Quintana Roo Tequilo Older Triathlon Bike

DESCRIPTION

Ultegra components throughout (Dura Ace 9-speed shifters). >QR's tri geometry including 78" seat tube angle >TIG welded with QR's custom-shaped, size-specific, #7005 aluminum tubeset >Shaped tubeset design >9-speed Shimano Ultegra group with Dura Ace shifters >QR’s new Narrow Aero light and carbon fork >Size-specific handlebars and aero-shaped stem with 7" rise >Selle San Marco saddle with micro-adjustable seat post >650c wheels front/rear >Mavic CXP21 black rims with 15-gauge spokes and aluminum nipples >Hutchinson Krono Gold 23mm 125psi clinchers >Replaceable derailleur hanger >Available in odd sizes from 49cm through 61cm Clipless pedals sold separately Price listed is retail for complete bike.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 11  
[Nov 04, 2010]
neilc
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Very comfy in aero position, can be a competitive bike, smooth and fast on flats, the gears are excellent, I still shake my head and smile at the price I paid for it.

Weakness:

The saddle but I got used to it. I've had no problems (aside from your normal stuff).

I purchased this bike just before doing a 3 month stint around Europe. First stop was the Pyrenees and later went through the French Alps. This bike was fine for climbing, the gears are great as I could change them easily under strain (of course I was the only guy on a tt bike in these hills). I race long course tris and this is a very comfy bike when down in the aero position. I have been thinking about serious upgrades for the bike but when your passing blokes, into head winds, who have bikes 3x the value whats the point. Whatever you put into riding this bike will back you up. If your unsure whether to buy this bike, buy it. A great purchase. Above price is in GBP's. Mine was an 09 model.

Similar Products Used:

Previously on a mid range Merida road bike.

[Jul 20, 2010]
Eric Dykgraaf
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Great aero position with proper fit. Good components, great price for the bike. Carbon fork helps reduce vibrations, good stiff bike. Transfers power well.

Weakness:

Comes in a compact crank, no carbon restays. When sprinting, head tube seems a little loose. Feels a little squishy.

I bought this bike ust over a year ago from Fraser's Bicycle north of Detroit for $1,400 sticker price. They were the only dealer in the area (Grand Rapids, MI). I have done 4 triathlons on this bike and I'm loving everyone that I've done with this bike. I have upgraded some of the components right off the bat. I went to a longer crank and more teeth, Specialized Tri Tip seat, HED Jet 50/60 wheels, and I just ordered new FSA base bar and Aero bars; S-bend and flat base bar. All together I will have about $3500 into it.

Also looking into the newer SRAM R2C bar end shifters......

Similar Products Used:

NONE

[Jun 05, 2008]
dchilit
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Fast, light, great components for the price (even new).

Weakness:

Seat sucks, rims were stiff...went to a carbon wheel and it really helped in terms of comfort...carbon absorbs the bumps. Cranks were FSA and were pretty bad

Great bike for the money. It is very stiff and the standard seat is AWFUL. Swapped the seat to a Specialized which makes all the difference in the world. This bike is more comfortable on long rides (1/2 IM and IM distance). The aero position, once you get used to it (and have a pro fit), is quite comfy. Your neck will hurt on a 100 mile ride, but what do you expect?

[Nov 12, 2003]
Freedie
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Great bike with full Ultgra. Awsome bioke for the $$. Balanced, good attention to detail with other parts, aero bars etc.

Weakness:

I have a 650c and in lower gears the chain rubs on the derailer. Was told cant be helped. Seems a little extra stiff. Ouch.. the saddle should be replaced. I have kept mine as I am now used to it.

Bought this bike as first tri bike. I believe it works well for me. The color combo is OK. The bike rides well but is a little stiff.

Similar Products Used:

None

[Jul 14, 2002]
TexanTexan
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Mid-level tri bike frame and components for an entry-level price.

Weakness:

Cheap-o seat and tires, and I'm suspect of the wheels.

I did about 5 sprint triathlons on a Cannondale stiff-tail mountain bike. I looked around at what everyone was racing on, and noticed alot of QR Kilo and Tequilos. I looked into both, and for a few hundred bucks more, I could upgrade from the Kilo to the Tequilo. It was worth the extra cash. It is a very light bike, but feels sturdy, with a smooth, stealthy ride. Great color combination, too. The stock seat and tires sucked. I figure that's how they put out a mid-level tri bike for an entry-level price - QR chinced on the seat and tires. I upgraded the seat immediatetely to a Selle Italia, and the tires to Michelins. When I first rode around the block, I thought, "Wow, a human-powered road rocket". I'm really glad I bought it.

Similar Products Used:

Is a Cannondale mountain bike similar?

[Feb 09, 2001]
Anonymous
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

good component group and great frame set up love the geometry

Weakness:

bad saddle

this is a great bike for the price pound for pound and dollar for dollar this is a hard one to beat. syntace bars are size specific and the dealer was greathelp in fitment of the bike

Similar Products Used:

first tri-specific bike

[Apr 09, 2000]
Anonymous
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Great for flats and windy situations.

Weakness:

I seem to get lots of flats on my rear. Don't know if it's the road or the wheels. It's a pain on the hills.

I got a great deal at the end of the season. Otherwise, I wouldn't have necessarily splurged on Dura Ace since the bike I rode before was only on 105. If you're looking for tri bikes, this company was one of the first to make them. The shop I got it from was great too. Kalifornia Kool Stuff in SF.

Similar Products Used:

Trek 2120 road bike with aero bars

[Jan 04, 2001]
Anonymous
Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Carbon fiber fork helps with the stiff aluminum frame on longer rides.faster and lighter than anything I've rode in the past.

Weakness:

The wheels that are provided by Quintana Roo are pathetic, I was warned that they are poorly made and on my first ride with them I blew both my front and rear tire within minutes. Bottom line is they need to be replaced. Might be somewhat of a stiff ride to some yet I've rode a century on it with very little back pain. I also replaced the seat.

All around great Tri bike, light ( aluminum frame ), fast and responds well ( carbon fiber fork ). 650 wheels, can not say enough about this bike, one of the best purchases I've ever made.

[Jan 06, 2001]
Anonymous
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

havent been able to give it a long haul yet bet from the short 50 mile rides it is very comfortable and smooth. Havent got a flat in the 500+ miles i have put on it.

Weakness:

doesnt perform quite as well on a trainer, doesnt shift the same for some odd reason(but maybe that is a better insentive to get out on the road).

almost impossible to find a new tri-bike with a name like QR for as cheap i got it, bike is perfect for beginners like myself just cant wait to race with it!

Similar Products Used:

None

[Jul 26, 2001]
Anonymous
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Good all around first tri bike.

Weakness:

The saddle is hard as a rock. Long rides tear you up.

Pro's - Price to what you get was great.
Con's - A lot of paint chipping and Mavic forgot to put wheel liners resulting in sevearl flats. Hard Saddle.

Similar Products Used:

None

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.