Look KX Light 2003 Road Bike

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-9 of 9  
[Apr 17, 2021]
Dhbooch57


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

This bike is incredible for a 2003-2004 model frame. Excellent on hills - decent’s and the flats. Overall my go to bike on long rides (80- 150 KM) The V Gog is the sign. The BIKE is the tool . EDDY is the prophet obey the rules. Velominati

Weakness:

The carbon frame is nothing you want to bump or drop - the part I really love are the aluminum lugs - very good build quality,

Price Paid:
1800
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
2004
[Jan 20, 2021]
ColumbusMax


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

The bike has no weakness. It is an excellent frame, the diamond shape works, stiff, safe, not heavy for its time, nice lugs, all great. I have done thousands of Km with this bike and it still performs like new.

Weakness:

None i guess

[Jul 11, 2009]
censington
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Very rigid
Rides lighter than it's weigh
Looks good

Weakness:

None, but I'd like it if i could buy exactly the same frame today at less than 1,000 grams

Excellent frame. Very stiff but very comfortable as it absorbs shocks well. It's rigidity means it climbs and accelerates very well. It is quite heavy (approx 1,400 grams), especially compared to the latest frames (sub 950 grams) but it rides much lighter and I've had it for circa 3 years and it's as good today as the day I bought it. It also looks great. Even though it's not the latest design it still gets endless positive comments.

Similar Products Used:

Numerous top end road frames, custom and off the shelf

[Sep 24, 2006]
Menno
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Responsiveness, stiffness, the looks.

Weakness:

Finetuning the integrated headset proved to be difficult.

Beautiful natural black carbon look. Diamond shaped tubes give it a slim impression. Sharp cornering, great for keeping oneself in the right position in the nervous bunch during final stage of the race. Stiff but comfortable.

Similar Products Used:

Batavus Professional, Colnago Dream.

[Aug 28, 2006]
Lee
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Absolutely gorgeous. Neat triangular top tube and diamond down tube look like nothing else on the road. Stiff, reasonably light, yet smooth and comfortable. Geometry is well designed. FSA headset is smooth.

Weakness:

A little heavy vs. some of the lighter current bikes, but I think the weight penalty is worth it in power transfer (stiffness) and durability. How many of us are so good that we will fall behind over a lb of bike frame weight?

Purchased as frame only from Ediscountbike.com on Ebay. I have dealt with them before and continue to be pleased. Anyway, they seem to have purchased a number of 2003 to 2004 NIB frames and I purchased this one, size 53. I have to say that I am impressed. I looked at the KG 461 they had, and was a little concerned about the extra weight (3.8 lbs frame about 1 lb for full carbon fork) but it rides a lot lighter than that. The frame tracks well, is compliant and smooth, yet is very stiff. Outstanding for climbing and sprinting, yet still comfortable in the saddle. How Look achieves this compromise is beyond me. I wonder how many 2.0 lb carbon frames will be still being ridden 5 years from now. With this being a little beefier (and with the carbon heat treating for strength) I suspect this rig will hold up to years of use. I can't justify the price of a Ferrari or Corvette, but it is nice to ride the bicycle equivalent. If you can find one, especially for what I paid, I suspect you won't be disappointed.

Similar Products Used:

Custom steel, various carbon, Trek aluminum (yuk)

[Jun 19, 2005]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Looks, craftsmanship, comfy ride, smoothness and predictable handling on fast decents.

Weakness:

No real weaknesses with the frame, but Look seatposts and stems are a bit pricey and hard to find.

I've ridden Look frames since 1998, I switched to a Giant TCR composite last year. I missed the feel of the Look and bought the KX light. The ride is smooth, comfortable and stiff enough to provide excellent climbing and sprinting capabilities. The Giant is a great ride, but the Look offers a little more comfort and control. I also like the looks of the KX light, mine is gloss black with black American Classic wheels.

Similar Products Used:

Look KG 271, KG 171 and Giant TCR composite.

[Aug 17, 2004]
Teo
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Very smooth ride Absorbs road vibrations Great climbing bike

Weakness:

Heavier than some other frames

I’m mostly a Mountain biker but decided to try Road biking again and decided to build up a KX. This is a great bike. It’s a very very smooth ride. Just like on my carbon mountain bike the frame soaks up all the road vibrations. I usually go on short 1.5 to 2 hour rides and I almost feel rested when I get done. I think that’s do to the frame. It absorbs so much that the ride is not fatiguing on the body at all. This frame is heavier than some other high-end frames but with the right part selection I got it down to 16 lbs, including pedals, computer and two water bottle cages. This low weight and stiff frame makes it a great climbing bike, especially in out of the saddle efforts. The bike almost disappears underneath you. Overall this a sweet ride.

Similar Products Used:

Litespeed Capella

[Aug 05, 2004]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Stiff Carbon Finish Quality aero

Weakness:

None (except price, but you can buy them left over from the year before. That is what I did.)

Excelent ride quality. Nice and stiff for sprinting, but light enough for the climbs.The pictures do not do it justice. This bike looks awsome. It is a RocketShip!!

Similar Products Used:

cannondale caad3,cannondale caad5,Trek 5200

[Apr 10, 2003]
Rogue75
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Excellent for accelarations and out of the saddle attacks. Very comfortable due to its all carbon material. Very stiff bottom bracket. The triangular tubing works very well and effective. Great for sprinting.

Weakness:

A tad heavier than others...but not a real issue. Tricky to configure one's size.

Purchased about 3 months ago. First time i rode it I felt the change right away from my previous bikes. Stands very nice, stealthy and mean because of its matte black finish and mavic ksyrium sl's.

Similar Products Used:

Giant TCR, Cervelo, Corima, Bianchi EV2

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.