Selle Italia SLK Gelflow Saddles

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-9 of 9  
[Oct 08, 2008]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Light, good looks, nature shock absorption

Weakness:

Some may consider it expense since the price has gone up.

After reading the reviews I just had to comment. I tend to ride a little upright and therefore am directly on my sit bones. I tried at least 10 saddles before finding the SLK Gel - I now have one for each of my three bikes. It is rather hard at first, but I find that on longer rides, with more padded seats my sit bones sink in and get sore (like car seats that are too soft). This seat is great and better yet there is no discomfort from my other parts.

Similar Products Used:

My next best was the SLK non-Gel and a Koobi which I rode for two years.

[Jan 24, 2008]
ELB
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Comfort, air conditioning

Weakness:

Longer ride soreness

This saddle because of its shape intrigued me; I figured it would be comfortable on longer rides since the two halves of the saddle move independently of each other. For the most part I was correct, however, after about 70 miles or so, I become very uncomfortable. All of my weight is on my sit bones, which become very sore after longer rides. This may alleviate after I’ve broken the saddle in a bit more. Overall, I am pleased at the saddle’s comfort over shorter ride distances.

Similar Products Used:

Plenty of other saddles

[May 16, 2007]
Mr. Mike
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Very light very comfortable. Does not have the ridges along the cut out like a lot of saddles that cause chaffing or hotspots (the cut out opening is rounded very well).

Weakness:

I broke the saddle rail after about 8,000 miles but I'm pretty big and like to ride rough roads and hard packed dirt on my road bike so really wasn't too suprised. Like it enough that I have ordered two more (one as backup)

I've been riding/racing for 25 years and always prefered SanMarco saddles but was looking for something with a little relief in the personal area as I got older so tried the SLK Gel Flo and loved it. I'm very large 6'2' 210lbs (I don't race anymore!!)

[Apr 28, 2007]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

light, nice looking, that's it.

Weakness:

to hard, uncomfortable

I was really looking forward to have this saddle... Had tried Selle Flite before and some other saddles.. and liked Selle Italia. The problem was that all the saddles hurted me on the preasure point, so i looked around and bought this. It was a bit disapointing, for the first km no problem, but after a while i begin to hurts anyway.
I have had the saddle for five months, and have begun looking for a new one. I think it takes a while to find a good saddle for all the different ases out there. Im 183cm 81kg... normal guy, and now i want to try Serfas Select saddle.

Similar Products Used:

Selle Flite Gel, Terry fly, Velo

[Oct 31, 2005]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Best crotch comfort of all saddles tried (and I've probably tried over 35!). Great real leather cover.

Weakness:

A little hard for my sharp sit-bones for rides over 60 mi.

This saddle has the best crotch comfort of any saddle I’ve tried. But it needs just a bit more padding in back for me. In my experience, saddles are a trade-off between sit-bone and crotch comfort - too much of one leads to little of the other. I’m a thin guy with sharp sit-bones. I wear out shorts by wearing holes in the chamois under the sit-bones. If I ride the SLK wearing my Santini shorts with the 4 mm “Twist Gel” pad, the saddle is good for 100+ mile days. W/o the extra padding, I’m uncomfortable after 50-60 miles. I’ve only found one current production saddle with almost this much crotch comfort – the Specialized BG Avatar Gel – and it has enough padding for me. Saddles with more padding like the Terry Fly allow me to sink to far into the saddle resulting in poor crotch comfort.

Similar Products Used:

Most everything with a hole or slot in it.

[Feb 24, 2005]
guerciottiman
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

comfort, lightweight, good looks

Weakness:

after a year of riding the leather is starting to wear.

I have this saddle on my mountain bike and ride primarily on hard pack surfaces. At 160 lbs I find this saddle very comfortable. I can get beat up rough surfaces but on the road it's excellent. the Gel insert and especially the flexibility of the shell is superb. Give it a try.

[Nov 26, 2003]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

Light

Weakness:

Nearly rubbed my testicles off

It's up to you whether you buy it, but it wreaked havoc on the area my good lady refers to as the 'chin rest'. On a long race in the rain, it put me in a world of trouble. I got rid of it soon after. If you want saddle sores, go for it. I like selle italia saddles, but not this one.

Similar Products Used:

flite trans am fizik pave

[Nov 16, 2003]
nycnml
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

loads of comfort due in large part to the versatility it offers; you can adjust positions easily on rides. very well-made, durable, ultra-light, and sleek-looking.

Weakness:

padding is a bit thin towards the nose. aero-riding and drop riding for extended periods might get dicey. other than that, none so far.

this started when i got my Surly CrossCheck to use as an urban commuter in NYC. i got the SLK Gelflow after trying one or two other saddles. it has been extremely comfortable every time i ride. still, i wanted to see if there was something out there that was completely utterly pillow-like, as i weigh 150 lbs. at 5'11". i tried the selle italia trans am, the aspide(s), and even the much-lauded fizik alianté; none hold a candle to the SLK. the one area which requires a bit of delicate arranging is when you're in the drop or aero position for extended periods; i don't know if this is the seat for a triathelete. yet, for speed bursts, riding on the top of the drops, etc. this seat is a delight. one more thing: we all know finding the right seat is an individual thing, so i'd bear in mind body dimensions and style of riding make a big difference. for my size (150lbs / 5'11") and style of riding (commuting and non-race riding) it works perfectly. curious if it fits bigger folks as well....

Similar Products Used:

Selle Italia Trans Am Flite, San Marco Aspide Tri & Regular CroMo, Fizik Alianté.

[Nov 14, 2003]
Mr Nick
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Very comfortable. No perennial pressure. Light weight. Looks cool.

Weakness:

None so far.

I have done two 3 hour sessions on this saddle in the last week and I have to say that it is the most comfortable thing I've ever ridden. The narrow shape is perfect for me (6'2" 170lbs.) and the channel in the middle is way better than other cut-outs that I've tried. In my opinion this seat is much more comfortable than the SLR Gelflow. So the shape and lack of pressure are perfect and then the extra gel makes it super comfortable. After three hours I didn't even know I had been in the saddle as compared to the regular SLK which isn't quite as nice.

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.