Oakley M Frames Eyewear

DESCRIPTION

Oakley M Frames

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 15  
[Feb 01, 2008]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Durability, lenses available in different shapes and tints.

Weakness:

None what so ever.

I have had my M frames for more than 3 years now. They have probably been worn for everyday of those 3 years. It has been through many hours of direct sunny light and rain and still haven't had any sort of problems. Lenses do have some very faint scratches, but thats purely cosmetic. If you race bikes who cares if its just a scratch. Get over it.

[May 26, 2007]
Brian
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

optics, durability, ease of lens change, versatility sunglasses/safety glasses

Weakness:

coatings can scratch very easily, price

I love the clarity of the optics, and the full field of view coverage. I got the Magnesium M frames this time around (last pair of "pro-m"s were stolen) and I've been very happy with them.
I've didn't like the old blades style because of the weak hinges, these have completely fixed that issue

Similar Products Used:

Vaurnet, rayban

[May 21, 2007]
Bill (LT) Blair
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

no squenting into the bright sky.
magnesuim frame is very strong.

Weakness:

darn nose pieces fall off when hanging around my neck sometimes I see it fall off some times I don't :(

I actually use my glasses to fly RC airplanes. You just can't get better eye protection and it makes the color of the airplanes brighter in some cases but it "NEVER" makes them appear like dark spots in the sky and when flying 7 or 8K airplanes seeing your plane is very important.

I bought the magnesium frame and it was a good investment. If you have to look up in the sky all day you can't go wrong with these.

Similar Products Used:

I have use other Glasses that are advertised for this purpose and they aren't as comfortable or they don't make the colors of the airplanes brighter.

[Nov 27, 2006]
Frreed
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Exceptional optical clarity

Combat Proven

Weakness:

none

I bought a pair of M-Frames and was issued another set upon arrival in Iraq. I stashed the purchased pair and wore the issued pair daily. The optics are better than any sunglasses I have ever had. The lenses have micro-scratches from the sand and dust that we encountered on a daily basis. Even with the scratches the optical clarity is great. The frames still look and fit like new. If they can function well in combat, a bike ride is a piece of cake.

Similar Products Used:

Wiley X XL1s
ESS

[Aug 21, 2006]
elroy vogler
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Work fine until they break.

Weakness:

Frame material is not very durable. I'm going to purchase some Smith Theory Sunglasses. They have a lifetime frame warranty.

My M frames worked fine, provided good eye protection and I liked the look. However, the arm broke under one of the ear socks. Oakley now only has a one year warranty so to get a new frame I would have to pony up $29 plus shipping. For the price you pay for these glasses they should be more durable and or replacement policy should be more customer friendly.

Similar Products Used:

Smiths, Bolle,

[Jan 28, 2006]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

cheap. this frame is very protective and has the best periferal vision

Weakness:

maybe very ugly, not sure. deffinate loser quotent if walking around with them on

buy the fake copies. I've gotten a couple in a different style and they outlasted my "true" oakleys. and I liked the "fake" lenses more

[Aug 21, 2005]
Bigal
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Good visibility, customer service, easy lense change.

Weakness:

price

I always wanted a pair of these glasses but could'nt justify the price. Anyway got them as part of a discount package when I bought a new bike. I think these glasses don't look particularly cool and can look a bit geekish, having said that if you are into sport and want glasses that don't fall off and are fit and forget then I think these take some beating. I recently needed a new nose piece and was very impress when Oakley sent me a new one for free which included the postage. I was seriously impressed by this. Basically these are great sunglasses if you are a cyclist!

[Jun 27, 2004]
crankee
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

You gotta be kidding! Ok, one positive ... their CS folks probably take a lot of abuse and they let me vent for a short while. They were good natured about it.

Weakness:

Read the review summary..it's all there.

Oakley = hype and style. Certainly doesn't = quality. My original pair started cracking on the top of the frame within 3 months. I superglued the crack, but it only delayed the inevitable. The glasses literally fell apart on a ride. It's unbeliveable that Oakley would allow sell such a shoddy product, especially for the $$$. Per Oakley's warranty, they replaced the frame (yeah, I had to pony up the shipping costs), but the frame AND lens cracked with in a few months. This product sucks.

Similar Products Used:

Performance and Native sunglasses

[Mar 11, 2003]
Ben

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

No woman on the subway can see me staring at them no matter the angle. In the cold and at 80+mph, the wind does not make my eyes water. Like the majority, I don't feel them on my face and they hug like stink on s#!t.

Weakness:

I don't know yet. I hope my frames don't crack. Even when new, the hinges have up and down play and was told and shown by a salesperson at Sunglass Hut that they are all like that. Wish the lenses were more scratch resistant.

I acquired the older square M Frame and used it until the lenses got too scratched. I ordered another red iridium lens from Oakley. Last weekend, while riding in NH with no helmet and turning my head around at 75mph going across a lake, my glasses flew off and hit the snow. The lenses popped out and the frame broke at the hinge. I sprung for a new pair in grey and black iridium and put my red iridium lenses in. The new style fits so much better than the old square type frame. I have yet to see any weaknesses as they are only a day old to me

Similar Products Used:

I've used Carrera's in the late 80's. Had a pair of Serengettis, used all kinds of Vuarnet's and some Bolle's. The style and fit of the M Frame's is the coolest factor.

[Feb 09, 2003]
I Love Shimano
Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Looks Functions well

Weakness:

Price Plastic frame

Great pair of glasses....I don't feel them when i am wearing them, and they give good coverage from the sun. The frame also holds onto my head well and thus keeping the glasses from moving.

Similar Products Used:

E-wire

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.