Oakley Pro M Frame Eyewear

DESCRIPTION

Oakley Pro M Frame

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 10  
[Sep 11, 2009]
jaybirdy
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

fit

Weakness:

Oakleys warranty

I have used these for almost five years with zero problems.

Similar Products Used:

Briko & Nike

[Oct 19, 2005]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Lenses - fit - eye coverage - Frame quality

Weakness:

Price - Weight

Had these for 2 years with both the Iridium lens and the yellow one for cloudy days. Loved them.. Not a frame or lens issue the whole time. With out a doubt they make the best lenses on the market. They may not be the lightest but they have held up really well.. They were stolen at a fund raising ride this past sunday and I went out and ordered another pair the same day.

Similar Products Used:

Maui Jim's, Performance Quatro.

[Apr 02, 2005]
olr1
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

No damage at all after a car squished them. I just re-assembled them at the roadside and carried on.

Weakness:

None.

What they said, plus I just watched a car drive over my M frames after falling off. Look it was a windy day OK? A chance gust caught me and blew me onto the kerb while riding one-handed.

Similar Products Used:

Many inferior glasses

[May 19, 2004]
wildinguk
Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Vision, quality of workmanship, usability, way the frame glues to your face...and of course they look damn cool too!

Weakness:

Have to say price, but you get what you pay for and if anyone knows any better, they've kept their mouths shut up till now

Bought some pro-ms in red with the +red iridium lense. Absolutely first class glasses, vision is near perfect...in fact i sometimes think I see clearer with them on that without. Contrasts come up excellently considering these are only meant for the brightest of conditions, however i can wear them on a cloudy day and still see perfectly. I have the sweep lense and get no trouble with swet build up, even at 25 degrees celcius and up on hard hill climbs. I think this must be down to the lense choice. The frames hold firm and non slip, perfect for triathlons as they stay put when you run. Love these glasses and worth every penny, just want to get myself some more lense colours now.

Similar Products Used:

Brikos, Bloc

[Sep 23, 2003]
honk
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Light, stylish and grip well. Iridium/heater lens gives good protection from wind as well as the exceptional Oakley clarity.

Weakness:

Sometimes a little sweat can build up at the top of the lens during hot days or when training (hard) indoors.

Plumped for the red frame/iridium combo with the heater lens size. Firstly, the Iridium lens is one of the clearest lenses I have used but not the most scratch resistant (as my older Oakley wires can vouch for). However, as long as you take care and use the bag to clean the lenses you should be okay. The Pro M's also give the best wrap-around, proven by dry-eyes during fast descents (50-60mph). As I commute, I have a pair of Brikos with a Yellow lens for the winter nights. However, I am thinking of getting the equivalent Oakley lens as the lenses are swappable and is half the price (£30) of the Iridium lenses. The only niggle I have had so far is the sweat build-up. This tends to only happen during very hot days or hard roller sessions. However, the sweat build-up is small and occurs with all my eyewear. The only niggle I have had so far is the sweat build-up. This tends to only happen during very hot days or hard roller sessions. However, the sweat build-up is small and occurs with all my eyewear. Overall, these are the best pair of glasses I have used for cycling: great visibility, great eye-coverage plus looks and feels great :)

Similar Products Used:

Briko, Rudy Project Rydons, Oakley Wires

[Sep 20, 2003]
oakleyiscrap
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

Initially the lense performs well, as far as optics goes. they also do a good job of keeping wind and debris out of you eyes.

Weakness:

once the shield cracks all the strengths of these glasses are erased because they are a useless $300 piece of junk.

The prescription lenses of the Pro M frame have serious quality problems. I used mine for about 10 months before the shield started forming cracks around the RX lense. I sent them back to be fixed under warranty, which took 3 weeks, and they are already cracking again after using them only half dozen times. For the price I would expect much higher quality, or at least fix them for free even if they are out of warranty ( they want $22us to repair them). Oakley must know this is a problem, and I'm highly disappointed. Even if their other products are of high quality I will never buy them and neither should you.

[Aug 02, 2003]
Aera Lure
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Great lens, styling, fit and comfort.

Weakness:

Bridge element (one-piece) cracks and finally breaks over time. Oakley did not replace outside warranty, NOR would they sell me or offer a replacement. Beware. Had to buy another set and went instead to regular M frames, having used them in the past. Too pricy to be unable to replace a fragile part.

Great while they last, which for me, was around 2 years, maybe just shy of that. I took great care of them, but in the end, no matter what you do, the temple piece breaks and is unrelacable, outside of warranty.

Similar Products Used:

M Frames.

[May 11, 2003]
littlelance1990
Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Lightness. Really comfortable fit. "Unobtanium" earsocks and nosepieces. Cool lense color (Blue Iridium).

Weakness:

You have to buy a huge case because they don't bend

These sunglasses have been great to me. Their fit is perfect and they are extremely light. They are so sleek looking in the Full Metal color.

Similar Products Used:

Oakley Minutes, Arnettes, Briko Sprinter.

[Jul 27, 2002]
Trinrn7
Weekend Warrior

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Comfort, Optics, no hinges to fail

Weakness:

Design flaw in the prescription models, lenses easily scratch

I purchased the Prescription Pro M with Bronze lenses. Optically they are fantastic,comfort is top notch......but I've had the same problem as the other posts, cracking lenses. The lenses have been replaced 3 times in 3 years. The Rx portion holds up pretty well (even though they are suseptable to scratching if your not careful). But apparently they cut a hole in a regular shield to insert the Rx lens, cracks start propagating radially away from the Rx insert. Oakley has been great about replacing the lenses even though my warrenty has expired, but you'd think they would change their methods. I imagine everybody is having the same problem, no matter how careful they are.

Similar Products Used:

Other Oakleys (with contacts), Bolle, Smith & Wesson safety glasses

[Mar 30, 2002]
Chuck Cross
Weekend Warrior

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

Oakley has mastered the trick of wrap-around prescription lenses.

Weakness:

The shield which holds the lenses is unacceptably fragile.

I''ve had a TERRIBLE time with my prescription Oakley Pro-M sunglasses. I pampered those glasses: from the case to my nose, then back to the case. I never put them on top of my head; never put them on my helmet; never stretched them, sat on them or anything else. Despite this, every four or five bike rides, the shield which holds the prescription lenses would crack below one lens. My retailer sent them back to Oakley SIX TIMES (at no charge) during the warranty period, and each time I''d get them back they''d break in just the same way again. The last time the glasses broke the retailer went the extra mile for me and persuaded Oakley to replace the Heater lenses and shield with Strike lenses and shield, but the same thing happened again. Now the warranty''s up and I''m stuck.

Similar Products Used:

Adidas wrap-arounds with prescription insert. No problems with these.

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.