DEDA Handlebar Tape Bar Tape

DESCRIPTION

Synthetic handlebar tape. Comfortable and holds up well to weather. Micro cellular foam provides great grip and water resistance. Embossed with the Deda logo except on chrome and clear. High elongation for tear resistance. Comes with tape and two black plastic bar end plugs.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 22  
[Sep 11, 2010]
Greg C
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

huge selection of colors, has a nicer feel, cushioning, and look then Cenelli bar tape.

Weakness:

Color isnt what i expected. I think it would be the case with most of the colors they have. So be careful which color you order. Also the bar end caps would not stay in.

I've only used two other brand bar tapes this being the second best i have used so far. The Giant gel bar tape my bike came with has better feel and, cushioning to it.

Similar Products Used:

Giant Gel bar tape, Cinelli cork tape.

[May 27, 2010]
FrankAZ
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Incredibly confortable non-gloved. Holds up quite well to my use.

Weakness:

Not too fond of how the sticky comes up during a re-wrap. Red color seems to attract dirt + grease easily, but, does come clean easily also.

This is my first road bike post a mid 80's Raleigh, and I choose this tape based on review and colors. Its held up quite well, and I just wrapped my bars with a second package of tape (first set was badly damaged due to my carelessness.) I rode an MS150 with the tape only, and no gloves (I found it more comfortable to ride without the gloves) So, a one day century, and then 62 miles the next day with no hand pain.

Similar Products Used:

Ancient bike with "4 piece" foam.

[May 10, 2009]
nonverbal
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Cheap.
Durable(For all versions).
Easy to find-they're almost anywhere.

Weakness:

easy to gather dirt(for the cork version).

In the time period in using this bartape,I feel comfortable,but don't have any special feeling about it.I won't say they're quite superior to other bartape like Bikeribbon or Cinelli,Fizik(I think it's the best),etc...but they're cheap enough,and easy to find.

Similar Products Used:

Fizik bartape(Microtex)
Bikeribbon(Eleganza)
Cinelli(Worldcup)
Silva(Cobra)

[Feb 11, 2009]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

EZ installation, superior look and feel, very durable

Weakness:

zero

Holy snap! This is the best damn bar tape, bar none. Perfect grip and cushion, incredibly easy to install, and lots of colors that really pop. Excellent stuff!

Similar Products Used:

Cinelli, Profile

[Aug 18, 2008]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5

The best. Just enough tick, no crappy gel. Work for 5000km at least.

[May 05, 2008]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

comfortable without being too soft; wraps tight and stays in place

Weakness:

none found

I bought the Deda tape after reading several positive reviews.

The back of the tape has a strip of adhesive material that holds it to the bar. I was able to wrap it very tightly without much stretching. After a few months, it doesn't seem to have loosened up at all. I should also note that I installed this tape when I converted my bike from Shimano STIs to bar end shifters and dedicated brake levers. Because this was a fairly major conversion and I'm a bit of a novice, I had to re-wrap the bars several times before I was happy with everything. You'd think this would have had a detrimental effect on the bar tape, but it didn't matter. So far the Deda is still immovable.

As for the feel... I hate wearing gloves so I need a tape with some padding. The Deda tape is just soft enough to absorb some road vibration without feeling mushy. The surface feels slightly tacky to the hands. In other words, it's just right.

Given the quality and price of this product, I doubt I'll be changing brands any time soon.

Similar Products Used:

Cannondale (OEM) gel tape

[Sep 12, 2007]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Quality, Comfort, Reliably, Ergonomics, Italian Elegance!

Weakness:

None

Bye it!

Similar Products Used:

Other crap

[May 19, 2007]
delta
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Soft
Great grip

Provides great grip without feeling tacky.
Has great tactile feel with and without gloves.

[Apr 22, 2007]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Easy to put on
Stays out on the bar
Superb feel/grippiness, wet or dry
Wears well

Weakness:

More expensive than others, but at $15, I don't mind

This tape is just superb--highly recommended. It goes on easy, I've never ripped it during installation, and it stays put on the bar. The tactile feel of the tape is what wins me over time and again--it's almost sticky without being tacky at all. It grips very well, in wet or dry conditions. And, without any cosmic gel or padding, it absorbs vibrations very well.

Similar Products Used:

Specialized Bar Phat, Trek tape, Italian cork

[Nov 06, 2006]
aaronbarker
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

nice color choices, easy to apply

Weakness:

does not breathe. stays wet in humidity on and under the tape

The blue color matched my Fondriest well and the tape went on easy enough, but once the tape got wet, it never dried well during the humid part of the summer. i nearly t-boned another rider because my hand slipped on a club ride. constantly damp and very slick with gloves or bare hands. i finally replaced with stella azzurra eleganza tape that breathes very well and stays dry and grippy

Similar Products Used:

cinelli, stella azzurra

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.