Pearl Izumi Microsensor 3D Bib Shorts

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 21  
[Oct 29, 2007]
Techai
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

Good external material, good chamois Race 3D

Weakness:

very bad design with a rough, abrasive seam running under the center of the chamois producing irritating and painful friction. Expensive, especially for the poor design.

This is about the Gavia Amfib Bibs. The same 3D Race chamois is wonderful. However there is a seam running underneath it right down the middle of the chamois that is rough and abrasive. You can't tell this just by trying them on in the store but after some time in the saddle, your sensive areas declare its presence loud and clear. This is a terrible shame because otherwise it is a good product, but with this it is a horrible design and a failure in the real world. You can feel this seam in the store if you know what to look for. I've never had anything close to this problem with Giordana, Canari or even Performance. Stay away.

Similar Products Used:

Giordana, Canari

[May 26, 2007]
a england
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Chamois and fit

Weakness:

Its a lot to pay for a short but not as much as other shorts on the market that don't have as nice a chamois and don't hold up

The New 3D Pro Strech Chamois is the nicest I have ever riden. Padding is not to think but dense enough to not pack out on a long ride over rougher roads like the chamois in my Assos and Castelli shorts

Similar Products Used:

Assos, Castelli

[May 07, 2007]
Evans224
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Looks, fit, chamois are all top notch. Excellent durability if taken care of. I finally wore out a pair after almost 2 years of regular riding.

Weakness:

A bit pricey

Bike shorts are very much a personal choice, and I've tried numerous brands. These are a close second to my Assos FI.13 at half the price. They fit great, look great, and are excellent for that long ride.

Similar Products Used:

Assos, Descente, Castelli

[Aug 19, 2006]
cslayton
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

Fabric and cut make these almost "not there" but for the horrible pad.

Weakness:

"Padding" was perineal torture.

I make it a rule never to pay over $100 for shorts, but this was a sale and after trying on everything else in the store, I decided to go for the high-price spread for a change. The fabric and cut were exceptional, and I am a fairly “average” build (175 lbs, 5’11”) so the Medium worked for me. Riding in them was another matter. Twenty-six miles and an spin session were enough for me, I took them back to the store for credit.
The pad may as well not have been there. I am riding a Brooks Wooden, er.. Leather Swift Saddle which is still in it’s break-in period (just over 1000 miles) and I expect this feeling from my ancient Tinley and Hind shorts, which are virtually unpadded, but not from a pair of $160 shorts. The center seam was a tangible presence that was very irritating to me.
Perhaps on a Specialized Alias saddle (or any other center-grooved saddle) I would still be wearing these, but I have ridden leather virtually my whole life.
The LBS said they could not resell them since there was already some pilling in the under-the-butt area, which should not be there after such a short trial, so I am awaiting PI’s pleasure, which probably means I will get some Ultrasensors in exchange.
I really think PI should pull these from the market, the pad is just poorly designed. The cache of marketing any aspect of a garment as “for racing” does not excuse such discomfort for so much moolah. A well-designed pad in such otherwise comfortable shorts might have almost seemed worth the price. My ratings are based solely on their unrideability, I wish I could give PI credit for the fabric and cut, but I am down $130 and not happy.

Similar Products Used:

Sugoi
Santini gel
Performance Elite (best value)
Ancient stuff from byegone days - Hind and Tinley

[Jul 25, 2006]
wipeout
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Bib straps don't slip - seem well made.

Weakness:

Poorly placed seams cause chafing in front and back.

I've changed my mind regarding these bibs. My previous evaluation was incorrect. Since my initial trial with this product I've discovered that there is a seam that runs up in front that causes chafing and pain. Also in the back the seams causes sores on the buttocks after several hours of riding. I've tried different brands of bibs now, and have to say that the PI's now fail miserably!

[May 15, 2006]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

look cool

Weakness:

Bad finish where it counts. At this price, they should be flawless (and my cheaper shorts have never caused any problems at all).

What a disappointment... I own three pairs of bike shorts, Performance Elite (excellent), Kucharik plainwrap (excellent), and the now-returned Pearls. I, too, had a miserable time with chafing from the pad seam -- rubbed me raw after fifty miles, and another time after a fast thirty-five.

Similar Products Used:

Performance Elite, Kucharik standard shorts, Descente Aero-X (just purchased)

[May 05, 2006]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

Good fit and comfort other than the terrible chamois design.

Weakness:

Chamois design and comfort unless you like wearing a brillo pad.

Worst short ever for the money. The pad rubbed me raw on the first ride which I credited to the newness. All additional rides resulted in the same. The bib straps seams are also coming unsewn. My much cheaper Voler race bibs are far more comfortable.

Similar Products Used:

Voler, Verge, Cannondale, Santini -- all better.

[Mar 27, 2006]
fracisco
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

The fabric and fit are excellent.

Weakness:

The edge of the chamois is unfinished and has rubbed me raw.

I recently purchased a pair of Microsensor 3D Pro Bib Short, and I think that the approach overall is half-baked. The fabric and fit of the shorts is great. The chamois itself is great. How the chamois is attached to the shorts, particularly at the edges where the chamois has an unfinished seam that is not flush with the fabric is horrible. I did an easy 30 mile recovery ride this morning wearing these shorts for the first time, and I have a spot on the back of both legs, up high, where the unfinished/non-flush edge has rubbed me raw. I am disappointed and I am going to return these shorts. $40 Voler shorts have the chamois flush at the edges, and I do not see why these $140 shorts cannot do the same thing.

Similar Products Used:

Voler bibshorts and team shorts.

[Mar 21, 2006]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Comfort, fit and durability.

Weakness:

It takes a couple of hundred miles to wear these in. Like any short, don't expect the chamois to be comfortable until you break them in.

This review is for the Pro 3D bibs. I've been riding for many years and these are the most comfortable bib's I've used. I have used them for over a year, from hours on the trainer to centuries. The chamois is not bulky like the regular Microsensor 3D shorts which I believe have been reviewed below.

Similar Products Used:

Nike, Hind, LG, MEC, and others.

[Sep 04, 2005]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Weakness:

Chamois

I wish I had consulted this forum before buying these. They are awful. The chamois is like a big chafing diaper. I'm now reluctant to buy any shorts that advertise as having ergonomic padding, anatomically designed padding, pressure point padding etc. Unfortunately, I had worn them a couple of times before I realized just how bad they are.

Similar Products Used:

I have old pairs of LG and PI that were fine. But they are getting worn out.

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.