DEDA Newton Anatomic Handlebars

DESCRIPTION

Deda Elementi Newton 31 drop handlebars feature an anatomic bend to provide a closer brake lever reach. Features and Information Width measured ou...

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 26  
[Jan 10, 2012]
jefseven
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Stiff - Comfortable - Easy reach in all positions

I like these bars. They are stiff and very comfortable in most positions. I ride Campy, so I like the cable channels indented into the sides. One reviewer said that it's hard to tape over them (for Shimano,) but a little strip of electrical tape and a small piece of cork should do the trick very easily. I've used these for a number of years now, and they don't show any signs of stress - this includes a lot of uphill grinding. I take the bike apart and inspect it every year.

Similar Products Used:

Cinelli, ITM

[Nov 22, 2008]
ingobrun
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Round bend, deep drop reminds me of the old Cinelli 66's which I used to ride. It's a classic shape, nice and deep.

Weakness:

Has cable grooves on back which I don't need, and require thick tape to conceal.

I bought these bars to replace the Bontrager bars that came stock on my 2008 Trek Madone 6.5. I hate anatomic bends because they shorten the reach and drop which really effects sprinting position. So I went with the deep drop, round bend, and so far I love them. They are plenty stiff. I don't care at all about weight given how light my bike already is, so I also just bought a Thomson stem to replace the original Bontrager, and subsequent Ritchey WCS (-17, 130mm). I like long and low.

Similar Products Used:

Cinelli 66's a long time ago.

[Mar 03, 2008]
acid_rider
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

shallow drop makes the drops more accessible (higher) if you rotate bars down properly and bring the hoods back up towards you.

Weakness:

price is too high

i have classic drop shape, shall drop Newton alloy bars, 42cm C-C bar. good bars but expensive for alloy product. they work with Deda stems and other 31.8mm stems too.

Similar Products Used:

bontrager, specialized, modolo

[Mar 25, 2007]
karl
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

fit, lack of flex, comfort climbing, comfort in the drops and wrist room while sprinting. A perfect bar.

Weakness:

Deda needs to be more honest with their weights. Their product is too good to be undervalued by false advertising. The newton bars are NOT 207 grams. 42cm, the most popular size should be the standard for recorded, advertised general weight.

I'm 148lbs, I race and am a better climber than a sprinter. The bar replaced a bonti-x carbon which snapped while training after a race-crash and I also use a newton on a cyclocross bike for races. I am a weight weenie and though this bar (blue 06) is listed variously as 207g-215g rest assured that it is in fact a 250g+ bar. And I love it. It is very stiff and sure and I never feel as though I'm loosing energy to unwanted flex while climbing hard or hammering in the drops. So despite the slight weight penalty I'm on board. It's also confirmed my suspicion that in the world of carbon there is no good reason to avoid an aluminum bar, these are perfect and now I understand why so many pro users choose newton.

Similar Products Used:

All bontragers, some wcs ritchey which I liked for weight reasons but not for feel, some other dedas and some eastons.

[Jun 08, 2006]
acid_rider
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

shallow drop comfort is good

Weakness:

too high a price for aluminium bars

shallow drop 134mm bar (42cm C-C) allows me to ride in the drops better. No complaints about anything else apart from the high price.

Similar Products Used:

bontrager race-x-lite stock bars on my Madone 5.9, deep drop was not good for my back so shallow drop was installed

[Jul 18, 2005]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Light, cable grooves

Weakness:

stupid bend, uncomfortable!

Don't be fooled by the weight savings. The "anatomic" bend sucks. I have medium sized hands and they are way too small.

Similar Products Used:

ITM millenium, EC90

[Aug 03, 2004]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

durability, looks

Weakness:

none

The Deda Newton handlebar is an excellent product. After two years of use, there have been no problems. Personally, the handlebar is comfortable and fits my hands well. I ride without gloves and the bar does a great job of absorbing vibrations. I feel in control of the bike every time i ride.

Similar Products Used:

3T zepp XL

[May 03, 2004]
Anonymous
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Very strong, lightweight, great bend.

Weakness:

None so far.

Excellent handlebar. Lightweight, very strong. The oversized clamp helps support my riding style, for I tend to climb out of saddle. I purchased the Italian style bend, and staying in the drops feel much more comfortable than my stock Bontrager bars.

Similar Products Used:

Stock Bontrager handlebars (Anatomic).

[Mar 16, 2004]
Eric_H
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Reasonably light and very stiff, multiple bends readily available.

Weakness:

None.

Excellent handlebar choice. Reasonably light and stiff, and available in three different bends - ergo, deep classic and shallow classic. This proved important for me because over the winter I re-discovered shallow classic drop bars when I put an NOS pair of ITM Pro 260 "Strada" on my winter bike, and determined they are the most comfortable for me. Kudos to Deda for making a top-end product with options.

Similar Products Used:

ITM Millennium, ITM Pro 260 , 3T Prima 220, Cinelli Eubios, etc, etc.

[Jan 30, 2004]
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

durability, stiffness, light weight

Weakness:

none

i bought this stem August '02 and the Newton has performed perfectly. There have not been any flexing or creaking and performs solidly. I have had numerous climbs and sprints on the bar and it has never faltered in its performance. kinda hard to mount a computer due to the 31.7 version

Similar Products Used:

3T Zepp XL

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.