Selle Italia Flite Gel Flow Saddles

DESCRIPTION

Selle Italia Flite Gel Flow Titanium Saddle Black. These Selle Italia Ti316 Saddles have a sculpted modern look and differentiated thickness silicone gel inserts around a center cut out.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 18  
[May 28, 2011]
wily_quixote
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Comfort, support, wellmade good for non flexible riders needing a curved flexy saddle. Similar footprint (assprint?) to the slr but comfortable instead.

Weakness:

Looks a bit weird. Expensive

I've used this saddle on my training road bike and my mtb. Currently on the roadie. It has a slight curve from rear to centre, a high degree of shell flex provided by the cutout, and firm padding. It is a narrow [email protected] 130mm. Best set up level from rear to nose. It's on my cannondale alu bike which is a firm ride and I have poor flexibility meaning i tend to sit with pelvis canred forwards on my perineum consequently. This saddle fits my requirements and provides a good measure of support and comfort. Shell flex is awrsome. I used this saddle on a 8 hour mtb marathon race and my ass was fine afterwards.

Similar Products Used:

slr...hideous beyond belief.avocet 40 niiice. Fizik tundra... nice but tooflat. Ritchey marathon pro, beautiful, beautiful saddle.

[Dec 21, 2010]
DJDRJ
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Nice looking, IMO. Comfortable.

Weakness:

Scuffs easily. Top thin layer started to wear off after 5-10 hours in the trainer. Come on!? Going back to the shop - probably get the same thing but Carbonia which has a different cover.

Required some setup but once dialed in was comfortable for long rides.

Similar Products Used:

WTB Silverado - much more comfortable

[Apr 24, 2010]
thor
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Comfy and lightweight!

Weakness:

Over prized. I bought mine when it was listed for $90. The following year MSRP was $130 and now it $150+ (and it's the same saddle)

good comfortable saddle. I got the white and after one wet ride the letters rubbed off and discolored the white. Otherwise, very comfortable.

Similar Products Used:

San Marco Concor, Selle Italia Trans Am C2, WTB, others

[Sep 23, 2009]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

great support
great longevity
perfect for long rides

Weakness:

COST (if you pay retail)

I've been on a handful of saddles and I have to say that at first I wasn't impressed by the geometry of the new Flite. Coming off of an ASPide, though, made everything MORE comfortable, so I stuck it out. I now am happier with it than I can describe. As long as you have the saddle in the perfect position (as you SHOULD with any saddle) it will fall perfectly under your sit bones and support there and nowhere else (as you should want it to). I also gave the Fizik Aliante a try in shopping, and it was great, but had a little TOO MUCH cushion for my taste, the kind that leaves you over rubbed on a long ride. I would say for all of those looking to buy a new flite gel Flow, go for it.

Similar Products Used:

Selle Italia Turbo (old school)
San Marco ASPide
Fizik Aliante

[Dec 15, 2008]
Dan
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

I had the white one, and on my litespeed it looks stunning. Additionally it is remarkably comfortable and durable. I crashed on it several times at high speeds with little or no scuffing to the leather.

Weakness:

After about 2600 miles the carbon shell cracked by where the right rail attaches to the rear of the saddle. I still continued to ride it for another 200 miles until I sent it back to S.I. They immediately sent me a SLR as a replacement since the didn't have a Flite

After nearly 3000 miles in one year on my Flite Gel Flow I am still amazed by how comfortable it has been.

Similar Products Used:

Fizik, San Marco, Tioga spyder(garbage), Serfaz

[Sep 30, 2007]
Scott Fitzgerald
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

- Comfortable
- Stylish (i have white)
- Leather cover
- Excellent Quality handmade in Italy

Weakness:

- None that I can think of but weight weenies might think it a little heavy at 22grams

Purchased this after a bad experience with Specialized Body Geometry Toupe 143 - Edges of the seat were like razors!

THe Selle Italia Flite Gel Flow is the most comfortable saddle I have ever ridden, I have logged 300 km on it now and it required little if any breaking in. Would recommend it for anyone looking for a performance saddle with plenty of comfort. As always with Selle Italia the finish is superb.

[Sep 02, 2007]
Steve Minniear
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

relatively light weight, gel inserts (not sure this is a strength for me)

Weakness:

saddle scuffs WAY too easily for a 130.00 item; don't even think about leaning your bike against anything as it will scuff the thin leather cover; white lettering on saddle rubs off almost immediately; doesn't live up to the hype in my opinion

I purchased the 2007 Selle Italia Flite Gel Flow in hopes of finding a more comfortable saddle for longer rides. Unfortunately, I have not been completely satisfied here as it is only marginally more comfortable than the previous mount. I recognize that saddle choice and comfort are often unique to the individual, so read with that context.

Similar Products Used:

Specialized, WTB, Velo

[May 28, 2007]
Blue Sugar
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Comfort, keeps pressure off your crotch.

Weakness:

None so far

I personally find this saddle very comfortable. I'd been weary of the cutout or "fart vent" saddles but my new kit came with it so I gave it a try. I'm glad I did. It keeps the weight off your crotch and puts it on your sit-bone, so that part of your body gets sore instead of your crotch. I prefer it this way. You will still get sore, but in a different (better) place. The top is flatter than on my old Gel Flite. I should point out that it is on a new, more comfortable bike and that I have benefited from a professional fitting as well. I started with a Flite, then a Gel Flite, then this. Each has been more comfortable than the last. Which saddle works for you is a matter of your anatomy. This one works for me. If you like the Flite shape, it think you will like this saddle.

Similar Products Used:

Flite, Gel Flite

[May 12, 2007]
Patrick
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

looks

Weakness:

location of the cutout! It's in the wrong place, I don't get it.

I am a bicycle courier, I spend a LOT of time on my work bike with an old Flite saddle w/Ti rails. I don't understand the placement of the cutout. It is not far enough foreward on the saddle. I don't need a cutout anymore after learning to sit properly on the saddle and developing some abdominals. I had to break my ass in to the old flite, but I'm going to try to return this one.

Similar Products Used:

Selle San Marco GelAround Arami (AeroSaddles.com), old school Selle Italia Flite

[Jul 02, 2006]
Cycle_Spice
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Lightweight.
Padding.
Strength.
Looks.
Non-slip.

Weakness:

Price. The bike shop has this saddle in stock priced at $240. It's not budget friendly and the competition; say the Specalized "Toupe" is $80 cheaper, for a similar saddle design principal.

Could probably have brighter stitching like yellow or blue event white or something, just to pretty it up a bit.

Reviewing the Selle Italia Flite Gel Flow. It came on the bike - I had the dealer swap the Selle Italia on the bike for the one I wanted.

This is the 7th or 8th Selle Italia I've had on a bike - I have only ever had a seat that was on the BMX bike I had as a boy and a Bontrager(sp?) that came on a Trek I brought many many moons ago.

The seat itself is of excellent finish, there's nothing really to comment other than to say that the build quality of this seat is fantastic. The stitching is above average, the lettering on the seat is much better than last years seat - I had the same model on my courier bike last year, the letters pealed off after a day riding in the rain.

The seat is excellent - you can't really feel the thing. I'm averaging about 40 kilometers twice day to and from work at the moment - the saddle is really very comfortable. The Gel did take a couple of rides to mould to my dimensions and in the mornings in the winter climate it's a little solid but after a kilometer it seems to be 'normal'. I love this seat. Well Done Selle Italia!

Similar Products Used:

None - I've only owned Selle Italia, I have riden a bike with a Specialized Toupe around the block but that's not really a test. I removed the Bontreger I got with a Trek almost straight away.

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.