Trek 2000 2002 Road Bike

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 11  
[May 26, 2021]
daftdaft1996pondskater


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

I find this bike very comfortable and forgiving, the carbon fork takes some of the jolts. I did have to change the seat and pedals, but I would expect this anyway. Pest Control Vallejo

Weakness:

None so far.

Purchased:
New  
[Feb 18, 2012]
Maine Guy

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Value

Weakness:

Tiagra components.

Nickel 2, I'm sorry about your friends tragedy. However i won't blame it on the bike. Here is what I learned. I crashed my steel frame carbon fork Bianci head on into a culver. The frame buckled in two place but by God's grace I walked away and the bike seemed "fine". Then my local bike shop said don't ever ride that bike again as the carbon fork could totally colapse without warning with tragic results. I thought, "Oh great, they want me to buy a new bike". Then by buddy, who has a whole bike shop in his basement, told me the exact same thing not knowing what the bike shop told me that already. I bought a new frame. When ever a carbon fork has been wrecked it MUST be replaced even if it looks fine. I hope this helps/saves someone. Ride safe out there!

[Oct 07, 2010]
Nickel2
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Weakness:

Front struts may shear without warning resulting in serious injury and perhaps death.

My friend and coworker was thrown head first into a paved road surface when the front wheel supports on his Trek carbon fiber bike sheared about 3 inches below the handlebar yoke. He is an experienced rider and was riding to work when the bike failed. He has now been unresponsive in a coma for more than a month. His wife and two daughters miss him. DO NOT BUY THIS BIKE! You or someone you love may experience a similar sudden injury.

[Jun 06, 2007]
Rob
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Strong frame design. Bike feels very solid even over less than optimal terrain.

Weakness:

Takes some forcing to execute tight turns. Rear wheel fish tails and slides a little too easily on wet surfaces.

Being over 6 feet tall in japan left me with only a few choices. After switching out the seat post (and later the seat itself) and adding a higher and longer stem the bike fits like a glove. Tight turns are a little tricky, but that's partly due to my higher center of gravity. The original seat was a bit uncomfortable due to shape. Shifting is smooth and quiet but on occasion has a tendency to not be able to decide what gear it wants to be in (rear). I've put about 2k miles in 2 years on it, had two minor accidents, but the bike shrugged it off (scratched up the left shifter something fierce though).

[Dec 23, 2004]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Solid frame and comfortable geometry, components have good durability, carbon forks limit vibrations well

Weakness:

spokes on the back wheel have started breaking, which I hear is common after a year or so of moderate to high use. It will require a rebuild or new wheels. The seat was not very comfortable, but it is a less expensive bike model

This is a very good bike for the price. I have put about 3000 miles on mine in 2 years. It is not as light or smooth as other frames that I've test rode, and the components are not high end. But for the price, this is a solid ride that has kept me up with much nicer bikes in training and racing.

Similar Products Used:

none long term, test rode trek madone sl and 5.2 for a day each

[Jul 23, 2003]
STAN STAN
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Drivetrain

Weakness:

All the parts I have upgraded.

This is a revised review. I changed a few things on the bike, since the last review I posted. I purchased a pair of Cane Creek Aerohead wheelsets, connex stainless chain,11/8" King headset and a Reynolds Pro fork. I was not going to change the fork and headset, but the paint and the epoxy coating flaked off the Trek fork. The head tube is set up for 11/8", so I decided to change it. The dealer wanted me to send the old fork back for repair or replacement, Trek will decide on the outcome. I decided not to waite for Trek's decession so I purchased a new fork. Wow what a deferance with the new fork.

[Jun 26, 2003]
tvincek
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Solid ride, shifts effortlessly (rear).

Weakness:

mixed componenets, but have had no real problems. occasinal grinding in 1st gear from the front derailer. but it is a triple ring..(I guess I could adjust it, but rearly use 1st, so no biggie)

I like this bike. I am jsut starting out training for triathlons. (well have been training since last year) Last year I was riding a Trek 7200 comfort bike and hopped on this baby and, whowa! she is quick, and tough. I weigh 180 lbs and have had no problems with the stock wheels. I find this bike very comfortable and forgiving, the carbon fork takes some of the jolts. I did have to change the seat and pedals, but I would expect this anyway.

Similar Products Used:

Trek 7200

[Mar 31, 2003]
click g
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Frame,105 components

Weakness:

Wheels,tires,cheap chain,seatpost, and seat

I highly recommend getting a Trek bike, the customer service is excellant and the frames are great. A shorter stem was installed at the bike shop, the bike shop has been great. I upgrated a few components, seatpost carbon fiber u.s.e., seat,pedals Wellgo R2, and carbon fiber headset spacers,and lightweight tubes. As for the rest of the bike is stock. Its quick and responsive around curves. For a 63c size its light at 20 pounds. It could be lighter and roll faster if wheels and tires were changed. The drivetrain is adequate, the chain will be replaced and upgraded.

Similar Products Used:

Schwinn,Trek

[Nov 17, 2002]
bj40
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Carbon Fiber fork. Good shifters and wheels. Light bike for the price. Mine weighs 21 lbs.

Weakness:

Should not have mixed components, could have came with carbon seatpost, and higher-end tires.

Nice Bike for the price. Enjoy it very much. For older riders, as I am (54), I recommend the triple ring. It is light, and as "stock" requires few upgrades. The only improvements that could be made are all "105" components and a carbon fiber seatpost. Although the list price was $1299 (I didn't pay this), I traded in an old Trek 420 (I upgraded) and a Trek Mountain Bike, I feel I got a very good deal with some cash "boot".

Similar Products Used:

An old Trek 420 which I upgraded.

[May 19, 2002]
pmirp
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Corners as though on rails. It is light. And if you are not hardcore, the third chain helps! It is BEAUTIFUL.

Weakness:

Vibration, but hey it is aluminum. the seat post could/shoulkd be replaced. Pedals.

I am not a racing rider yet! I have had my Trek 2000 for 2 months now. Have been riding it 2-3 times a week on rides of 30-50 miles, and have been in one race with it already. A duathlon. I can honstly say that it is great fun to ride a real bicycle again. Yes, like majority of Americans in their 20s and 30s and 40s, I started my 30s buying a mountain bike and trying to enjoy the nature. Though it is really fun to be in the trails when they are quiet, mountain biking is NOT a natural sport. And it indeed requires much more upper body strength than regular biking. You also are constantly putting yourself in danger. Ok, mountain biking is ok, and I shall still do it. But my God, my Trek 2000 has let me realize how fast I can be and what joy riding a road bike is, minus the stupid drivers here in the South. I am fast! I am killing guys younger than me, who have been doing this for a while, because I have a body (150-160) 5''10" made for this. I love the hills, no hill has stopped me yet, though I am sure that will happen. I use the third chain rarely, but it is good for me to know it is there! This thing corners beautifully. Magical cornering ability. And on downhills, just bend baby and go as fast as 40-45 miles easy. Ok, I do not like the base pedals, but they will do for now. And it is an aluminum, so when you go over potholes, use the mountain biking skills and raise yourself from the saddle, or keep your jaws open :) May be a carbon seat post will help. I love the color. This is a good starter bike and I shall recommend it to anyone who is not a racer. No it is not meant to be a carbon or titanium bike, and certainly the components are adequate but could be better. Well, I probably shall wait for another year before I buy my Trek carbon 5200. Can not wait!

Similar Products Used:

Trek 1000

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.