Marin 2000 Argenta Older Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

road race & triathlon, Campagnolo Daytona components, Marin fork

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 10  
[Jun 22, 2001]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Light (19lbs)
Looks Great
Good Ride
Nice Geometry

Weakness:

Daytona is noisy (freehub ratchet)
Sella Tri-matic is a little too firm. I have gotten used to it but saddles on my other bikes are more comfortable.

Great bike, pretty, smooth, responsive. Best riding aluminum bike I've tried. I sold a Dura-ace fitted Cannondale CADD3 because it's ride beat me to death. Not as soft as my Bridestone. On the RB-1 I keep looking at my rear tire because it feels like it has a flat (at 100psi). Argenta climbs well, sprints well, and has a decent ride. I got a good deal when I was in the Boston area and had rented a Trek aluminum bike for a week. I get a lot of comments on its good looks. The 2001 model's paint is not nearly as attractive in my opinion. The Daytona works well but isn't as light feeling as the Shimano stuff.

I commute on it one day out of 5 and it is always a pleasure. I recommend it to anyone who wants a fast but comfy road bike.

Similar Products Used:

Specialized S-works M4
Marin Treviso
Bridgstone RB-1
Cannondale CADD3

[Apr 26, 2000]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

good ride, handles well, very smooth, campy equip stock!

Weakness:

the geometry in not as advertised. I have a 51cm and the fork rake is listed at 50 mm but the fork is a 45. I think the seat and head angles are off as well.
Daytona not the lightest group.

I am really liking the bike the more I ride it. It is relatively light and could be lighter with upgrade componets. The Daytona shifting is not as smooth as my chorus or 98 veloce setup, but it is very reliable.

Similar Products Used:

similar? well my other to road bikes are a Bridgestone RB-1 and a Rivendell

[May 17, 2000]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Light,made in Italy,killer paint,all carbon fork

Weakness:

stiff

It's hard to beat for the price.Looks and rides like it costs alot more.

Similar Products Used:

Cannondale,Medici,etc.

[May 23, 2000]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Overall feel and comfort

Weakness:

None

I love this bike. Much more comfortable than the Trek and the color/look gets noticed. Average weight and touchy steering. Great price

Similar Products Used:

Trek 5200

[Jun 12, 2000]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Stiff climbing platform. Campy Daytona group is well designed and shifts like the higher priced Record. Good use of name brand componets like Cinelli and 3T. Wheels are light and responsive, even for a 32 spoke count. The welds on the frame are a work of art, smooth and clean. The paint is just pain eye candy.

Weakness:

The carbon steer tube is 1 inch, while the 3T stem is 1 1/8 inch. So a spacer is used instead resulting in a loose headset after the first few rides. The problem has seemed to cure itself, but I'm still watching. The cure all would be to get a 1 inch stem to match the tube.

An absolute perfect creation. This is what a bike should be, hand crafted, attention to details, and comparable to $2500 bikes.

Similar Products Used:

None

[Dec 31, 2000]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

This bike has race all over it. it's light , stiff, and it
corners handily. The Campy daytona components are the absolute best performer for the money; shifts are always crisp and smooth

Weakness:

Did I mention it was stiff. If touring is in the future for you, you might want to forgo the Argenta

no bike that i can think of gives you more bang for the buck. Straddle one yourself and see if this bike doesn't make you want to drop 'em, and at the finish line think of all the pizza and beer you can buy with the money you saved.

Similar Products Used:

All manner of cannondales and treks, two companies whose bikes are tied closely to road racing. if marin continues making bikes like this, with this componant package, the sleeping "giants" may have to sit up and take notice

[Jan 20, 2001]
Anonymous

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Beautiful welds, super stiff frame, sports car like handling
Loud but beautiful paint job!! Campy Daytona groupe is too
smooth to believe.

Weakness:

None

If the 2001 model of this bike is unchanged, and I think that is the case, except for the paint job, buy it!! You will not be disappointed. For the price, I don't think you can buy a better road bike. I smile everytime I throw my leg over the top tube.

Similar Products Used:

Last bike was too old to mention

[May 16, 2001]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Overall feel and look. Classic geometry and flawless seams. Beautifully shaped Columbus tubing. Campy Daytona gruppo. Full carbon fork/steerer. Ambrosio Excellence rims.

Weakness:

FSA Orbit headset and TTT Mutant stem. Stiffness may come at a c-c-cost on longer rides.

Bellisima! Looks like she's moving even standing still! This is my first Italian ride and I'm loving every mile of it... The Daytona drivetrain isn't as quiet as my old Ultegra outfits, but it shifts just as well if not better - hopefully more wear will lead to quieter operation... Blown away by the Ambrosio Excellence rims - they certainly don't feel like 32's and they handle much lighter than their 505 grams would suggest.
I can't say enough about the attention to detail and finish on this bike - the welds are breathtaking, and the paint/decal work is magnificent!
Marin only has 6 more 59cm frames in stock... For the bucks you'd better hurry... I'm using my savings on Italian lessons - a bike like this deserves a few arias... Ciao!

Similar Products Used:

Everything from Panasonic and Fuji to Specialized and GT.

[May 25, 2001]
Anonymous
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Campy Daytona components, great ride quality for those long rides, but nice and stiff for the sprints. This is a bike I can push to the limits and it doesn't push back - I can't say enough about the value of it - Columbus 7005 frame and Campy!!!

Weakness:

If you don't like an aluminum bike then you won't like this one....personally, I can't see riding anything else.

Great bike for the $$. I looked for a long time to find the right bike in the right price range and this one definitely fit the bill. This is a great bike to train and race on - and the components beat the you know what out of the Shimano equivalents.

Similar Products Used:

Trek 5200, Klein Quantum Pro, Cannondale R1000, Airborne Zeppelin, you name it, I tried it...

[Jul 05, 2001]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Fast, Stiff, Beautiful

Weakness:

None yet, had to get use to Campagnolo groupo, Had to change the stem/handlebars/seat because of poor fit

Looks, Looks, Looks. I love the way it looks and it's performance. I am a heavier rider 6 ft 205 lbs and love how stiff yet comfortable it is. On a 75 mile ride I do not feel like my body is beat.

Similar Products Used:

Performance R-100
Giant CFR
Bianchi

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.