Selle Italia SLC Gel Flow Saddles

DESCRIPTION

  • Center cutout with carbon
  • Carbon-vanox rails
  • Leather
  • Clamp Style: Standard Rails

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-8 of 8  
[Jun 10, 2012]
Matt

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Once you get used to it, it's very comfortable. Very light and strong. GOOD Looking seat.

Weakness:

Can get numb a little if you don't stand or adjust from time to time.

Overall this has been the best saddle I've ever had. I average 35-40 miles a ride and I never have any issues. Even my 75-100 mile rides are pretty good. Any start of discomfort can quickly be fixed by adjusting on the seat or standing momentarily. It's very light and strong. I just bought another one for my indoor trainer. Well worth the money. And it's a good looking seat to top it all off.

[Sep 07, 2009]
JDM
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

* very well made
* light
* reinforced in the right places
* conforms to buttox shape well

Weakness:

* requires somewhat lengthy break-in period

Bought this saddle for new bike. Saddles last me 18-36 mos., and whenever it's time for a new one the previous model(s) I liked are usually gone... got'a start over. For me, it's always a semi-informed guessing game.

W/that said, my guess was semi informed by this RRR thread.

I'm now riding 300+ mi p/wk, ride pretty hard. This is not favourite I've had, but pretty good. Took a few 100 miles to have it conform to my cheeks, but conform it did... and well. It's very firm, but 50-100 mi rides leave my arse w/out complaints.

Additionally, it's got the carbon in places where saddles usually wear out for me: rear edges and "toe". EG: it's well made, and light.



Similar Products Used:

You name it.

[Jul 23, 2009]
kbg32
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Firm and comfortable. No pressure points.

Weakness:

Wears a bit quickly around the edges where your thighs meet the saddle.

One of the most comfortable saddles I have ever ridden. Even on ride longer then 50 miles. I have done some century rides with it and no issues whatsoever.I like firm saddles and this gives a little as well.

Similar Products Used:

Selle San Marco, WTB.

[Jul 12, 2009]
Anonymous
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Very comfortable despite being very hard. No perceivable pressure in the sensitive areas. Looks fantastic.

Weakness:

Rails are shorter than other saddles providing limited forward-back adjustment, though for me this wasn't a problem.

During the first few rides I could feel it but far less than I initially thought after looking at the saddle out of the box. Quickly the saddle became very comfortable even with the minimal padding found in tri shorts. I have yet to ride over 50 miles with it so I can't vouch for comfort beyond that.

Similar Products Used:

Selle Italia SLR

[Oct 08, 2008]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Great design, image booster for your bike
Exceptional build quality
No numbness

Weakness:

Only suitable for smaller people

I bought this saddle since I was looking for one not giving any pressure on the centre parts in order to solve the numbness I sometimes experience with my previous SI C2. And because this Selle Italia SLC is the greatest looking version of all saddles with cut out. The saddle is reasonably comfortable though the padding is quite firm to which I had to get used a while. The gel padding is mainly situated at the edges around the cut out and in the nose of the saddle, not in the wings. Numbness is history. There is quite some pressure of the edges around the cut out almost to a level that gets uncomfortable and probably also unhealthy.

Since the wings of this saddle have a considerable inclination, it seems that seat bone distance is critical as to whether this saddle will suit you or not. My seat bone distance is 3,9 inches (= a bit less than 10 cm). I estimate this saddle will definitely not be suitable in combination with a seat bone distance any larger than this, because the pressure of the edges around the cut out will increase to a (very) unacceptable level. Another reviewer described this as if you are sitting on a seatpost! I would recommend this saddle to people with 3,5 inch distance maximum. How to measure seat bone distance? Put a piece of corrugated cardboard on a (low) table and just sit on it in a biking position. Mark the centre of the prints that your seat bones have left on the cardboard and measure the distance between them. It’s regretful that Selle Italia (and many other saddle manufacturers) are not giving any information about the seat bone distance for which their saddle models have been developed!

Similar Products Used:

San Marco Rolls **, Selle Italia Flite Ti version 1 ***, Selle Italia C2 Genuine Gel version 1 ***, SMP Stratos *, SMP Glider *, SI SLR 135 gram version **, San Marco Aspide Glamour 190 gram version w/o cut-out (discharged by my wife!) ****.

[Jun 07, 2008]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

The carbon seat portion has gained considerable flexibility after ~4k mi. The saddle now has an exceptionally comfortable fit. Unlike other saddles I've tried, this one applies zero pressure to my gonads. There is no numbness after century+ rides.

TOROTEC disdain the black saddle in general, but I find this saddle to be exceptionally good-looking component on a black frame.

Weakness:

Your arse may take some time to become one with this saddle. Use chamois cream, persevere.

If I gained 60 lb, I would be hesitant to ride this.

I am a 148 lb collegiate racer.

The saddle and my arse took ~700 mi to break one another in. I nearly tossed it after it annihilated my rear during training camp last winter. However, I am glad that I kept riding it.

Similar Products Used:

Bontrager stock junk
Fi`Zik Arione (aka The Ball-Crusher)

[May 18, 2008]
ELB
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

light, reasonably comfortable

Weakness:

painful on rides exceeding 70 miles

Good airconditioning and comfortable for the first 50-60 miles. I really want off this saddle somewhere around 70 miles.

Similar Products Used:

plenty

[Apr 04, 2008]
Aldito
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

No numbness, comfortable, flexible

Weakness:

Expensive

Overall is a good saddle. No numbness at all, it's very confortable even with that big cutout area. It's also flexible and molds into your body after you break it in. It has minimal cushion (except for the nose), although it has gel in certain areas, but it's very thin. I guess you get the comfort in the thin carbon fiber shell, being very flexible. I rode this saddle for about 10 months and sometimes you get a little sored in areas where your body meets at the edges of the cutout, but is very minimal. As far as cosmetics is concerned, looks great, minimalist ala SLR (you could say they are cousins) and has the outstanding Selle Italia finish...

Similar Products Used:

Selle San Marco Aspide

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.