LeMond Bicycles Victoire 2002 Road Bike

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 11  
[Apr 29, 2003]
Alan_G
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Smooth Ride Stiff for sprinting and cornering Great price (unless you pay full retail) Great classic geometry Ultegra component group

Weakness:

Price if you pay full retail although even at full retail with the ultegra groupo and wheel set is not a bad deal compared to others, ie Litespeed and Airborne

I have been riding mountain bikes now for several years. The last time I had riden a road bike was back in the late 80's when I had a Centurian Cavalleto. I decided to buy a road bike to help train me for me mountain biking, since everyone was blowing me away. I have not opened up a new can of worms. This bike is like riding on butter. I tried several frames and materials, ie Steel, Ti, Aluminum, and Carbon. I found the steel had the best ride but the Ti had the best ride and offered great stiffness. I have only had the bike for a few weeks but cannot say enough good things about it. Full Ultegra groupo, Vector Comp wheels, Selle San Marco Era saddle, its got it all. I tride a Lemond steel with full dura-ace, but opted for the Ti frame and Ultegra because of price and ride. It corners on rails, tracks smooth, accelerates quickly, and just has an very smooth ride and feel. The Lemond geometry fit my much better than the Trek carbon bikes. I just could not pass it up for the price

Similar Products Used:

Test ride on Lemond Steel Test ride on Trek Carbon Test ride on Trek Aluminum Old Centurian Cavalleto (not at all similar)

[Apr 08, 2003]
fliparagon
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Welds Ride - forgiving and stiff Quality

Weakness:

Price if you pay retail! THANKS A BUNCH SHANE FOR THE GREAT DEAL!!!

Can't say enough good things about this bike! Replaced my Lemond Zurich with the Victoire and am really pleased. Has all the forgiving features of steel yet the enough stiffness in the bottom bracket to make out-of-seat pedaling a breeze. Not sure if the Lemond geometry is for everyone but since I had the Zurich for four seasons, I was used to it. I've heard complaints about the original wheels being too flexy but the original owner (Shane - his review posted below) replaced the wheels with Mavic Ksyrium's and I've got no complaints. The added touches such as a real head tube badge (not a decal) and the PAINTED panels (again, not decals) make this bike an eyecatcher. I still prefer the 2001 and 2002 paint or lack-thereof paint scheme to this years (ouch - gaudy) paint jobs. Why cover beautiful titanium in garish colors???

Similar Products Used:

Lemond Zurich Trek 5200 Cannondale CAAD 6

[Dec 22, 2002]
road
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

In general, very realiavable and compliant. Ti built to last, seamless welding. just need a good pair of legs to put this baby to ride......and cry.

Weakness:

stock wheels very responsive, a tittle bit flexy when climbing,

maybe the price, a little bit higher but you really can ejoy every $$$$ you spent on it.

Similar Products Used:

specialized comp ultegra grp.

[Dec 13, 2002]
Skippy Dave
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Attention to detail: smooth welds, riveted aluminum head badge, and a shot-peened finish. Laid back geometry: Easy on the bod, but excellent cornering ability.

Weakness:

None

I've riding the same old lugged steel Lemond around for the past 8 years. It took a special bike to make me even think about getting a new one. As soon as I swung my leg over the saddle I knew this was a great bike. This bike fits like a glove!!! The acceleration is jackrabbit fast. It corners like it is on rails!!! The craftsmanship is superb. Trek may be a large company, but this bike has microbrew quality. I have not changed a thing. I've read complaints about the wheels being too flexy. The individuals complaining must weigh more than me.

Similar Products Used:

Old School Lemond (Actually a Bottecchia painted by Lemond before it was bought by Trek) Cannondale R900 old school with a sub-1 aluminum fork.

[Aug 01, 2002]
shane nalley
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

light weight,smooth ride,excellent handing

Weakness:

only wheels- too much flex on climbs or sprints

I started road riding this year after getting beaten at mountain bike races by riders that also road ride.I tested many models and found the Lemond geometry and ride quality the best for me.

Similar Products Used:

Trek 5200 demonstated 5 days Schwinn paramount 2 days Klein quantum pro demo 2 days

[Jul 16, 2002]
Lemondo
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Very smooth ride. Climbs really well. Very fast and stable on downhills. Corners telepathically, responsively. Frame will never rust.

Weakness:

Saddle will be the first and probably only change. Price, if I hadn't gotten a leftover.

I bought a 2001 leftover. Dark red trim and Rolf Comp rims. I test rode a lot of bikes. This was not the lightest nor did it accelerate the fastest. However, point it and it sticks through a turn. It is the best all round bike that I've ridden.

Similar Products Used:

Owned an old Bertoni SL (steel), Cannondale R1000. Test rode the Trek 5200, Cervelo Prodigy, Schwinn Fastback Comp and Klein Quantum.

[Jul 03, 2002]
Robert
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Titanium frame absorbs road irregularities while remaining lively.

Weakness:

None

Unbelievablly confortable after riding aluminum tri-geometry bikes for years. The roads around Oakville are a mix of rough pavement and tar and gravel. The bike glides over the surface irregularities without punishing the rider. Rode the bike in Ironman Florida and was able to complete the ride portion (112 miles) in 6 hours with no back problems. The relaxed Lemond geometry is perfect for an older rider (I'm 51) with back problems.

Similar Products Used:

I tried a Trek 5200 and a litespeed Tuscany. The Trek was as light as the Lemond but did not have the same feel. The geometry on the Tuscany caused back problems.

[Mar 13, 2002]
John
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

comfort, handling

Weakness:

front emblem and seat post collar had minor flaking of finish.

This is a 2001 model that I''ve logged roughly 4k miles to date. Excellent ride, stable at high speeds, light and very good finish.

Similar Products Used:

1999 Zurich

[Jan 22, 2002]
Phil_auch
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Light Weight, Comfortable ride - less road shock, feeling of speed.

Weakness:

Minor nuisance is the rear brake cable which runs along the top bar. You catch your pants in it when dismounting occaisionally. It should run under the top bar not on the side.

I traded up from a Cannondale R500. I love the handling, the feeling of wanting to go fast, the comfort of ride compared to Aluminum, and the great Shimano Ultegra shifters. Mechanics and leads of cables are well thought out.

Similar Products Used:

Cannondale R500 but am selling it.

[Jan 01, 2002]
Wayne Richard
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Light weight and handling is great.

Weakness:

none at this point

I bought a 2001 (red paint on downtube instead of blue). Installed a S.I. flite saddle w/ Easton carbon seat post, changed wheels to D.A. hubs with Mavic Open pros. Ride is comfortable, similar to my Buenos Aries (same geometry), but much lighter and faster. It handles like a U.F.O. must be the new intergrated head set. I am very happy with my purchase

Similar Products Used:

Still own a 1999 Lemond Buenos Aries

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.