Kestrel EMS Proâ„¢ Handlebars

DESCRIPTION

  • Carbon / Kevlar Hybrid
  • Toughened Thermoset Matrix
  • All Composite Construction
  • 220 grams (42cm)
  • 230 grams (44cm)

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-10 of 23  
    [Jun 01, 2008]
    Anonymous
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Quite stiff. Soak up the buzz.

    Weakness:

    No issues.

    Currently have approx. 3,500 miles on these Kestrel EMS Pro bars and am very satisfied with performance. Absolutely no problems. They are stiff and eliminate road vibration. Cable channel a great feature. Highly recommended.

    Similar Products Used:

    Easton Al.

    [Jul 02, 2007]
    Riderstrider
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Light, stiff, comfortable, durable (provided you use a compatible stem).

    Weakness:

    EMS advertises this as compatible with any stem. That is not quite right, but once you figure that out, its a mighty fine bar for the money.

    The bar is light and stiff and greatly reduced road vibration into your hands. I cracked the first one I had (due to using a Salsa SUL Stem - causes pinch cracks in carbon), and while EMS was sending a replacement (thanks) I put the old aluminum bars on -- ouch, what a difference. If you use these, be sure the stem does not cause pinch cracks. I called EMS, and they noted a few stems that will cause problems with these bars, stems like the Salsa that exert uneven pressure on the bar. Overall, a great product with good customer service.

    Similar Products Used:

    Many aluminum bars.

    [Jan 25, 2007]
    Gary
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    2
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    Strength:

    vibration dampening
    shiny carbon look

    Weakness:

    fragile
    pricy
    not very light

    This product is too fragile. I will never trust carbon stuff again. I had 3 rides with the handlebar which I bought it in auction. It slipped in the last ride when I was going downhill. I gotta tighten the clamp again, but then it was overtightened and created a longitudinal crack. i will go back to alloy handlebar for sure

    Similar Products Used:

    Cinelli altera; ITM super italia 260

    [Nov 06, 2004]
    bjb
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Accepts aero bars Right weight/stiffness trade off Absorbs vibrations well Plenty of hand position options

    Weakness:

    none

    This is my first carbon bar and I am impressed. Though the weight is comprable to most good aluminum bars, it absorbs vibrations better and is equal or better as far as stiffness. The warranty and ability to accept aero bars is a huge plus over other carbon bars.

    [Jul 07, 2004]
    dhtucker4
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Stiffer than all but the heaviest aluminum bars I've tried, my hands aren't numb from a 45-mile fast ride in town, 30-40% in the drops. Take off all but the heaviest road buzz. A decent straight top (unlike Easton bars), and they are very comfortable.

    Weakness:

    None.

    These bars are pretty stiff and reasonably light. I have spent more time in the drops with these bars, because they soak up the road vibrations (in Houston, the roads are good to really crappy). I got these because they can take aero bars (such as the MS-150, it's more like the MS-185), and they have a lifetime warranty.

    Similar Products Used:

    Ritchey Pro and WCS bars, and an old Cinelli.

    [May 24, 2004]
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Stiff, light, shape of bend

    Weakness:

    none so far

    So light I truly though the box might be empty. I can usually put some kind of bend in bars, but not this one. Highly recommended!

    [Dec 22, 2003]
    RoadDog
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Stiff, comfortable, relatively light.

    Weakness:

    None.

    VERY STIFF, comfortable.

    Similar Products Used:

    3T (suck), ITM(good), Profile(marginal).

    [Nov 29, 2003]
    DropTheHammer
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Very light. Comfy shape. Nice finish from an overseas made product. Absorbs vibration and shock nicely.

    Weakness:

    Slightly flexy.

    I get scared over products that are too light, but these induced confidence after the first five minutes I had them. I bought them because the bend in the drops felt nice, plus the carbon chi-chi factor is a plus. These bars are not as stiff as I'd like. I weight 165 and I have these on my cyclocross bike. I can see them sway when I crank on them. And no, it's not the stem flexing, because the bars I had on prior to these did not budge at all. The carbon construction does absorb shock and smooth out chatter and higher frequency buzz too. Expensive for handlebars, but compared to other carbon bars, these are a bargain.

    Similar Products Used:

    Icon Sterling 3T Forgie Bontrager Race ITM Millenium

    [Sep 29, 2003]
    insmanblue
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Light and stiff.

    Weakness:

    None so far.

    These bars are stiff. I have the Easton EC 90 on the other bike and the Kestrel bars are every bit as stiff. I like the fact the Kestrel bars has a channel so that the cabling sits into. The Easton bars do not.

    Similar Products Used:

    Easton EC 90 carbon handlebars

    [Sep 12, 2003]
    supafreak
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Stiff- Not too light- Nice shape- Textured brake hood clamp area-

    Weakness:

    Made in China Too expensive for being "Made in China" Will they hold up in a crash?

    Stiff bars provide quick response and transfer power/energy to the wheels. Do not notice any vibration dampening quality with these bars but definitely notice and appreciate the stiffness giving great control. Not superlight which is a good thing--I don't trust those Easton bars and I only weigh 150. These bars help on the climbs and they are appreciated accelerating in a sprint. The 3T's prior really sucked--flexy crap. I like these bars but honestly, they are overpriced (and I got 20% off retail). Probably a fair value at $80 but not $140 full retail.

    Similar Products Used:

    3T "220" bar really sucks, ITM "Super Italia Pro 2" very heavy but stiff @ 338 grams, Profile bars

    Roadbikereview Newsletter

    Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

    THE SITE

    ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

    VISIT US AT

    © Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.