Oakley Half Jacket XLJ Eyewear

DESCRIPTION

Our first dual-lens eyewear with interchangeable lenses, this chameleon lets you adapt instantly to any light condition. When the sun fades or flares, switch to a new set of optional lenses and change your entire point of view. Accented with true metal icons, the lightweight O Matter® frame includes Unobtainium® earsocks and grip anchors. The open-edge design extends your vertical field of vision, and each set of optional lenses retains the peripheral clarity of XYZ Optics®.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-9 of 9  
[Oct 09, 2009]
Tommy Walker
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Great looks

Weakness:

none

Great glasses, always have to have a pair of Oakley's; however for cycling I resorted to Tifosi's because I didn't want to ruin the expensive Oakley's (which usually just sit on my hat when I play golf).

Similar Products Used:

Tifosi

[Oct 09, 2009]
optipp
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

its a must have

Weakness:

to many to choose from

oakley half jacket is a must have its cheap i got them for 80 dollars at www.ezcontactsusa.com using code backtoschool i think they have in stock most oakleys

Similar Products Used:

raybans

[Nov 30, 2008]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Durable
Light
Perfectly clear
Amazing optics
Comfortable

Weakness:

Slightly fog if you are cranking up a hill and then stop, but no big deal it goes away quickly. Expensive but definately worth it.

Any Oakley glasses are great. These are great because they have perfect optics and fully cover your eyes. Often times i forget that i'm wearing them!

Similar Products Used:

Cheapies and dads original oakley half jackets. (had curved lenses instead of the ones that fit to your face)

[Dec 01, 2006]
wingit_cyclist
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

-transition lenses
-good looking
-maintain shape well and grip to head
-typical oakley quality and class

Weakness:

-the lenses fog up anytime I have cranking up a hill causing limited visibility, which is very annoying!!

I am a huge Oakley sunglass fan..being all that I will wear. Oakley delivered on these glasses just like every other pair I have used. They are easy to put on and take off and never seem to lose their grip. I have the VR50 transition lenses which I like very much. They are perfect for cyclists, so that you don't have to change lenses 3 times during a ride.

Similar Products Used:

Oakley Juliette's, romeo's, square wires

[Sep 26, 2006]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

STYLE! And LOTS of options for lenses.

Weakness:

The chrome finish on the frames faded rather quickly, but Oakley's warraty is excellent and they will replace the frames.

Comfortable, lightweight, protective, and STYLISH! These look as good while working on the bike as they do hanging out at the beach! Changing lenses can be a bit tricky at first, but easier with time. I use them with titanium iridium lenses for daytime and hi-intensity yellow for cloudy or late riding.

Similar Products Used:

Oakley M-frame

[Sep 25, 2006]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Strong, versatile.

Weakness:

None.

The Oakley Half Jackets are really nice glasses. They stay on your face, don't fog, and are easy to clean. At first, changing the lenses is a bit awkward, but once you get used to it, changes are quick and easy. I have Gold Iridium lenses for bright days, the G40's for partly cloudy, and Titanium Clear for overcast or late evening riding. All the lenses provide a great field of vision and the frames fit nicely in my helmet (Bell Sweep R) when I don't want to wear them.

[Jul 15, 2004]
fiddledoc
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Lightweight good optics

Weakness:

eyelash rub (low nosepiece) cost

This is an addendum to my earlier review. I was incorrect in saying that no mirror will work with the Oakley HJ XLJ--I've recently tried a Take-A-Look mirror and was able to use it.

Similar Products Used:

smith frontline

[Jul 14, 2004]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

With current lenses, excellent glare reduction and coverage. I notice signicantly better viewing and much less eye strain than with my Oakley Fives 2.0 with the G30 lense. Good fit for me, and work well with my Pneumo. I am told the Atmos (Giro) was designed to work seamlessly with these and M Frames.

Weakness:

Expense. I spent $210 before I had what I wanted as far as performance. Eyelash rub is present with these as with every Oakley I have ever worn.

Originally purchased Silver Frame w/ round Blue Iridium Lense (G30 lense mentioned in earlier review is not an iridium lense) for $139.99. Recently purchased Blue Iridium XLJ Polarized lenses, which gave noticably better coverage and glare reduction, but are steep at $70. Thus the $210 price. These are best for small to medium frame faces.

Similar Products Used:

Original M Frame, 3 Pairs of Original Fives, M Frame Pro, New M Frame, Five 2.0, Nike Sunglasses, Gargoyle Polaris

[Jun 30, 2004]
fiddledoc
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Good optics light--comfortable to wear all day. Very tight (earpieces can be carefully bent)

Weakness:

Earpieces need to be designed for cyclists, not bad-ass poseurs. Different nosepieces should be made available. Odd shape of temples means that cycling mirrors will not fit. Lenses are overpriced. For my particular frame (Gunmetal), the lenses are very tight and difficult to snap into place. For the money, they should throw in a hard case, even if it's a cheap one. Just something to protect it in a bag or backpack.

I've had these glasses for 9 months, but I still feel ambivalent about them. The frames are well made, but not well designed; it seems like Oakley is more interested in style than function. Did any of those guys actually ride a bike with them after they designed them? In particular, the long straight earpieces go right into my helmet straps (I use Giro Eclipse), and everything has to be adjusted just-so. If the helmet moves, the glasses move on my face. The nosepiece grips well, but is non-adjustable, and is quite low. As a result, my eyelashes brush the inside of the lenses, and they fog up faster than other glasses. My glasses came with G-30 lenses, which I find to be acceptable, but a little too bluish. All in all, I like Smith lenses a lot more, and for less $. Oakley charges twice as much for their lenses, but I don't see any difference, and I really don't see that the Iridium coating does all that much good either. Oakley's polarized lenses are expensive, too, at $75. They advertise them as the best in the world, but frankly, I didn't think they were any better than less expensive brands, and didn't cut any more glare regardless of their fancy manufacturing process. I'd hate to scratch one and have to shell that out again. For the summer, I got a pair of the VR28 Black Iridium and like them so far, especially for shadows/clouds.

Similar Products Used:

Smith Frontline-may become my main glasses for cycling.

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.