Selle Italia Flite TT Saddles

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-8 of 8  
[May 01, 2009]
Wooderson
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3

I've always used Flite's, and they generally all fit the same, but not this one. It seems harder than the rest, and the middle ridge seems a bit taller. I've switched back to my Flite Ti for now.

Similar Products Used:

Flite SLR, Flite Ti Classic, Flite Gel, Sepcialized Body Geometry Gel

[Apr 09, 2007]
Bob
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Tough ,light,shape is just right.Not for fatassed posers,though.

Weakness:

Well,I wish it had tiny rockets in the back that you could fire during the final sprint.

This saddle is perfect if you have a decent chamois to go with it.The shape is spot on.I had an SLR that I just coulod not live with.This baby is jusst right,with no pressure points,and it has been in the rain,still looks good after 2 years.

Similar Products Used:

Flite SLR(killed me,I sold it)Bassano,Fizik,etc,etc,

[Sep 09, 2006]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Light, comfortable, well made.

Weakness:

None

I've read the other posts, and the ones where the remarks talk about the hardness of the saddle surprise me. I ride on very bumpy roads; old Texas Hill Country back roads that beat the wheels up, and are so rough that when I moved here I thought something terrible had happened to my frame. The very limited edition Selle Italia PCM saddle I loved so much on the smooth roads of my former home, just beat the snot out of me where I now live. I had the TT in the box for almost 2 years when, out of desperation, I put it on my Trek OCLV, and was surprised to find out just how nice this saddle is. From the shape, the flex, the power position, this is as nice a saddle as my old Turbo, as my Flite Gel. As wonderful as my PCM was on smooth roads, this TT is on the bumpy ones.

Similar Products Used:

Selle Italia Flite, Flite SLR (this was a sharp-edged uncomfortable saddle), Flite Gel, Turbo, Fi zak

[Apr 14, 2005]
danielc
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Lightweight and quite durable. The titanium rails and carbon shell help dissipate road vibrations but I think there are more forgiving saddles out there.

Weakness:

That cool looking suede pretty much goes away after a few rides, my saddle has a shiny black leather feel to it now. The sides of the nose are wearing out from pedalling friction.

I like the shape and angles of the saddle but I'm thinking that I will probably switch to one with a cutout to relieve some pressure. I don't like tilting my saddles and prefer them levelled on my seatpost so I tend to spend more time on my hoods. I'm quite flexible and would rather ride on my drops but the rigidity of the saddle creates some pressure down there. On shorter rides, this isn't a problem but as I'm riding more and more, I think it would be better to have a cutout. I have a slightly indented saddle on my rain bike and I don't have pressure problems when I'm riding in the drops.

Similar Products Used:

Specialized saddles

[Sep 17, 2004]
sc235813
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Stunning style

Weakness:

Like sitting on a cinder block

All I can say is "ouch." Absolutely beautiful to look at, but like a lot of beautiful things, it's an abosolute pain. Hard as a rock. Only for the young.

Similar Products Used:

San Marco Aspide and Concor (dated), Selle Italia Flite, SLR, Fizik Poggio

[Jan 02, 2004]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Light, Flite Shape

Weakness:

Not enough comfort for serious riding

I was a flite Ti user looking to lose a few grams. Tried the SLR which soon gave me saddle sores from pushing back against the sharp edge. So tried the Flite TT - the sharp edge of the SLR was gone but the stiff base material and minimal passing caused me to feel every small bump. Went back to the Flite Ti to gauge difference and immediately knew that the Flite TT would go up for sale - the nylon base of the Flite Ti is likely the ace it holds over the TT (and the SPR for that matter too)

Similar Products Used:

Flite Ti, SLR, Concor Light

[Oct 26, 2003]
johnsocj
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

I enjoy the grippiness of the leather, it's not slippery, nor is it catching. Light, minimalist, comfortable enough for my application.

Weakness:

Minimalist, stiff. I ride this saddle on the velodrome. I couldn't imagine using this on a road ride. Ouch! It's a specialist saddle. Short crits, time trials, the track... in short, you wont see this in the Tour.

I must admit, I bought this saddle soley on lust value. The suede style leather and minimist shell with the fast looking graphics just plain looked cool, and looks great on my track bike. Overall, it's light, firm, and the Flight shape suits my rear end just fine.

Similar Products Used:

SI Flight, Flight ti, and Trans Am.

[Apr 24, 2003]
Eric Maas
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Stiff, super light, and great race saddle.

Weakness:

It is wayless comfortable than the original Flite.

Much stiffer than the original flite, and much lighter, took me about 15 miles to get used to it, and overall I rather like it. It is perfect for a race saddle, not an everyday saddle. It holds the flite shape, and it sits slightly lower, but is much lighter.

Similar Products Used:

Original Flite

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.