy hours cruising, and hopefully touring, on this very special bike. Worth every penny of the high cost. The return is beyond compensation. I have a permanet recumbent "grin" etched into my face. After years of trying to be a road bike rider, I have to unite with the other converts and proclaim, "No more wedgies!" No more hand, wrist, arm, shoulder, neck, and butt pain. GET BENT and STAY BENT!

Similar Products Used:

1999 Rans V-Rex, Rans Rocket, Bike E. I rode an older V-Rex in my ignorant days when I aspired to be a road bike rider. I was not a believer then. I owned a Rocket last year. Similar ride to the V-Rex

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.