Selle Italia Flite Trans Am Saddles

DESCRIPTION

With its streamlined styling and Titanium rail, the revolutionary FLITE saddle gives unmatched performance on or off road.

SIZE 275 X1 39 MM (lxw)
WEIGHT 235(grams +-8%)
RAIL Titanium

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 31  
[Oct 11, 2009]
padudle
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

extra width under sit bones, center ventilation

Weakness:

out of production

I used the Selle Italia Flite Trans Am for at least 5 years. It was the best saddle I ever had in terms of comfort and durability. I always put this saddle on the bike I was riding the most, including a heavily used off-road bike.

Similar Products Used:

tried everything. nothing comes close.

[Nov 05, 2008]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Enough padding to cushion, not so much that it's uncomfortable. Perfect for my sit bones. Titanium rails. Quality leather cover. Still cheaper than the rising cost of today's quality saddles.

Weakness:

Hard to find; whenever I find the perfect product, it is discontinued by the time I need a new one.

Since this saddle is no longer available from Selle Italia, I had to find one new-old-stock on Ebay. I have owned one previously, which will go on my trainer/off-weather bike. I have had a number of saddles in the past twenty years; the only ones that came close was my classic San Marco Concor Superleggera, and the Terry Zero (like the TransAm, but its plastic shell started to sag). I have logged thousands of miles and two cross-state tours, and always been comfortable.

Similar Products Used:

SM Concor SL, SM Linea, San Marco Era Luxe (*shudder*), SI Flite Gel (ouch), Specialized BG Comp, Terry Zero

[Oct 24, 2006]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Comfort, weight*(lighter than most)

Weakness:

weight*(not for weight weenies either), took a bit of time to break in

This saddle came on my 2004 Giant TCR2. It took a couple hundred miles to break it in properly, but now I won't use anything else. I had no idea how good I had it until I tried a couple other saddles which hurt terribly. This saddle is comfortable for centuries or for racing. I'm going to outfit my other bikes with Trans Am's as well.

Similar Products Used:

Selle Italia Flite, Velo(for Fuji), Selle Italia ProGel(or something like that)

[Oct 28, 2005]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Light weight, good looks, quality construction.

Weakness:

Uncomfortable which negates any good things about it. Might as well be sitting on a brick.

I have used this saddle only about four times, but that was enough to convince me that it's not for me. I found it uncomfortable as soon as I sat on it. I had a professional "fitting" and he improved it a little. After just 30 minutes though, my bottom gets numb and starts aching. I find myself squirming around on it to get comfortable..but all I get is PAIN. I'm fairly skinny without much natural padding down there, so maybe that's the problem. Off to bike shop to try Fizik Arione (and others possibly).

Similar Products Used:

A brick!

[Sep 07, 2005]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Stiff, but not hard. Definitly an all day saddle.

Weakness:

Wish they had color combos.

When you know the saddle isn't there you know your on a great saddle. This saddle is the best. I never experinced any pain or numbness. This will always be the saddle of choice for me. I can sit on this saddle for a very long time. I can even move around a little for comfort. I'm 5'10 160 lbs it works for me. I don't think this saddle was designed for the large or overweight. No race products are!

Similar Products Used:

None

[Mar 27, 2005]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Looks nice.Reasonably priced.

Weakness:

pain pain pain pain

I have had this saddle for a very short period of time.Its on a Giant TCR Carbon.All I can say is "PAIN".I have never been so uncomfortable on a saddle ever.Trully for me it is miserable.I cannot get 2 miles without feeling pain and having to stand up.One ride I actually walked the last mile because I could not stand it any longer.Bare in mind that I have very little "natural padding" in the butt.I am 185lbs and I have a very "boney" butt so I need padding.This saddle does nothing for me but kill my arse!!

[Mar 12, 2005]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Very durable. Confortable if you have wider sit bone spacing.

Weakness:

None.

I have used the Selle Italia MAX Trans AM (Mn rails) saddle since 2001. I require wider saddle platform for my sit bones - I am not a lard arse though! Tried Selle Italia Octavia - ouch. Also toured on Terry Fly Ti but now find it too narrow at rear. Selle Italia MAX took about 500km to break in as there is no padding but now comfy for 5+ hour rides and multi day tours. Have put a Selle Italia Flite Trans AM saddle on my race bike. It is stiffer due to Ti rails and took 500kms to break in but now just as comfy as the MAX. Now trying Selle Italia Flite Genuine Gel on Commuter but it is too narrow and places pressure between my sit bones.

Similar Products Used:

Selle Italia Octavia Terry Fly Ti Selle Italia Flite Trans AM Selle Italia Flite Genuine Gel

[Mar 09, 2005]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Comfort, anatomical cut-out, classic looks

Weakness:

None

Excellent saddle - it is a classic flite saddle +plus+ a cut-out. I've had issues with pressure points with nearly every other saddle I've ridden and this one takes care of that problem nicely. Comfortable on 4+ hr. rides, light weight, great looks and the cost is much better than the superlight (but not as comfortable) saddles out there.

Similar Products Used:

Fizik pave, Moser, Flite

[Jun 16, 2004]
Anonymous
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Looks cool, lightweight

Weakness:

Doesn't fit me. Too narrow to support my sit bones, perhaps. If the groove went farther back on the saddle, it might be better.

Feels fine for the first half an hour, then my legs start to go to sleep, and it gets very painful. This saddle seems to work well for most people, but not for me.

Similar Products Used:

Specialized body geometry pro

[Oct 13, 2003]
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Best cut our saddle I've tried. Looks good and weighs little.

Weakness:

none I can find

Excellent Saddle. If you are used to Selle Italia saddles then the transition to this one should not be too tough. I rode the Selle Italia Gel Flow also. The Gel Flow padding is nothing but a gimmick. Save your money and by the Trans AM if you need a saddle with a cut out. The saddle looks great, is not heavy.

Similar Products Used:

Selle Italia Flite gel flow, Selle Italia Flite Gel, Terry Zero, Terry Fly

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.