Marin 2000 Treviso Older Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

road race & triathlon, Campagnolo Chorus components, Marin fork

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-7 of 7  
[Jun 06, 2015]
Dan
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Beautiful, responsive, tight, agile

Weakness:

None, in my current setup

Ridden mine for who knows how many miles and every single one has been a joy. Picked up the frame on Ebay and kitted it with a mixed Sram group and some Ambrosio Excellence wheels. Centuries, sprints (no climbing cuz I live in the midwest) it all feels the same. I love it, will never sell it, will give it to my children.

Like another reviewer it feels silly to review a bike that's this hard to find, but I had to. If you find one, buy it.

[Feb 02, 2009]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

The steel tubing on this bike is amazing. Shaped, aero, and the details like; chrome stays, mini lugs, s shaped stays, embossed logo. The frame light weight, 10 year old paint looks new, Italian geometry, just beautiful. The ride is amazing, I have ridden it for every situation over the past 8 years.

Weakness:

I can't find anything nearly this nice sold today, and I have been looking for a long time. I would like to buy myself a new bike, but what is the point, everything I ride is a step down.

It seems silly to be reviewing a bike that is no longer sold, but I just don't know how else to honor this bike. I have ridden this bike for over 10,000 miles over the last 8 years. It is beautiful to look at, oozing in Italian details, made in Italy of a shaped oversized aero Columbus Nemo tube set that I have never seen before, nor will I likely again. I say that, because I don't think you can buy anything near this today.

Similar Products Used:

I have ridden a lot of stuff made from Carbon and can't wait to get back on this bike.

[Nov 06, 2003]
amishbiker
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Very nice, smooth ride, but still a decent climber.

Weakness:

I had some shimano 600 wheels that kept me from enjoying the bike 100%

I found this bike and heard lots of good things about it. I had no trouble with it except that it was a wee bit small, not the bikes fault at all. It seemed sturdy but not too stiff and ride was quite nice. I've since been hit by a car and the bike was destroyed and now I ride an Olmo Millenium with custom built chris king wheels... A stiffer, faster ride, not quite as comfy.

Similar Products Used:

Olmo Millenium

[Feb 24, 2002]
ilove2bike
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Mighty light compared to a mountain bike. 10spd works flawlessly. Carbon fork really smoths out the ride. Italian craftsmanship. Sweet shaped tubes.

Weakness:

Tires look bad after first few rides. And after a month I hit a chunk of Concrete obviously my own fault and tore an 1" long hole in the front. Stuffed it with grass and rode home. The tire was beyond a tube replacement. Headset is no good replaced with a king. And the stem was a bit long for me. But the only real fault is the FSA headset. Also some slight complaints on the portly stem and seatpost

This bike is the sweetest machine I''''ve been on. Honestly much more than I really need. I really only ride road to train for my true passion Mountain biking. I''''ve got three of those. And this is my only road bike besides my surly steamroller commuter. Didn''''t pay 2299 but Employee Purchase price

Similar Products Used:

Schwinn Peleton

[Apr 02, 2000]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Italian craftsmanship and steel. Quality paint, chrome, wheels. Chorus 10spd.

Weakness:

Seatstays had two large chips in the paint when bike arrived. Different length crank on a 59cm frame than Marin specified before odering.

The bike strikes a great balance between comfort and speed. Smooth over irregular country roads yet stiff under power. Very good straight line stability, and quick predictable turning. Chorus 10 has been excellent so far: crisp fast shifts, solid, aesthetically pleasing. I did a great deal of research before I bought this bike and I haven't been disappointed. The bike fits me very well for what I want to do with it. Beautiful bike that delivers on it's looks.

Similar Products Used:

Older Trek aluminum road bike.

[Aug 04, 2000]
Anonymous
Weekend Warrior

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Alex

Weakness:

Alex

UPGRADE DISC BRAKES Hope..BIKE WORTH £1700
Immaculate condition,hardly evrer used.
Road used only (not often) brand new.
Exellent bike to ride,Data tagged Extra accessories.Accept £950

Similar Products Used:

Marin East Peak

[Mar 28, 2001]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Great ride, very responsive, comfortable geometry, Chorus 10spd rocks, classic and distinctive but not obnoxious appearance

Weakness:

average weight, no carbon fork(the current model has it)

It's a sweet ride for a sweet price. There are lighter bikes, but you'll be a lot less comfortable and you'll pay for it too. This is a classic bike that makes you feel like riding all day.

Similar Products Used:

Giant Cadex 980C

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.