Rans Recumbents V2 Older Recumbent Bike

DESCRIPTION

This built-for-speed recumbent. Special attention to frame geometry, strength, and weight has netted a high performance frame with friendly handling.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 10  
[Aug 01, 2004]
Anonymous
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Great combination of performance and practicality, very reasonable price.

Weakness:

Zephyr seat bottom is difficult to adjust. Stock handlebar configuration may be a little too far forward, limiting seat recline. (Optional long stem is available, and I intend to test it soon.)

This is a very practical bike with good performance. Unlike SWB bikes there are no obstacles between my legs, and the handlebar is far enough that I don't feel claustrophobic. Stepover height is very low, and it's easy to stop and put my feet down. It has a higher BB than most other LWB bikes, which means I can lay the seatback further down, distributing my weight more evenly on my back and bottom. Handling is very natural, and vastly improved from the earlier versions. (I have a 2004 version; I'm writing my review here because there's no entry for a newer version.) It climbs very well thanks to the very stiff frame.

Similar Products Used:

Easy Racers Gold Rush Replica, several SWB bikes including Lightning Stealth and Bacchetta Aero

[Jul 31, 2004]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

The bike is comfortable. The seat is great. SRAM Grip shifters work fine. Front and rear deralieur have worked without problems. I can ride long distances with little discomfort.

Weakness:

Tiller effect is kind of anoying. The tiller can probably be fixed but it isn't anoying enough to put any money or effort into. I think rans should put a water bottle cage somewhere on the frame with easy access.

This is my first recumbent. I tested several recumbents and baught a 2003 V2. I found that I liked the LWB. Bike worked well right from the LBS. I used to race in the mid to late 80's. Wanted to start riding again without the discomfort of a racing saddle. If I had to do it over again I would buy this bike again. Great price.

Similar Products Used:

Tested a couple of short wheel base bikes. Wife has a WhizWheels trike.

[Jan 10, 2003]
recumbentbill
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Bike is fast. Climbs good .No low speed handling problems. Very comfy .Great bike for long 100mile centuries

Weakness:

No weaknesses. I like every thing about this bike[even the Sram shifters and brakes]

Excellent long wheel base bent.Pics can be seen at webshots.com. Search for recumbentbill.

Similar Products Used:

still own a bike e AT. Bike E FX. RANS Gliss. Sold my Vison R40 which was a nice bike but I'm a LWB guy

[Oct 08, 2001]
toadifer
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Frame stiffness, seat comfort and ventilation

Weakness:

Low speed handling sucks. shifters should be better at this price point. Brakes could be better, too.

Very stiff for a long frame, better than my wife''s Stratus. Components do seem on the downscale side for a pricey machine. I will upgrade as I go. Definitely a complete change for a long-haul wedgie rider.

Similar Products Used:

Stratus, lightning p38

[Jul 20, 2001]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

A great bike for large framed individuals (6'4" 290+).
If you (like me) can't stand to ride on an upright bike for more than 10 minutes, this recumbent is for you. A great bike for long distance riding as well as short trips.
Can you say FAST?

Weakness:

Does not fit in the back of a 6' truck unless you have the tailgate down. (Even with front tire off)

A great ride, I have had this bike for about 2 months now, and have been averaging about 120-160 miles a week on it. No way I could have done that on an upright bike. Fastest speed to date is 42.2 MPh. And I agree with the previous reviews, something has to be said about blowing past upright riders with their fancy shirts.. that is fun!

Similar Products Used:

I Rode the Velocity XL as well as the Stratus XL. I felt the Stratus had too much "flex" for my taste.

[Dec 09, 2000]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Fast, comfortable, well-built, a blast on sharp corners, fairly priced.

Weakness:

A bit heavy at 33#, but then again, it's a big bike! This next item is no big deal, but why would Rans put silver decals on a silver bike? (you can hardly see them)

I became interested in recumbents when I recently had my 2nd low back ruptured disc operation--figured it might be easier on my back. Also, was bothered by sore neck on road bike--no problem with bent! I wanted a fast bent and for me this bike is fast. I can average 20-22 mph on 25-mile road rides which is a bit faster than I could do with my Waterford 1200 road bike; as I get my leg muscles accustomed to the different riding position I hope to be even faster. I plan to do a few centuries next summer; the most I've done with this bike so far is 44 miles.

Similar Products Used:

Took a short ride on a Tour Easy--also a very nice bike, but more than I wanted to pay. Also, I thought the V2 might be faster. Have also tried Rans Tailwind (liked very much) and a Bike E (didn't like so much), and my wife has a Vision R40 USS, SWB which is fun to ride occasionally.

[Jan 16, 2001]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Excellent finish, welding, and design. This bike is fast,
stable and a joy to ride. Solid components.

Weakness:

None in the bike. I recommend the RANS seatback bag, but
don't get the bladder. It doesn't compare to a camelback
in quality or convenience.

This is just such an outstanding bike. I used to ride
a Mtn Bike on the local rail trail, and after 2hrs you
are numb and sore in several places. Plus you are slow.
With the V2, I was fast out of the gate, and have only
gotten stronger and faster. The bike accelerates extremely
well. You can catch and pass the wedgie riders in their
colorful jeseys! 30+ mph on a 2-3% downhill incline. Plus,
if you are into ego gratification, it is fun to hear
the "cool bike, dude" from the kids and the smiles and
thumbs up from everyone else. I have the silver edition,
and fondly call mine the "Silver Bullet."

Similar Products Used:

First and only recumbent ridden. I did the research, and
it paid off.

[Jan 07, 2001]
Anonymous

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

A blast to ride, the faster you go the more at home it feels.
The frame welding and finish look first rate, the
components are still working great after 1700 miles.

Weakness:

A More easily adjustable fairing height would be nice,
It took a little tinkering to lower it below my line of
sight. I just couldn’t get used to looking through it.

I am 5 foot 11 inch tall, 160lbs, 45inch X seam. The seat is all the way back and the bike handles like a sports car. If you are any taller you might need the larger frame.
I have to disagree with Fred on the color, although
they don’t paint them silver on silver any more
(now they’re silver on black, also very nice!)
I like the stealthy look of the silver frame,
sometimes the decals are hard to see but when the sun
hits it just right……..Wow. I think this is a great bike for
anyone who wants a very high performance and
comfortable machine with a very reasonable price tag.

Similar Products Used:

Rans Tailwind and Rocket, Burley Limbo, Trek 200, Vision R40

[Aug 06, 2001]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Great looks, ultra-stiff frame translates the least pedal effort into immedate forward motion. Good climber, very comfortable, WindWrap fairing is standard equipment

Weakness:

SRAM 9.0 components are junk. Brakes mushy, plastic brake levers flex visibly under hard braking, shifting loud and uncomfortable (I don't like GripShift), rear derailleur wouldn't run true on 11T sprocet. Cheap wheels, tires and crappy KMC chain.

This bike is FAST, even with a worn-out rider like me. Although it has the same steering assembly as the other Rans LWB bikes, the low-speed handling is VERY good, and the high-speed handling is rock solid stable. The stiff frame doesn't ride as cushy as a Stratus, but it's a controlled stiffness, not that soggy noodle feeling the Stratus frame has. Replacing all the SRAM running gear with XTR absolutely transformed the bike. Hill climbing is easier than with any of the previous 3 'bents I've owned. Now if it only came in YELLOW!

I'm giving 3 stars for value because of the crappy supplied component mix, 5 stars for overall for the way the bike is now, after my modifications / upgrades.

Similar Products Used:

Rans 2001 Rocket, HP Velotechnik Street Machine, HP Velotechnik Speedmachine

[Mar 06, 2001]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Frame design is its best feature. The high bottom bracket is just right for speed and efficient climbing. With a little practice this bike climbs extremely well for a bent. Very comfortable and stable. Good speed. Responsive, stable and easy to ride in traffic.

Weakness:

Nothing really...but I am going to swap to better components. The stock brakes feel mushy. The bike is a bit heavy, but not a big deal on a bent.

Nothing to complain about. This is my first bent and I am having a ball riding it. Takes some getting used to...need to train the bent muscles, but this is a great bike. Never have ridden in such comfort without sacrificing the quality of the workout.

Similar Products Used:

GoldRush Replica -- nice bike but didn't like the low bottom bracket or the price.

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.