Selle Italia Max Flite Trans Am Saddles

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 10  
[Apr 28, 2009]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Very comfortable for either short or long rides. Not too hard and not too soft. Just the right shape for me.

Weakness:

A little heavy.

This is the best road saddle I have owned since I began serious road riding 30 years ago. I have this saddle on all my road bikes (see below for details) I suggest everyone try one before they are discontinued.

Similar Products Used:

I have tried about a dozen other brand saddles.

[Jun 19, 2007]
stickney
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Width, flat top, not too much padding, cutout. Looks nice.

Weakness:

None so far.

I purchased this saddle after several sit bone measurements and realizing that there aren't many non-Brooks saddles out there that are wide (150 mm plus). This model comes in at 153 mm, and has been quite good for me. I also have a Brooks B-17 which is nice, but I wanted a slightly "racier" saddle for my road bike (ridiculous cause you don't see the saddle when riding). So far it has performed very well.

Similar Products Used:

Brook B-17, Fizik Arione, Specialized Body Geometry.

[Jun 01, 2007]
Veronikafan
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

trendy design

Weakness:

One man's meat is another man's poison

The sheer number of different saddle designs on the market is testament to the fact that comfort of the bike's contact points (bars, saddle, pedals, shoes) vary tremendously from rider to rider. Every review is totally subjective. However, I need to go on record over this one.
I've been riding the Turbomatic for years, and find that my crotch sometimes starts to get sore after about 4 hours in the saddle. So, I decided to try the Max Flite Trans Am. To make the story short, I rode this saddle for two short rides, and nearly crippled myself. This saddle is too wide at the back, too soft all over, and the cutout arrangement is tortuous. I felt like my perineum was getting squeezed down through the hole in the saddle, and had the welts to prove it. The edges of the cutout, cut into my crotch so bad that I had a ring of bruises down there for days afterwards.
I'm back on my old reliable Turbomatic, which is dissapears under me, at least for the first 60 miles.

Similar Products Used:

Avocet Racing, Selle Italia Turbo, Turbomatic

[May 29, 2007]
David
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

width

Weakness:

loud, loud, loud creaking

Not the saddle for a bigger people

I bought this saddle for it's wide platform. I am 200+ lbs and wanted a saddle that was as wide as me. The problem is that the saddle flexes so much that it is creaking loudly all of the time. I sent it back to Selle Italia and they put new rails in the saddle, but the noise is as loud as ever. It is so annoying that I took it off and I am going to look into an Arione. I spent a bundle and never really got to use the saddle.

Similar Products Used:

Arione's, San Marco Regal's, Regular Flite saddles

[Sep 12, 2005]
otoman
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

High quality - flat seams, good leather. "Suspension" does take out some road buzz. It would be a must-have for any aluminum road bike.

Weakness:

Weight, but this is a minor complaint. A lot of other saddles are heavier...

I think I got ripped off by the LBS, but I guess I'm "supporting the local race scene" or whatever. Anyway, the saddle is very comfortable. I had used a Selle Italia XO gel saddle with no cutout before. It was pretty good and I had put about 4000 miles on it. When I got the Max Flite, though, I noticed that I could get my back a lot more flat when on the drops because of the cutout. It is a very comfortable saddle. It is a bit heavy - I noticed the difference when I first picked up my bike with it on. However, the 75 gram or so difference is more than offset with the comfort of the cutout and the pseudo-suspension it offers. I have raced on it and done all day foundation mile rides without by butt complaining one bit.

Similar Products Used:

Selle Italia XO Selle Italia Turbo various Selle San Marco

[May 06, 2005]
dagger
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Quality construction. Great value. Good shock absorbtion.

Weakness:

Not for riders heavier than I am because they will overcome the suspension and flex.

Ok...THis is a RE-review. After purchase I loved the saddle and then hated it because basically I was too heavy for it. I bought the saddle because I have wide seat bones. The reason for the Re-do is that I have lost some weight and went back to the saddle because it was a really well made saddle and I had to give it another try. Currently just over 200 lbs. Now I love the saddle and because it does fit well I feel it gives a bit more power being seated properly on the saddle. Had to experiment with saddle adjustments to get it dialed in and now I am very happy with the fit. I can sit up on climb and spin from a very stable platform or lean down on the flats when I am rouling without too much perenial numbness. I also ride with max tire pressure of 130 and the suspension handles the bumps. The suspension did not work well when my weight was higher. I believe as I continue to lose more weight the saddle will only get better. The value rating gets a 5 due to how well it is made.

Similar Products Used:

Koobi, Trek, Bontrager

[Apr 12, 2005]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Comfort.

Weakness:

If you say "weight" then you're not logging in enough miles.

This is simply hte most comfotable saddle I've ever ridden. I've tried the Flite, the Turbomatic, the SLR, the new Signo (all from Selle Italia); and they are good, but nothing like the Max Flite Gel Flow (formerly known as the MF Trans Am). The saddle of choice for many pros such as Julich, Zabel, Vino, and more.

[May 26, 2004]
jdmorris
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Flat rear platform. High quality construction. Bump absorbing suspension.

Weakness:

HEAVY. Goofy cutout that I don't need.

This seat works for me without fail. I have wider sit bones that are comfy on the flat and wide rear of the saddle. The nose of the saddle is the familiar flite style that works very well for me. The suspension system works amazingly compared to a standard saddle. I wish it had less padding and no goofy cutout but the suspension and flat-backed shape (the flite has a more domed shape). I'm 5'8" and have ridden the bike at 185lbs all the way down to my current 145lbs and ride between 150 and 300 miles a week.

Similar Products Used:

SI Flite Ti, SI Turbomatic, SM ERA

[Oct 17, 2003]
NOJ
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Not too flashy which is cool unless you're really into the carnival bike thing. easy to move around on & easy on the sit bones. It's a seat and all I want is to forget about it when I ride, which I can do until it creaks...

Weakness:

heavier than it needs to be, and after a year of use the shell flexes enough that the sides rub on the seatpost and CREAK, which is maddening when you're on a hot, tiring climb! All saddles are too much for what you get anyway, $60 would be more realistic.

Not the lightest but not very heavy either- came out to 276g on my scale. Decent padding, taint cut-out, enough shell flex for comfort.

Similar Products Used:

Flite classic, Flite genuine gel

[Oct 12, 2003]
Bruce
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

Light weight, comfortable

Weakness:

Gets expensive buying new shorts every ride.

Rode it twice, ruined two pair of shorts in as many rides. Stupid seam where my cheeks contact the saddle wore a hole through shorts in less than 10 miles on both rides. Returned for refund.

Similar Products Used:

Body Geometry Comp (loved it)

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.