Dahon Piccolo 2003 Folding Bike

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-8 of 8  
[Jun 11, 2021]
juankax


OVERALL
RATING
3
Weakness:

canijo prematuro lechero

[Jun 01, 2021]
francheslove19


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

This is a great little commuter bike, easy to fold and unfold and free to play. I put off getting another bike for years because I was tired of having them stolen. This one I can just fold up and lock up in the trunk of my car. If it were just a little bit lighter it would be perfect - it's still kind of a chore to lug up and downstairs. But it's super cute and perfect for getting around campus.

Weakness:

If you need piccolo parts visit bed wars online

Price Paid:
$120
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2021
[May 06, 2021]
bergamifer


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

Its light and shifter work great

Weakness:

No weaknesses so fat

Price Paid:
200
Purchased:
Used  
[Sep 11, 2011]
Laszlo Gazdowicz
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

excellent riding if you adjust well the post and handlebars.Claiming also does very good becouse the wheels size with three speed hub shifter wich gives excellent ratio for riding.

Weakness:

The weakness is the spokes cold be chrome nichel or stainless steel or similar.

I can esure that the Piccolo is one of the best folding bikes on the market.The internal three speed hubb shifter is maintenance free.The tires are high pressure performance wich best ride on smooth surfaces.Easy to put two of these bikes in a Toyota Corolla trunk!And i have two.With this i conclude the review who can say anything more ?PS was nice to have chrome spokes on the wheels.

Similar Products Used:

Auto Mini folding bike,Dahon1speed is a jewlery.and Piccolos

[Jul 10, 2007]
Barry Stephens
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

The bicycle rides well for being as small as it is and looks good. It perfomed well on short rides of 5 miles or less with small hills.

Weakness:

On long rides the handlebars seemed too low, even at the maximum extension. The riding position seemed a bit cramped like the handlebars were not out far enough. The longest ride made during the visit was 40 miles.
The cables and chain on the new bicyle stretched and required adjustment while riding during the trip.
The gearing on the 3 speed was not low enough for the large hills in Portland. The rear cog has 13 teeth and I will be changing it to 15 teeth or more. The new bicycle had missing spacers on the rear cog/hub allowing the cog to slide back and forth and wobble on the hub body, the bicycle shop is currently looking for the spacers and a larger rear cog. I put alloy riser handlebars on the bike as soon as I got home.
The steel rack that came on the bicycle is useful and stylish but it seems to weigh a ton.

Purchased the Dahon Piccolo 3 speed for a trip to visit a friend in Portland Oregon. I had considered shipping a bicycle out to Oregon but the cost of shipment was way too high, even for 5 day ground service.
The Piccolo fit into a "Samsonite F'Lite Oyster" 28 inch hard plastic suitcase when the wheels, seat posts, left crank and pedals were removed. The handlebars were slipped into the space between the folded frame halves. The fenders, kickstand and rack were removed and left at home. The total package with empty water bottle holder, head and tail lights, odometer, and cable lock weighed 43 pounds.
The bicycle went as my second checked bag, no extra charge.

Similar Products Used:

This was my first folding bike experience.

[May 31, 2005]
Anonymous
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Fenders and rear rack included. Magnets at hubs hold bike together while folded. Easy derailleur-cable-tension microadjuster.

Weakness:

With gears internalized into hub, rider can only downshift while not pedaling. Steel rusts and weighs more than aluminum. Folding design requires brake levers to face directly downward. Track fork in the rear makes fixing flats very troublesome.

More importantly than evoking favourable reactions from strangers and passers-by, the Dahon Piccolo performs as smoothly as an equivalently-priced, full-sized bike. Granted, the small wheel radius lends the bike a sometimes-wobbly feeling, it also makes the bike slightly more manoeuvrable in tight spots. The three gears that the Sturmey-Archer internal hub provides are perfect for spinning up hills, cruising along flat roads, and powering down hills. One of the most frustrating flaws, however, is that the folding design requires the brake levers to face directly downward to fold the bike completely, and no quick-release bolt is provided to change the handlebar position sans tools. All in all, it's a bike well worth its price, very clean and generally maintenance-free.

Similar Products Used:

None

[Jul 30, 2004]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

Folding characteristics, looks and construction.

Weakness:

Over the course of three months, the bike has been rideable for only five weeks due to the frequency of flat tires repaired by the manufacturer's representatives here in NYC. Included in the repairs was the replacement of three outer tires and the installation of Tuffy material between the tire and tube to assist in preventing flats. Furthermore, the ride is sometimes "shakey" from what appears to be the use of the small 16" wheels.

My personal inspection and research of the construction, looks and storage capability of the Dahon line of folding bicycles led me to purchase a Dahon Piccolo for a friend's 25th Birthday. As a former technical speciallist in the computer industry, I believed a "winner" was found.

Similar Products Used:

Never a folding bicycle.

[Jan 28, 2004]
Timothy
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Main components are very sturdy, folds quickly, 3 speeds fine for climbing or cruising at up to about 15 mph. Great around town since it's more nimble at slow speeds than a full size bike, and 3 speed hub will shift to what ever gear you like while stationary at a stop light.

Weakness:

16" wheels feel unsteady when coasting fast downhill, and likewise the wheels will get hot with prolonged braking (These are inherent with any small wheel). If you use the front brake too hard on wet pavement, the front wheel can slide out very easily, so watch our speed in wet weather. The chainguard is plastic and will crack easily, but who needs it? A few fasteners here and there get rusty quick if in prolonged moisture.

Very pleased with this folder. Bought it to go to the "Big Island" of Hawaii to go on the plane as luggage (no additional charge, will fit their 62" size requirements). Put panniers on the bike and rode completely around the island (300+ miles) with only a few flats. Since it was never designed for this, I think you can ride safely around the corner for a quart of milk. Now I'm using it to commute to work since I can store it there safely under the bathroom sink.

Similar Products Used:

I've never had a folder before, only full size bicycles for many years.

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.