Selle Italia PROLINK Saddles

DESCRIPTION

  • "Composite" Frame, Realized In Carbon And Titanium
  • Shock-Absorber System, Placed Between The Frame And Shell

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-10 of 56  
    [Feb 08, 2010]
    Phil
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Comfort, great build quality, good for long distant rides.

    Weakness:

    Probubly too heavy for a lean 14 lbs race bike, but will work well on all others.

    Just went for a 40 mile ride and have to say that this saddle offers comfort and grip. I'm not sliding all over the place like I am on my Selle Italia Gel Flow Max Team Edition. That saddle is slippery.

    The prolink took about one short ride to get used to. After that I didn't even notice it. I have to say it is very comfortable. Didn't even notice it.

    I'm a heavy rider weighing in at 240 lbs and fast downhill slow up hill. This saddle works great.

    Similar Products Used:

    Selle Italia Gel Flow Max Team Edition. Specialized Toupe (also very comfortable)

    [Jul 21, 2009]
    Anonymous
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    2
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    soft and flexible...

    Weakness:

    too flexible leading to sliding around...

    This is a review for the Selle Italia prolink flow (with cutout). I found this saddle a little too flexible for me and I often slipped off the wider part into the dip in the middle, which meant my weight was not on my sit bones but instead on the sensitive underside of things. I tried this saddle to avoid putting too much weight on the perineum, but the sliding down meant all my weight was often there. I've since switched to a prologo nago pas--a hard flat saddle. It is still not perfect but better since I got used to it.

    Similar Products Used:

    bontrager race, prologo

    [Dec 29, 2005]
    jimijoe
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    COMFORT, COMFORT COMFORT

    Weakness:

    weight Wieghs nearly 430 grams.

    I brought this saddle after riding a friends bike that had it (Prolink Tran Am). Instantly I fell in love with the fit and feel. However I am taking it off my Ghisallo becuase I want to lighten the bike.

    Similar Products Used:

    flight, O2, Kobbie

    [Jun 13, 2005]
    Anonymous
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Pretty light, very refined shape, no leg rub at rear of saddle, nose is long enough, construction excellent, smooth surface, cut-out works.

    Weakness:

    A bit longer would have been better for me; I'm 6'3". Not to complain; for most people I'd say this is an excellent shape.

    The Pro-link Trans Am (with cutout) has been surprisingly comfortable for a modern, skinny & fairly light saddle; better than a Flite or Aliante for me. Shape is excellent, construction first rate. It flexes a bit but not too much. I've tried probably 50 saddles; this one is a keeper. It is comfortable enough for touring.

    Similar Products Used:

    Koobi(my current favorite), Flite, Fizik Aliante, Regal, dozens more; the ones I've listed are the best....

    [Nov 27, 2004]
    Anonymous
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    Strength:

    Elastometers are great. Fit and finish are typically high Selle Italia quality.

    Weakness:

    Carbon fiber wrap flakes off easily.

    I've been a loyal Flite rider for years, but on my Cannondale was just getting beat up too much and was swayed by the "shock absorbing" pads in the Prolink. The good news is I was impressed with the pads. There was a slight, but noticable improvement. However, the carbon on the rails is rather lame, and though I use a Thomson post (the best) I have had issues with the carbon flaking off. I also have not liked the overall fit of the saddle. It is slightly wider than the Flite (which I like) but the recess in the middle makes for awkward fitting. I have tended to angle the nose up to avoid sliding to the middle of the saddle. Overall good quality (except for the carbon fiber on the rails), but not the saddle for me.

    Similar Products Used:

    Specialized Body Geometry, Selle Italia Flite (many!).

    [Jul 04, 2004]
    Anonymous
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Good flex, good shock absorption, really soft once it breaks in. Plus it looks really cool from the back.

    Weakness:

    A little bit heavy--this is the reason it gets 4 stars instead of five.

    This saddle is definitely the most comfortable road saddle I have used. There is not a great amount of padding, but it flexes a good amount. The smooth streamlined design makes it comfortable without a chamois too. I appreciate the lack of stitching and ineffective "genuine gel" patches that lead to chafing. The store I got it from had taken it off of a sold bike and gave the buyer a $15 dollar credit. The store, in turn, sold me the saddle for $15 dollars. Mad props to CS&C.

    Similar Products Used:

    Selle Italia XO Genuine Gel, Salsa Zona Tres, SDG Bel-Air

    [Apr 01, 2004]
    cjw
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    Strength:

    padding where it matters, works for my backside!

    Weakness:

    vibration dampening mechanism looks like a gimmick to me

    After a few months trying to break in an over-embroydered Selle Genuine Gel and suffereing numbness every time I cycled for more than an hour, I can only say that the Prolink is luxury in comparison.

    Similar Products Used:

    Selle Genuine Gel

    [Mar 05, 2004]
    Anonymous
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    Strength:

    The only important strength for a saddle is comfort. If it's not comfortable, nothing else matters. Who cares what it looks like, how durable it is, or how much it costs if you can't ride on it.

    Weakness:

    It's not comfortable. Severely. Raised Logos on sides are a bad idea. Connecting the saddle to the rails immediately under the sit bones and perineum is a bad idea

    PAIN! PAIN! PAIN! I typically ride 100 - 200 miles per week, and prefer rides of 50+ miles, so I spend a good deal of time in the saddle. I rode a Selle Bassano Vuelta saddle for around 40,000 miles until it was good and dead. In all those miles, I never experienced any pain, or even any discomfort to talk about. The "damnable" (according to Bicylcing Mag's review) Trek saddle that came stock on the 2300 was just that. It caused some pain and numbness. I didn't know what real pain was, however, until riding the Prolink Gel. I bought it based upon the reviews here & at mtbreviews.com, thinking I would be one of the 8 out of 10 people that like it. WRONG! I'm one of the other 2. After only a short 20 mile ride & a 40 mile ride the next day, I was so sore I could barely sit. What's worse, I was starting my first saddle sore ever. Here's the problem as I see it: I bought the '04 model, that has raised rubber logos on the sides, along with Kevlar, I believe, around those. Either the raised logos or the seams (probably the former) really rubbed my right cheek, starting a nice little wound. The deeper pain was the real problem, though. The rails connect to the saddle immediately below both the sit bones and the perineum. The thin elastomers do little to absorb shock here. I felt bumps in the road I never new existed while riding the Vuelta. The Vuelta connected to the rails at the very front and rear through much thicker elastomer pads that really worked. Solution: toss the Prolink, buy A Fizik Aliante. Yes! riding is once again enjoyable! By the way, in case you're of similar size, I'm 5'11", 180-185.

    Similar Products Used:

    "damnable" stock Trek saddle, Selle Bassano Vuelta, Fizik Aliante

    [Feb 29, 2004]
    Anonymous
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    2
    Strength:

    Comfortable if you have your own padding. Not bad for short rides (under 60 mi) if you dont. Very durable

    Weakness:

    NUMBNESS

    This saddle was VERY comfortable when I was a bit heavier (over 210 - 250) Now that I have shed some pounds this saddle is causing some numbness issues in some very bad areas. Other from the numbness issues from not having as much padding on my back side this is a very comfortable saddle.

    Similar Products Used:

    Fiziks plateau (OK), Flite Ti (good), Flite Gel (bad), Brooks B-17 (WOW) Going to try a Koobi silver.

    [Nov 18, 2003]
    cthomas
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Quality construction, nice shape, just a bit wider than the Flite (but not much), super vibration absorbing!

    Weakness:

    None that I have found. Shorter rail length and larger diameter rails may make setup hard on some bikes. Worked great with a Thomson post!

    I have been a loyal Flite rider for years and have them on several bikes. However, my super stiff CAAD 5 frame, Velomax wheels, and Thomson seatpost were a pretty harsh combination. I was looking at carbon seatposts or saddles with some cushion. I gave this saddle a try on a whim, and WOW! I is shaped slightly different than the Flite, but the real difference is the addition of the elastometers. They really take the vibration out. I won't say this makes it as comfy as my OCLV bike, but I noticed a huge difference in comfort while not sacrificing the stiffness I enjoy from the Flite saddles.

    Similar Products Used:

    Flite, Flite, Flite, you get the picture. Long time ago I also rode a Specialized Body Geometry Comp.

    Roadbikereview Newsletter

    Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

    THE SITE

    ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

    VISIT US AT

    © Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.