Giant TCR 2 2003 Road Bike

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 29  
[Oct 10, 2021]
Southern Man


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

I have had the 2003 ONCE frame since 2005. Even now n 2021 I would not spend a single dollar on any other road bike. This bike is unique, light & fast.

Weakness:

The frame is so light & supple you really have to be careful hitting that front brake.

Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
2003
[Aug 06, 2011]
David Greer
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Durability, reliability, price

This bike is an awesome bike to start out with in the racing game. It has served me so well over the years. I've never had any problems, very durable. It's surprisingly lite and stiff and races well. I don't race much anymore, but I still use it for training and it still works great.

[Aug 11, 2009]
John
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Hills and streights. With Aero bars you can easally crouse at 27mph

Weakness:

None

In 1999 I was on the Hybrid doing 15-20 mile rides. Decided to move to the road. I did not know much about it but I listened to the advice of the shop owner. The new 200 TCR2 came out and that is what he recomended. The best money I ever spend. 10 years later of on and off riding I can say that this bike is the best on the road. I have seen bikes come and go through my friends and I still have no desire to change. The TCR2 all the bike I need for a 20- 80 mile ride. My freinds are now trying to find used ones because their new bikes are not as good. I have only had to adjust the 105s 3 times in 10 yrs.

Similar Products Used:

Other bike is the Cannondale H500

[Apr 28, 2007]
Dave W
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

-- Solid Shimano 105 components
-- Light weight
-- A good bike for climbing
-- Carbon fork
-- Xero wheels have proved durable

Weakness:

-- Tektro brakes are not so great.
-- Stock Michelin tires didn't last long (replaced with Gatorskins)

I bought this bike a couple of years ago, and it has been excellent. It probably has more than 10000 miles on it, and there have been no major problems. It's very light--it zips up the hills. It has been solid on the descent, and the saddle seems fairly comfortable. The Shimano 105 components have worked beautifully. The only gripes are the Tektro brakes/pads, which haven't inspired a whole lot of confidence. Also, the stock tires weren't particularly durable.

Similar Products Used:

Giant OCR 2

[Dec 24, 2006]
matt
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

the fame is stiff and compact

Weakness:

none

the bike is fantastic powers up the hills the frame is strong and handles the decents like a downhill bike.

Similar Products Used:

look aeroblade 860 full campag.
dont think the other european bike are good such as look just cos they are expensive cos the giant is far better.you could have a carbon bike that is cheap and heavy or you can have a alloy bike that is the cheaper than the carbon but lighter and better. the cheap carbon bikes are crap and the olny time carbon is good is when you spend roughly 4000.

[Jun 24, 2006]
Anonymous
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

strong, positive shifts, fast, just a solid solid bike.

Weakness:

none that I know of

This has been an absolute tremendous bike. I ride it in commuting to work and in races. It has been rock solid and fast. I ride about 150 miles per week. The only thing I changed on the bike are the wheels, I put Ksyrium Elites on and a more comfortable seat. Also, I am a 240 lb rider and really pound on the bike on hills, etc....

Similar Products Used:

Specialized Sirrus Comp, Allez

[Jun 24, 2006]
mike
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

strong, positive shifts, fast, just a solid solid bike.

Weakness:

none that I know of

This has been an absolute tremendous bike. I ride it in commuting to work and in races. It has been rock solid and fast. I ride about 150 miles per week. The only thing I changed on the bike are the wheels, I put Ksyrium Elites on and a more comfortable seat. Also, I am a 240 lb rider and really pound on the bike on hills, etc....

Similar Products Used:

Specialized Sirrus Comp, Allez

[May 06, 2006]
hgvv
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

all 105 components. Light.

Weakness:

the seat is not comfortable, but hey, its race bike....

My first road bike. Researched thoroughly and decided to buy this one.Its the 2006 model. The problem that I am currently detecting is on the front deraileur: The chain is touching it when its on the highest speed. Oh, and some creaking noise that I think is coming from the seat/stem thingy.

Similar Products Used:

none

[Sep 23, 2005]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Price, weight, smooth ride, stiffness.

Weakness:

Stock wheel set is heavy but woks fine.

After riding a 90's Pinarello Stelevo for 6 yrs. while competing in some triathlons and criteriums I wanted to upgrade to a newer lighter bike. I looked and researched and finally came across the TCR2 on sale. After riding it I was hooked by the smooth ride provided by the carbon forks and seat post. The bike was light, stiff and in the price range I could afford. After a year of riding I have not had any problems and am extremly satisfied with this bike. I would highly recommend it to anyone. I have ridden the Giant Composite and feel this bike rides just as well for far less price. I agree with others on the fact the wheels are not as good as quality as the rest of the bike but I put the Rolf Vector Comps from the Pinarello on and use the stock wheel for spares. I also exchanged the 105 shifters and derailer with the Durace from my old bike only because I had recently purchased them and did not want to let them go with the sale of the Pinarello. I am 6'-0" and the Large frame fits me perfect.

Similar Products Used:

Pinarello Stelevo, Giant Composite and Trek 1200.

[Jan 02, 2005]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

The bike is very ligh weight and quick. the 105 components are very smooth and reactive.

Weakness:

the wheels are a little heavy but that is easy to fix by buying x-lites.

I was looking to buy the ocr3 but was able to but my tcr2 from a friend who upgraded to a trek 5.9. i only paid 700 dollars and it was definitely worth twice what I paid. In the past month i have put about 300 miles on it and i look forward to putting many more on them.

Similar Products Used:

trek 1200

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.