Look KX 2002 Road Bike

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-9 of 9  
[Jan 20, 2021]
ColumbusMax


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

This is an excellent bike in so many dimensions. Fast as hell, agile, balanced, forgiving on long rides, goes where you point it, the whole works. I understand it is not the lightest on nominal terms, but once you start pedaling, weight disappears. One other point (at least for me) loving this bike is the excellent lug work (a predecessor to BMC impec and Colnago carbon frames). It is a bike that unless you crash it, should last for a lifetime. Last, it has one the most aerodynamic forks of its time. All in all a great value, and a rare frame as well which is sought for nowadays (as many of the Looks of it era, also the steel and titanium ones).

Weakness:

None at all, bar the wear out of the graphics on the frame.

Model Year:
2002
[Jan 18, 2005]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Stiff, Climbs Great, Accelaration at it´s best, Confortable on the Long Rides, Looks Cool and Different.

Weakness:

Nothing really, maybe a bit heavy (Frame), but everthing else is worh it.

This bike is really what I expected in a great frame, it´s worth the money, once your riding it, you can tell the difference with other bikes. On the climbs, when the peloton is doing a spint, no worry, you´ll get there inmediately, very high responsivness when you need it. Great for attacks an the peloton, or when you need to catch that guy who´s taking off. Corner´s at great speed. Many people told me that carbon frames are not Comfty on the Long Rides, but not on this Baby, it´s comfty, without leaving anthing of efficiency on the side. Very happy with this frame.

Similar Products Used:

Fuji Team SL (Great Bike too, but not on the same level)

[Oct 01, 2004]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

stiff, smooth like a mercedes and super fast like a corvette.

Weakness:

paint job with bad clear coat and decals.

this bike is like a rocket smooth, but very fast than any carbon fiber bike; I ride a 55cm frame and i have try a lot diferent carbon bikes and this one was the best one. the problem is the paint job;it's look super nice like any european bike but after 6 0r 8 month riding every day the clear coat and the decals start to pealing like wall paper; and they supose to warranty the paint for a year but it's not true; I think for the look prices the warranty and the customer services from the distributor in USA "VELTEC SPORT" is very bad they never give warranty for nothing. It's so bad for a great brand and greats bikes. But I think it's not correct spend a lot of money for a frame with no warranty!!! no way. so now I decide to ride in a american with taiwan tecnology bike but with a lifetime warranty. so be carefully to get a look bike; the customer service from "VELTEC SPORT" is very bad.

Similar Products Used:

time frames, cannondale six/13.

[Mar 11, 2003]
tobimax
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

smooth, stiff, fairly light, and super zippy

Weakness:

Look seatpost and the wimpy "Replaceable Derailleur Hanger"

I have ridden the KX for over 6 months with a break in the winter where I switched back to my Fondriest steel frame with fenders. I picked up the Look KX by chance when a bike shop friend passed on the frame.(?) I did not ask any questions as I bought it for trade price with the Look seatpost.( He even let me pay in stages as I was not really in the market for a frame ;-) and the frame did not sell on ebay) I am a big rider at 185cm and I probably have 95kgs. The frame is the 61cm size and is probably the stiffest CF frame I have ridden, no flex at the BB. It is a very smooth ride but "zippy"

Similar Products Used:

TVT CF Frame,Fondriest Steel Frame w/time fork

[Aug 22, 2002]
bgavic
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

smooth, stiff, fairly light, and super zippy. it makes you want to get out of the saddle and attack every hill. oh, and did i mention that it looks super cool??

Weakness:

makes the rest of your bikes collect dust

i love this bike. its smooth, stiff, zippy. its cool because even though its smooth, you still have a great feel for the road. the dampening properties of this type of carbon is great for cornering in situations like criteriums, your rear wheel stays on the pavement, no chatter. my back is in heaven even after a century.

Similar Products Used:

time carbon, look kg's (both great carbon bikes as well), ibis steel, torelli nemo, orbea, the list goes on

[Jul 31, 2002]
mwh jr
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Stiff yet comfortable. Corners v. well.

Weakness:

Only one water bottle cage.

This frame has gotten be back to riding. My previous bike (Trek 2300 Carbon-AL hybrid ) was not nearly as 'smooth'. I have been going into bike shops for years looking at new bikes and never really found anything that appealed. Two weeks ago, my local dealer suggested that I try out a built up KX that he had on hand. Not only was the bike smooth, incredibly, it was also stiff and performed as well as I could have hoped. My basic requirments are for the bike to be comfortable on long training rides while performing as close to a 'pro-racer' as possible. This bike fits the bill.

[May 14, 2002]
PinchFlat
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

stiff, fast, and great acceleration, smooth, comfortable

Weakness:

Cost if purchasd in U.S.A., repairability

I agree with the previous review and only have a few additional comments. The KX is very stiff with incredible acceleration. The combination of the ksyrium wheels and the HSC-4 fork (with the added external ridge for increased lateral stability) vastly improved my cornering speeds. The bike was supposed to come with the LDS-4 fork but came with the upgraded HSC-4 instead. This is a great bike for larger riders. I am 6''2" and up to 190lbs and there is zero flex with this frame. At the same time, it is comfortable over long distances.

Similar Products Used:

Battaglin SL

[Mar 28, 2002]
yeahmonkeyyeah
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

SMOOTH! Very sexy red paint and glossy carbon tubes. Excellent quality for the factory, no problems in buildup. Stiff in the BB. French heritage. Look carbon spacers thrown in for free!

Weakness:

Odd seatpost binder bolt. The post is a 27.2 but is a tight fit! Definitly no slipping in this frame. That full carbon fork(NO METAL AT ALL) scares me, but it VERY LIGHT. God, I''''m glad I paid EP instead of retail...this is where it gets expensive!

Brilliant bike! After selling my AL Yeti Road Project, I was ready for a more comfortable, racier frame. I looked at numerous italian brands such as Colnago and Olmo, but decided to go French on the advice of a friend who had seen a KX at Interbike. Look has had many years of carbon research and testing under their belts so I went for the KX, which is labeld as "bicycle for roulers(cyclists)." The build went very smoothly, with no problems to speak of. All threads had been reamed and faced at the factory, with no paint on any surfaces. The integrated headset made me nervous at first, but went in without a hitch. It feels very smooth and is a CC model, I know there will be replacement part for it down the road. My first ride on the bike(actually 2 rides) took me on both flats and serious climbs. The carbon makes the ride noticably softer than AL, but, with the AL lugs, still remains stiff in the BB area. The bike sprints remarkably well and climbs very smooth(word for this bike). I think this frame is just what I have been looking for...oh don''''t be fooled by the slooping top tube classifation given by LOOK. The tube sloops very slight! I used a 270mm post for the 55cm model, but could probably get away with a 250mm(it would be a the min. isertion line though). Definitly not along the lines of a OCR or Specialized model.

Similar Products Used:

Yeti Road Project(great overall bike, buy one), Klein Quantum Race(stiff, racey), Univega Carbon Tubed(first road bike)

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.