Selle Italia Prolink GelFlow Saddles

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-9 of 9  
[Jul 28, 2007]
Lee
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Reasonably light. Seemed fairly comfortable.

Weakness:

A bit heavy. Peeling leather. Plenty of other folks have had unkind things to say on this forum.

This is for the SL version of the saddle that Performance has on sale right now.

I found this saddle unacceptable as well, but for different reasons than the others. I only rode it 3 times. In that time I did not have squeaking issues, nor carbon pealing. I took some 600 grit wet dry and lightly sanded the carbon suspension (front) to remove any burrs to prevent damage to my shorts.

What I experienced, surprisingly, was that the leather began to "peel". Basically the smooth exterior layer began to come off like peeling skin from a sunburn. I've had a lot of SI saddles (perhaps 20 inall) and that is a new one, especially after three rides (all on lycra racing shorts). Back she goes. I replaced it with a Flite Gelflow that Colorado Cyclist had on sale. I like the overall feel of it a bit better anyway.

As to comfort, it felt pretty good. Especially for TT, the drop nose is ok. But, there seem to be too many quality control issues on this item to recommend it to anyone, at any price. Sorry.

Similar Products Used:

About a million of 'em. All time favorite is Selle Italia Flite Gel.

[Nov 23, 2004]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Comfort

Weakness:

Poor overall design

I wished I had known about the saddle before I spent $250 replacing tights that wore through because of a burr that wears away at the seat of the tights. It took me 3 pairs of tights to realize what the problem was -- the burr on the "carbon" rail. For some reason the problem didn't happen with shorts -- maybe there's more "give" since tights pull from the lower leg and shorts can ride up. Saddle is otherwise comfortable on even the longer rides.

Similar Products Used:

Terry Dragonfly

[Aug 04, 2004]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

fairly comfy

Weakness:

The saddle is the sworn enemy of shorts, and tries to eat them.

Do not, repeat, do not get this saddle. Two reasons: 1) the rails are made to look like carbon, but they are not, its just painted on to look the part; and 2) they have a weird design flaw: at the front and back of the rail is a junction with elastomer. Unfortunately, when the elastomer was poured into the mold, it left a seam on the side. Right at the junction between rail and elastomer, this seam has a very small burr on each side. Now, I didn't figure all this out until that little burr on each side gradually (over 1.5 weeks) ate its way through my nice Castelli bib shorts (which I didn't notice happening until I felt a draft down there). Needless to say, I was a bit upset. This saddle (literally) chaps my hide.

Similar Products Used:

Selle Italia Gel Flite, San Marco Arami

[Jul 02, 2004]
Anonymous
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

carbon rails, vibration damining is superb you might as well have mountain shocks on that is how smoth it is, cutout and fit allows no pressure on prostate area and tail bones rest very nicely and firmly on saddle.

Weakness:

weight is over 300 grams but worth it!

This saddle is a quantum leap in saddle technologies and Selle Italia is to be commended for it. People say that everyone has there own favorite. I would strongly recommend this saddle to ALL!

Similar Products Used:

selle italia century

[Apr 22, 2004]
Fogdweller
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Cool looking design when looking at the saddle from the top.

Weakness:

Cheesy looking design when viewed from the bottom or side. Heavier than most saddles and is difficult to find a longterm comfort position. If your heart is set one of these, find a deal on it. Don't pay full price on something that will most likely disappoint. For me, this isn't a distance saddle. It's better for the shorter cafe rides on the weekends.

This is probably the best 30 mile saddle I've ever owned. Mile 31 is a different story. I road the same Concore for about 15 years and new I wanted another Sella Italia but this saddle has a very small sweet spot that is fairly comfortable but makes it difficult to get comfortable on long climbs where you tend to sit back further, and in the drops when you want to be slightly forward. I always felt like I was slipping forward on this saddle so I tried running it slightly nose up which was better but created its own set of discomforts. Did a century on it which was a mistake. Short rails take away your fore-aft adjustment and the small plastic "aero" tab on the front underside looks kind of cheesy. The saddle is pretty heavy for one that boasts carbon rails (I think they might just be decal coated, not sure but that would add to the cheese factor if true). I've ridden the saddle for about a year now and the leather had worn in several areas. I finally stole the Terry Fly off of my mt bike and put this one on the bench. If it fits, wear it but I think it's a pretty expensive saddle for comfort it gives.

Similar Products Used:

Terry Fly Ti

[Jan 18, 2004]
dkt
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Attractive. Wears well.

Weakness:

Short rails. Creaks. Stiched seams on the cover. ...

I was looking for a saddle with a cutout, this one seemed to have some nice features. I put a lot of miles on this saddle and I can't stand it anymore. It CREAKS like crazy. It's got these novel little shock absorbers between the rails and the seat but the bolts stripped. Attaching a bag is cumbersome. It chafes me, even after several months of use. It's got stiched seams on the side that will cause excessive wear to your bike shorts. Don't.

Similar Products Used:

flite gel

[Dec 09, 2003]
old wheelsucker
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Comfort comfort comfort!!!!

Weakness:

Short rails

After riding Flite Gel for 5+ years I moved to this saddle for the "relief"!!! Since it is winter here in Canada I'm on the trainer! So many hours in the saddle with little movement! The GREAT news is once this saddle is in the sweet spot it is gentle on the butt! Even old worn out shorts now are good to go! Would recommend to any 40+ rider looking for cut out relief!

Similar Products Used:

Flite Gel

[Oct 22, 2003]
Mac
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Selle Italia quality, firm, comfortable ride, good vibration absorbtion, cutout seems to work

Weakness:

Width may not be a good fit for lighter people

Haven't got many miles on this one yet, but since there aren't many reviews out on this saddle, I thought I'd put my two cents in. This is subject to change, but so far this saddle is a very good fit for me. Being 200+ lbs, the extra width is a plus for me. The slight curve in the nose seems to agree with me in all but the drop position, but that seems to be getting better. The rails are shorter than some saddles that I've had, but it works for me in the center position, so it's not an issue. I had an easier time finding the sweet spot on this one than with the Flite Trams AM, just seemed to settle into it. The Carbon/Ti/Prolink system does seem to soak up a lot of the road vibration, and while I wouldn't call the seat soft, it does have a comfortable firm flex. I'm giving this a four out of five just because I haven't put enough miles on it to really judge it, but for now, it's been a good investment.

Similar Products Used:

S.I. Flite Trams Am, Terry, various stock saddles

[Oct 17, 2003]
Capn Crunch
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Cutout. The perforated material where the gel is located offers nice grip on the shorts. Moderate comfort

Weakness:

Small sweet spot. Short rails (which is why I'm giving it a score of 3).

I recently purchased this saddle because I needed a cut-out to help with a prostate problem. Every saddle is going to fit everyone different, so here is my spin on the Prolink. I knew that a new saddle would take time getting used to, and I believe it takes at least a couple of weeks of riding before you can judge most saddles. I've been riding this for just over a month and have about 400 miles on it. I initially noticed the sitbone sensation at the rear of the saddle that other reviewers have noted. It wasn't painful, it was more of a new feeling and somewhat annoying. After messing around with the fore and aft postion, this has become less of an annoyance. I have found that this saddle has a very small "sweet spot", and once you find it, it is somewhat comfortable. The sweet spot is so small, that finding comfort riding with my hands on the hoods as well as on the tops is sometimes difficult. I do really like the cutout and would recommend a cut out saddle to anyone looking for prostate or numbing relief. The faux carbon rails are cheesy, and I really don't care one way or another about how they look, but more important they are very short-- limiting the fore and aft postions on the seatpost. I had to use an old seatpost (American Classic) so that I could move the saddle forward enough. Note: compression type seatposts, such as the USE Alien, will more than likely tear the plastic coating off of the rails. I did notice that this saddle does tend to take a little bit of the buzz out of the roadway, especially on chip-sealed roads. I don't know if this is the elastomer rail mounts or the gel. In either case is was noticable but I wouldn't get overly excited about it. All and all, it's an o.k./good saddle. It seems to offer me the relief I need and isn't killing my backside. So, I will more than likely keep using it. Who knows, maybe a year from now I won't want to give it up. I tried the Prolinks cousing, the Flite, on two separate occassions and it just doesn't work for my poor arse.

Similar Products Used:

Flite, Fizik Aliante, Terry Zero

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.