Kestrel 200 SCi Older Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

  • Intermediate Modulus Carbon Fiber
  • Monocoque Aerodynamic
  • 3.2lbs - 56cm frame only

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-10 of 47  
    [Sep 10, 2021]
    rosendamanns2808


    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Competitively lightweight for the price. Unique looking in a field of Madones and other silly bikes. Eats road shock like a gas loaded shock. -- Tree Care Services

    Weakness:

    None so far

    Purchased:
    New  
    [Jul 02, 2021]
    Rahnartist45


    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    I purchased one of the first model 200 Kestrels made in 1989. I rode that bike several years before a crash damaged the rear dropout. Kestrel replaced that frame with a new one and Atlanta Cycling upgraded the headset and stem. I have the original down tube shifters and Bio pace crank set, and get compliments on the old school look all time. This bike rides smooth as silk and has perfect balance. I was told that the early Kestrels were superior build quality to the later models.

    Weakness:

    The first models had issues with the rear dropout. I believe Kestrel corrected this problem

    Price Paid:
    $1600.00
    Purchased:
    New  
    Model Year:
    1989
    [May 28, 2021]
    moemoe


    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    I have on my bike for more than 21 years. It has more than 60,000 miles on it and except for flat tires and one broken spoke I’ve never had a mechanical issue.

    Weakness:

    None that I have noticed.

    Price Paid:
    2000
    Purchased:
    New  
    Model Year:
    1999
    [Jul 06, 2020]
    wwmagie


    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    I just aired up the tires on my Kestral and went for a ride! I’m 74 now and not riding much. My first thought, “ this is the finest, most comfortable, fastest bicycle I’ve ever owned!! I was Dr Bob Breedlove’s crew chief for years and he owned it first! If ya want to google “ Outside Wrecked”

    Weakness:

    Paint chips- so what

    Purchased:
    Used  
    Model Year:
    1995
    [Mar 25, 2014]
    phil

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    stiffness, looks, pedigree.& the straight top tube which is different these days !
    Top of the game when 1st produced in my opinion, Still holds it today, not many around ,so got that head turning capability still.

    Weakness:

    Paint , thats about it really, does chip & goes dull a bit too easily !
    (see below re possible 'should I re-paint' her ) appreciate the opinions on that

    I'd read all these comments & saw one for sale ... so with the see-one-buy-it in my memory - bought it ! £125.GBP / $180 ish
    PLUS >>>> Anyone think I've committed a criminal act in fitting mine with Campag kit? - build it from frame up ,so always (nearly always ) had Campagnolo, & had all the bits seems to go fine & looks the part , but in the back of my mind ,I'm thinking ~ I'm in the 1% without shimano ?? any thoughts or honest comments welcome.
    One last Q to you all out there ... If I repaint this same as factory colours ,& even with proper decals back on
    it , who thinks it would be de valued ? or is it a who cares issue ? cheers folks

    [Oct 07, 2012]
    sid
    Triathlete

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Believe it or not, I bought this bike for $100 from a friend. I currently have a two Specialized full carbon bikes that cost between $2,500 and $3,000 and I like this bike best. Of course I changed out the components to some used 105's I had hanging around the garage and replaced the fork to replace that questionable headset. Now this bike is so smooth and blows the Specialized bikes away in the corners. IF someone offered me real money for my bike, I would say forget it!

    Weakness:

    Yeah the paint chips... so what... get some touch up from the local auto store!

    Love this bike

    Similar Products Used:

    Specialized

    [Jan 10, 2011]
    shopgirlslc
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Light

    Extremely light! Durable and comfortable

    [Nov 09, 2009]
    Anonymous
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Smooth ride, dampens road shock. Timeless styling.

    Weakness:

    I had a problem with the rear drop out after a few crashes. The factory eventually replaced the frame for me. No more problems since.

    I purchased this bike new in 1989. It was ahead of its time then, and now is still the standard other frames are measured by. Sure there are flashier models out there, but this was the original. It truly rides like a dream and I can vouch for it's durability. This is the design that changed the direction for modern cycling.

    [Oct 15, 2007]
    Ross Hunsinger
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Sexy, Sexy, Sexy. Competitively lightweight for the price. Unique looking in a field of Madones and other silly bikes. Eats road shock like a gas loaded shock.

    Weakness:

    Not the newest, lightest thing on the market. Paint. Came with a somewhat lame Steering Quill which could be much lighter and have less history of catastrophic failure...

    Holy wow, this is a fantastic bike. I spent loads of time researching and testing every new, top of the line carbon road bike out there (Lemond, Trek, Orbea, Fuji, Felt, Giant, KHS, Bianchi, etc.) and when it comes down to it, this bad boy rolls with the best of them.

    With full Dura Ace all the way around, there's no question that it's a quality piece of gear. There are drawbacks, but they're so minor (paint, seat tube stop is strange, etc.) that I consider them to be idiosyncrasies (I am a huge Peugeot fan too, so idiosyncrasies are alright by me). If you find one of these, buy it immediately with no questions asked- just be prepared to enjoy yourself immensely.

    Similar Products Used:

    Trek Madone 5.9 SL, Specialized Roubaix, Orbea Orca, Lemond Tete' de Course, Litespeed, Bianchi, etc.

    [Mar 29, 2007]
    Andy
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Light, stiff and eats road shock.

    Weakness:

    None.

    A superb machine. The frame technology used is only now widely seen. Buy one if you find one for sale!

    Roadbikereview Newsletter

    Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

    THE SITE

    ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

    VISIT US AT

    © Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.