Selle Italia Max Flite Saddles

DESCRIPTION

  • "INTEGRAL SUSPENSION saddle"

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-10 of 11  
    [Nov 15, 2007]
    sevendy
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    Strength:

    Right out of the box, this was the best looking, most comfortable saddle I've every ridden on: beautiful, bright yellow perforated glove-soft leather; wide, flat profile with supple gel padding; a perfectly placed and shaped cutout (it really works, and it's cheaper than Viagra); flexible suspension wings that lets the shell flex over bumps and pivot with each pedal stoke. What more could you ask for in a saddle?

    Weakness:

    The best saddle ever...until you actually put a dozen miles on it. One ride, and the beautiful yellow paint--yes, thick, rubbery paint--failed. Within a hundred miles, the coating had worn completely away in spots--right down to the raw leather! Half a year later, and the acne continues to spread--it looks like crap, and the flecks of yellow embedded in my shorts doesn't look too hot, either. But then again, it might not look too bad much longer...because the cover is peeling off the shell! You would think that Selle Italia would have found a glue to secure leather to plastic after all this time, but apparently they don't have access to American hardware stores (contact cement stopped the rot). And that's not all: just a couple of weeks ago, I discovered that the rails are too close to the edge of the narrow nose of the shell, which now shows signs of bottoming out on the post clamp (and I'm not a chunky guy). Now I know why you can't sell Fiats in this county.

    But...it IS the most comfortable saddle out there.

    This review is for the Gel Flow variant, with the center cutout and gel padding:

    I can say, without trying to be cute, that this is both the best and the worst saddle I have used.

    Similar Products Used:

    Like everyone, I've tried many saddles.

    [Dec 16, 2006]
    Anonymous
    Commuter

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Comfortable, large enough for a big guy, good padding, stylish, bomb proof.

    Weakness:

    None.

    Great saddle. Looking around now, the saddle doesn't sell for less than $80, but even for that, I'd pay it. One of the big problems with being a bigger guy (I'm around 200 lbs) is that unless you want to go throught the bother of wearing padded shorts, most race or road saddles hurt. Further, I don't have bike shorts; I ride mainly in Dickies. That said, this saddle is heaven. I have the flow edition and it is the most comfortable seat I've ever had. I had it on a fixed gear for about a year before I changed it to a track bike. Then my girlfriend started to hate her seat, so I gave it to her and she loved it. I have it back again and my precious will never again leave my sights.

    Similar Products Used:

    Fizik Pave, San Marco Concor Light, E3 Form, Selle Italie Nitro, Selle Italie Turbomatic.

    [Oct 31, 2006]
    BillC
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Suspension takes the edge off less than ideal roads.
    Light.
    Good Value.
    Well made.

    Weakness:

    Must be comfortable with the Flite shape.

    I never really fell in love with the Flite, but did take more to this variation. The padding seems a little thicker than the Flite and I have no doubt the suspension helps over washboard, road seams, etc.

    Similar Products Used:

    Selle Italia Flite

    [Jul 04, 2006]
    Anonymous
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    Strength:

    Very durable. In-seem helped with numbness.

    Weakness:

    Padding and shape made this seat very uncomfortable for me.

    While the suspension mechanism and quality of chraftsmanship are good I found the seat to be very uncomfortable. After 30 mile rides I could not ride the next day because my butt would be too soar.

    Similar Products Used:

    Bonetrager stock(bad also).... my search continues

    [Oct 11, 2005]
    brblue
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    High quality Weight is ok Once you dial in, you cand forget all the bumps and potholes in the road

    Weakness:

    I've found it difficult to addapt to the saddle. I still have a lot of setting up to do

    The review is for Max Flite: I find this saddle's quality very good. No manufacturing flaws and the elastomers do their job. I've found it quite different from the Flite Titanium i have used before: On the Titanium I sat about at the middle of the saddle. Because of the round shape(from side to side) of the Max Flite, I must sit way back to avoid numbness. It's something I still have to adapt my position to. Trying to use the Max Flite with the setup of the old Flite resulted in quite painful experiences.

    Similar Products Used:

    Flite Titanium, no name low end saddles

    [Feb 12, 2003]
    ArturN
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Build quality, overall confort

    Weakness:

    Weight ? But we can save weight in other and more crucial areas.

    About the Trans Am Gel Flow version, In 13 years of bicycling ( road and mountain ) I have used so many saddles that I can´t remember all of them. However some of them stay in my " Oscar Awards" for reliability, confort and quality. The Max Flite Transam GelFlow is one of them. As anyone knows, saddles are the most personal piece of equipment we have in our bikes and therefore, what suits to me may not suit to others. The MaxFlite is indeed a very confortable saddle and the "suspension effect" that it has due to the "wings " on the rear and the shockabsorber on the front, does make a difference in very long road rides, absorbing very efficiently road vibrations. The shape of the saddle is also good , although a bit "flat" due to the extra padding and gel inserts, but nothing boring. However, this is not a "soft" saddle, is a very firm one but confortable on the long run. Fine adjustments are necessary but is easy to achieve the perfect riding /efficient position on the bike. Quality is superb - the leather is very nice and of good quality, and there are no uncomfortable embroyderies. And the price is very good for so much quality and confort.

    Similar Products Used:

    Flite,San Marco Arami,SLR,Titec Bersekr,Mythos, etc...

    [Nov 21, 2002]
    Dinosaur
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Wider than the other Flite saddles, no embroidery to wear out your riding shorts. Smooth leather surface, well made, good quaility. Best strength is the price I paid for it ($27.00 including tax and shipping).

    Weakness:

    Can't think of any. Saddles are a personal thing, what works for one, might not work for someone else.

    Purchased this on a whim as my Selle Italia Flite Gel was starting to show some wear. I was very pleased. It's wider than the other Flite saddles and has a little more padding. It's flat and has a smooth leather surface with no embroidery. There is an inseam down the middle joining the two different colors (red/black). I don't know if this seam is on the solid color Max Flites (I can't feel it). This is the same saddle as the MAX Flite Trans Am but with no cut-out. I dialed it right in using the old setting for my Flite Gel and I had to drop the saddle height probably about 1mm as it sits higher due to the extra padding. I like this saddle. I'd like it better if it was solid black, but it dials in with the paint scheme of my Colnogo Robobank.

    Similar Products Used:

    Fizik Pave (too narrow) Selle Italia Flite Gel (wore out too fast) Brooks Team Pro (too heavy)

    [Nov 10, 2002]
    DaveG
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    suspension dampens road bumps quality construction junk-saving cutout

    Weakness:

    Much wider than regular Flite unnecessary embroidery may cause irritation

    This review is for the TransAm (cutout) version of the Max Flite saddle. I really wanted to like this saddle, but it just did not suit me. Overall, the shape was just too wide and flat for me and I just could not find a comfortable spot on the saddle. The quality of the saddle is impressive, with nice leather and solid construction. The suspension system worked well. If you have wider sit bones, this saddle may work well for you.

    Similar Products Used:

    Specialized Body Geometry Comp Flite Flite Gel San Marco Rolls Ti

    [Apr 15, 2002]
    HepaFilter
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Shock absorbtion Narrow nose

    Weakness:

    Slightly heavy

    I have this saddle on my spare bike. I have a Flite ti Gel on my regular bike. It''s a little more forgiving than the Flite Ti Gel (which I love; it get''s more comfortable with use), and comfortable. I don''t think the Flite''s are always suitable for recreational cyclists, since they don''t tend to ride as hard and don''t have as much of their weight supported by the legs. If you''re riding hard, you don''t have that much weight on the saddle. I like the slender nose; it keeps the saddle out of the way of my legs.

    Similar Products Used:

    Selle Italia Turbo Juliana Race Day Brooks (ouch) Flite Ti Flite Ti Gel

    [Jun 15, 2001]
    Anonymous
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    That great "Flite" shape; decent shock absorbtion; good sliding leather

    Weakness:

    Wish it had a kevlar back--but that wouldn't be an issue if I didn't crash; Finish on leather wears on the sides, but I've had this thing for a while.

    I didn't even hesitate--When I got my new Cannondale...I just moved my old saddle over 'til I get a new one...just like it! Don't think I want to go for the "Trans-Am" version--This one's got all the comfort I need.

    Similar Products Used:

    Wide variety, but not recently--I like this saddle too much.

    Roadbikereview Newsletter

    Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

    THE SITE

    ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

    VISIT US AT

    © Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.