Selle Italia Max Flite Gel Flow Saddles

Best Price At

DESCRIPTION

Selle Italia's MAX FLITE Gel Flow uses a suspension system that gives all-over cushioning without any moving mechanical parts. Inserting the rail into a wing located on each side of the saddle creates suspension in the rear of the saddle. With extra gel p

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 15  
[Jul 09, 2012]
Ele

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Nice quality and ride - if it fits you.
Relitively inexpensive for a performance saddle. Comfortable. 290g weight.

Weakness:

Could use longer saddle rails.

My first impression was, "wow, this saddle is hard!" I thought for sure I'd send it back to Amazon. A few days later, however, the Bontrager InForm saddle I ordered a earlier had arrived. I eagerly opened the box, unwrapped the goods and quickly installed. Only moments into the test ride I immediately thought, "wow, I guess that Max Flite saddle was pretty good after all!"

The Selle Max Flite Saddle is definitely well made. Nice leather, good cushioning, flexy yet firm shell. My only gripes about it are:
1) - it could be a little wider, or at least offered in a wider size, maybe a 153mm wide version – like the Turbomatic.
2) - the saddle rails could be 5mm longer in the rear. Due to my preferred longer crank arm length I quickly discovered that I ran out saddle rail - the saddle is slid as far forward as the rails allow and could still use a little more - the seat posts clamps rear edge is right up against the saddle rails rear "max line". The saddle defiantly has an unusual saddle rail configuration. Be aware though, swapping out our 20mm setback seatpost for a 10mm or 0mm setback seatpost would solve that issue, so it's not really an issue.

The verdict:
Absolutely try before you buy! It's a nice saddle and the 290g weight isn’t even an issue. It's well made, comfortable when you find its "sweet-spot" and a bargain at $135.

[May 14, 2012]
bill asprelli
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

none to me

Weakness:

hard saddle

maybe good for around 10 miles or so.. but after that forget it .. its actually one of the most painful ive tried so far.. before you spend the money make sure you can bring it back with no questions asked..!

[Nov 20, 2011]
optonj
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Wide and flat for good sit bone support. Wide enough cut out to allow the perineal nerves and blood vessels to remain unsquished.

Weakness:

A bit heavy.
A bit spendy.

I have tried numerous saddles as I have kept getting numbness in all the wrong places. The specialized romin came the closest but I could still get numb while hunkered down on hard efforts and I never had great comfort.

I have gone on two 35 mile rides and two one hour sessions on the trainer and not a hint of numbness on the Max Flite Gel.
Even though it is a gel it is plenty firm and I am slowly breaking it in. It has gotten progressively more comfortable. Its about 60g heavier than my previous saddle but it is static weight, no big deal.

Similar Products Used:

Specialied romin, toupe, avatar, phenom. Selle italia flite (not wide enough). Selle SMP Glider. Fizik Aliante.

[Aug 28, 2011]
Luis Borque
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Comfortable for long rides no numbness and gets even better with time, very durable

Weakness:

A bit heavy (not a major issue when you ride long distance)

Had this saddle for 2 years on a modified Titanium bike fully equipped with XTR components and top Mavic ceramic wheels, the saddle is comfortable and compatible with my rear end I find I can ride up to 100 miles without any significant discomfort and never felt numbness in the genital area which I find more important than weight. I also have used the Selle Italia Turbomatic Team (carbon rails)on both my Cannondale bikes and found it superior to the Gel flow Max in terms of general comfort although I still use the Gel Flow Max on my commuter bike previously described, in all cases the saddles become more comfortable over time, I rode up to 130 miles on my SuperX Sram Red with the Turbomatic, and felt more than satisfied with the saddle, the original was a Fizik Tundra which was horrible and extremely uncomfortable. I tried the Fizik Aliante on my Rize 2 Lefty and couldn’t get comfortable after 30 minutes of riding although it is a nice looking saddle, for me after trying several saddles over the last 7 years it comes down to 2 options, the Gel Flow Max or the Turbomatic Team, both are very durable and only the letters have faded.

Similar Products Used:

Fizik Aliante, Fizik Tundra, WTB Pure V

[Mar 01, 2011]
Dekamate
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Very comfortable for a road bike saddle, looks great and so far is helping the whole perineum situation of numbness and blood flow. Men, look after your perineum!!

Weakness:

Only thing is that it doesn't look as sleek as some saddles do, it's fairly big. But I'd rather have comfort and used of my junk than have a slick looking bike.

Had the original saddle on my bike when I got it 4 months ago. Bike is 11 years old so it was pretty hard and made my seat bone ache after longer rides.
I researched Selle Italia saddles after a recommendation from a friend to get a Gel seat. Was going to get the C2 as it was cheaper but read reviews that it squeaked and got uncomfortable on longer rides. Many had upgraded to this one.
Had it a week so far and after adjusting the height its really really good

Similar Products Used:

The brick that came with my old bike

[Jun 09, 2010]
noemis
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5

Ride for 3000km now love that seat try other saddle but the best is Selle Italia Max Flite try on some 80 km and one 140 km it is very confortable just order a new one for my second bike very satisfy

[Apr 26, 2010]
tuffguy1500
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Comfort Comfort Comfort!!! It also looks good in white when paired with white bar tape

Weakness:

If it has one, it's weight. Non issue for me on a steel bike, and since I put one on my Tri bike, The comfort is worth the extra few grams

I'm surprised that I havent reviewed this saddle yet!! I recommend it on any post in the forum about saddles, so here's my take on it: I bought this to replace an selle san marco, and within the first few seconds of sitting on it, my arse fell in love with it. I have since put 3000+ miles on it with my original bike, and recently purchased a second bike, and a second SI Max Flite GF. IT reigns supreme in comfort, and as a commuter, the shock absorbing "suspended rails" really do the trick.

Similar Products Used:

selle san marco SMP, Bontrager, Selle Italia Q-bik.

[Apr 25, 2010]
Tommy Walker
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Looks great, comfortable, I feel I can stay on it for a lot of miles.

Weakness:

none

Had the saddle for a while, but finally put it on last month. After several long rides I have determined it is a great saddle. I wanted it mainly to upgrade the rails from chromoly to vannox, but find the saddle very comfortable and that's what counts.

Similar Products Used:

Specialized Avitar

[Mar 17, 2010]
James Hamm
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Comfort, shock absorbin, build quality, appearance

Weakness:

None

I've been on at least six different saddles in the last 18 months. Each solved one thing but developed another. In frustration, I bought this saddle to see if the claims were right and I have to admit this saddle is amazing. After 20 min the leather scuffed up enough so I stopped sliding and then I just rode, rode and rode some more. The width was not too much, its not overly padded, the shape is dead on and all the sensations is my package area" has gone away completely. I was never able to ride past 60 miles and on the second ride I pushed 80 on this seat. I cannot give a stronger recommendation for any piece of equipment more than I can this saddle. It takes the edge off rough pavement, is all day comfortable, looks great and that weight penalty isn't a penalty at all. Weight means nothing if you can't sit on the bike for long.

Similar Products Used:

ISM Adamo, Ritche Sweep, Shimano Pro, Bontrager

[Dec 03, 2009]
party boy
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

comfort, price since it was on sale

Weakness:

HEAVY!!!300-310g, looks(looks so bulky, but no matter you'll be sitting on it all day anyway and wont be seen, except for its backside when you pass the other riders)

bought it since it was a bargain, thinking saddles would be a hit or miss anyway. fortunately it was a hit! very comfortable, lets put it this way, SLR for me is like sitting on a piece of 2x4 wood, max gel is like lazyboy

Similar Products Used:

selle italia flite, SLR

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.