Quintana Roo Kilo Older Triathlon Bike

DESCRIPTION

QR's tri geometry including 78" seat tube angle, TIG welded with QR's custom-shaped, size-specific, #7005 aluminum tubeset, shaped tubeset designed for superior ride characteristics QR’s new Narrow Aero light and carbon fork 9-speed blend of Shimano 105 and Tiagra plus Dura Ace 9-speed bar end shifters Size-specific handlebars and lighter, aero-shaped stem with 7" rise Selle San Marco saddle with micro-adjustable seat post 650c wheels front/rear Mavic super-light CXP21 rims with 15-gauge spokes and aluminum nipples Hutchinson Krono Gold 23mm 125psi clinchers Replaceable derailleur hanger Available in odd sizes from 49cm through 61cm Clipless pedals sold separately Price listed is for complete bike.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 15  
[Jun 23, 2005]
Anonymous
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Good value for money; lighter and better-designed for triathlon than most other bikes at the price. Syntace aerobars are quite nice.

Weakness:

Wheels aren't great - tolerable, but would do better to replace them. Dia-Compe brake levers could be sturdier.

Very nice bike for the money; great for first-time users of triathlon/TT bikes as opposed to road bikes. The Tiagra componentry perhaps not the best for racing, but overall not an obstacle. Suggest to replace the brake levers if possible, and to get a second wheelset (better for racing) as soon as possible.

Similar Products Used:

Softride, Trek.

[Apr 14, 2002]
ZeGopha
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Light, fast, a real eye catcher.

Weakness:

Wheels arn''t the fastest, and the seat feels like some rocks I''ve sat on. (Get the Quintana Roo seat pad!)

Great bike for the money I''ve ridden other road bikes, but nothin compares to a Tri-bike. You can get them cheaper over the internet, but supporting your local bike shop is a must. I love what they did with the top tube and down tube.

Similar Products Used:

Panasonic, Cannondale, Giant.

[Apr 02, 2002]
John
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Frame is very good and comfortable. Using 105 is a good choise, since it keeps the price low, and compare in quality to Ultegra (differences being negligeable weight and longevity).

Weakness:

No-name components. The brake calipers flex much. Cheap wheelset.

OK bike for the money, but needs some upgrades: - The wheels are not very good. Upgraded to Velomax. Any good wheelset will make a significant difference. - The no-name brake calipers flex way too much IMHO. Upgraded with 105 calipers, which are much stiffer. - Replaced hard oringinal saddle with Serfa. That''s personal preference though. - Since I needed a longer seatpost, I chose a Thompson Elite. Although being aluminum, the bike remains comfortbale. - Since I had to change the stem, replaced the no-name stem with Ritchey Logic.

Similar Products Used:

Cervelo (costs $$$ and didn''t feel any better).

[Jun 27, 2001]
Anonymous

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Value, tri-specific geometry

Weakness:

wheels

I used to ride a 51cm Kestrel 200sci that I tried to use as a tri bike. I bought this 49cm Kilo for $950, and I am riding LOWER and more AERO than ever before, and yet my neck and shoulders do not hurt post-ride. The components are not the best, but don't you always upgrade anyway? The frame is great, so is the fork. I'll upgrade to ultegra or dura ace as my budget allows, but this is a great comfortable bike. I do not intend to use this for triathlons only, as I'm a runner. This geometry will not cause me to lose my running muscles as quickly as a road bike.

Similar Products Used:

Kestrel 200sci with forward seat post

[Apr 03, 2000]
Anonymous
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Great frame, and handle/areo bar setup.

Weakness:

Low end components.

This is my first tri-specific bike, and I'm very pleased with it. I considered the Fuji Aloha which looks like a great deal also, but when QR came out with their 2000 model, I jumped on it. I'm a back of the pack rider, so I didn't feel the higher priced models were worth the extra cash. The 2000 Kilo comes with the new Tiagra components, so we'll see how well they hold up over time. I've read that 650c wheels are better for short riders, and at 5'7" I feel more comfortable on the 650c, than my road bike with 700c. I've been trying to convert my old road bike to a tri bike for the last 10 years, and finally gave up. I'm glad I did, because the new Kilo fits like a glove.

Similar Products Used:

None

[Apr 18, 2000]
Anonymous
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

solid frame
strong wheels
accurate 105 derailers

Weakness:

built up with terrible components even for its low price.
the stronglight cranks are the worst cranks ive ever used

Stay away from QR in general. They have given me nothing but problems. The ride is uninspiring and feels dead.
Also the the crappy no name parts foul up alot

Similar Products Used:

None

[Jul 07, 2000]
Anonymous
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Frame, Geometry, Cost

Weakness:

Components (SOME), and training wheels

I am a former Mountain Bike rider/racer turned triathlete. I made the switch to multi-sport a few months back. This is the first Tri-bike I have bought. I tried out the Trek Hilo and the Guru Tri-bike set-up before settling on the QR Kilo.

Here are my first impressions. Overall, I like this bike. I don't have anything else to really compare to, so I may be a shade biased. HOWEVER, I have knocked off some serious miles on this baby. It is sketch on the fast DH's, and in turns (TIGHT TURNS) she is a shade sketch, but I have been able to train hard and fast on this frame. In my first Tri event (an Olympic Distance Tri) I had the 5th fastest bike split OVERALL on this bike. That in itself prooves that it ain't always the best components baby, it is the rider!

I am very pleased thus far, with the notable exception of the Mavic CP241 Rims with Tiagra Hubs (training wheels). Since I am a piss poor grad student, the upgrade to aero wheels is a few months down the line. BUT, these wheels did me right in my first race and in the training, so they don't SUCK, there are just faster and lighter wheels out there.

This is a great first bike for getting into Tri's. And, I am a taller rider (6'1"), and the tri set-up seems perfect for me. Go for it, and I'll see you out on the race course!

Similar Products Used:

Zip, zero, zed, zilch

[Jul 31, 2000]
Anonymous
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Lightweight, low price, great colors (yellow/black/silver)

Weakness:

none considering this price.

I have very limited knowledge of road bikes and tri bikes since I'm just starting up on the triathlon scene. I bought this bike mail order after reading several great reviews on different sites about how it is pretty much the best entry level tri-bike out there.

I'm a former rower and I just completed my first sprint triathlon after buying this bike a few weeks ago. I won the Clydesdale division (I'm 6'3 210), while posting the 2nd fastest clydesdale bike time. As a very inexperienced rider with lots of room for improvement, I think that says a lot about the performance level of the bike.

I'm very happy with this bike and would recommend it to anybody who seeks maximum performance and speed at an entry level price. For $1300, I don't think there is a better tri-bike buy out there.

Similar Products Used:

Various road and hybrid bikes over the years, nothing recent.

[Sep 01, 2000]
Anonymous
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

durable,lightweight,reasonable price

Weakness:

None

I recommend this Tribike because it has a reasonable price and very durable. When I join national triathlon races, my bike split is the fastest(usually in the top three) for Olympic and Sprint distances. When I joined the Half Ironman last year, I had a good bike ride passing more than five competitors. I landed third in the age group.Its like hitting two birds with one stone. You save money and podium finish. This is my first tribike and I wouldn't switch to another for Im comfortable with it.

Similar Products Used:

None

[Jan 12, 2001]
Anonymous
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Good handling, nice style, carries a big name in Triathlon

Weakness:

Terrible components, even worse product support.

I expected a bit more out of this bike considering the company who makes it. Mine was a 1999. From the outset, I experienced a problem with my front hub (a stock QR hub)which was making a constant ticking noise. It didn't affect the performance of the bike but the sound was audible and nervewracking. The store where I bought it was unable to get the wheel fixed through QR and said that QR was having SERIOUS customer service issues. I have heard that QR has gone through several ownership changes in the last year or so, and I think I was a victim of bad timing. I have friends who have higher end QR's and they stand by them. I'd stay away from the entry level stuff unless it has recognizable/good quality components. If you do buy a lower end QR, make sure the store sells a lot of them and can provide good customer support.

Similar Products Used:

None

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.