Selle Italia SLK Saddles

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 12  
[Mar 15, 2009]
mojocracker
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Lightness, overall quality, aesthetics

Weakness:

Instability in rear channel (closes under load with wider sit-bones).

I tested this non gel, 2007 saddle for a couple of 20-30 mile rides and about six hours total of spin class riding.

This is the version with the perforated stitched leather upper.

This is an excellent saddle and would fit most men who like riding a 135-137mm saddle.

For me, though it is just a tad to narrow. I have wide sit bones and should be riding a 140-144 mm saddle.

This saddle, although labelled at 140 by some sellers in some modelsr eally functions at around 135 - 137 mm as the love channel tends to close in the rear if your sit bones are 110mm plus. The channel remains nicely open forward in either case and I experienced no numbness as I do with other flat saddles such as Specialized Alias or Selle San Marco Aspide.

Similar Products Used:

Selle SMP, Selle San Marco Aspide, Specialized Alias, Terry Race, Selle San Marco Turbo

[Sep 30, 2007]
mickey-mac
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Comfortable, light.

Weakness:

None yet. I haven't had it long enough to comment on endurance.

I've used and loved SI Flites for approximately 12 years. However, the older I got the more genital numbness I began to experience. I finally decided to try a cutout saddle and settled on the SLK. From the first ride it felt just right. It's very similar to the Flite in padding and shape, perhaps just a bit wider near the rear. However, the cutout almost completely eliminates the numbness and discomfort I was having on long rides. It also eliminated the "false alarm" feeling I had of needing to pee. All in all, it's a perfect saddle, having everything I loved about the Flite with a feature that eliminates the only problem I was having with the Flite.

Similar Products Used:

Flite ti, Selle San Marco Royale, old school saddles (Concours, etc.)

[Sep 07, 2007]
sheldon
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Very light, sufficiently cushioned without being so soft that you sink into it, not cheap but not crazy expensive either, not wasting money on carbon inserts/rails etc. Very comfortable given it's relatively lightweight design.

Weakness:

I'm not sure a 200 lb rider would experience the same comfort I do at around 160 lbs.

Purchased recently to replace a Specialized saddle that I liked but didn't love, the best thing I can say about this saddle was that from the first ride on, I'm not thinking at all about the saddle, it disappears under me. It's arguably the most comfortable saddle I've ever used, btw, this is the basic SLK, not the gel flow version.

Similar Products Used:

Specialized Alias, Fizik Arione, Selle Italia gel flite

[Jun 28, 2007]
Branden
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

no numbing on long rides, padding, reduces vibrations. Everything they say is true.

Weakness:

none yet

Had a San Marco Aspide saddle and quickly replaced it after numbing on long rides. The SLK's Center cutout works great. I can ride for hours without the uncomfortable numbing sensation. The padding feels great too.

Similar Products Used:

Selle San Marco Aspide

[Jun 19, 2007]
skcazy
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

no aches and pains , good looks

Weakness:

could use an extra half-inch.

saddle is stiff , takes a while to get used to , but very comfortable - once you do..

[May 31, 2007]
Damon D. Edwards
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Superb support and comfort. Allows you to relax and stay in the saddle longer on rides.

Weakness:

Stiff, takes a little while to get used to.

An excellent choice over my TREK 1000's stock saddle. Took about a week to get used to the stiffness of it, but after talking to a lot of people I knew I'd love it and sure enough- I love it.

[Apr 01, 2005]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

-No numbness in the nether regions. -Narrow and comfortable fit for my sit bones.

Weakness:

-Thin leather and very short nose make for splits in the cover after only a few thousand miles.

After riding the same Selle Italia Flite for ~10K miles I tentatively tried out a center channel-type saddle on my brother's bike. Pleased with its anti-numbing design, I looked for the closest thing to a Flite with a center channel, which I mistakenly thought was an SLK. Switching from my 90%-perfect Flite was a risky proposition but the SLK is a very, very comfortable saddle. 99% perfect out of the box. Narrow enough for my sit bones and no more numbness even on 5+ hour rides. My main gripe, and the reason I'm switching to the Flite Trans Am, is that my knees-in pedaling motion wears through the thin leather at the nose in 2000 - 3000 miles. My old and new Flite saddles have somewhat thicker leather at the nose and a taller nose, making for a larger contact point for my inner thigh to drag across. So if you have narrow sit bones, you don't have a knees-in pedal motion or are cool with buying a new SLK every few thousand miles, look into this saddle.

Similar Products Used:

Selle Italia Flite Ti Selle Italia Flite Trans Am

[Mar 07, 2005]
Anonymous
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

out of the box comfort that I expect from every saddle but get from very few

Weakness:

none so far

Wanted to stay with a minimal saddle but needed a center channel to reduce numbness that I get on rides longer than 3 hours. I felt at home as soon as I first set on this saddle. Very little cushion but just enough to keep my seat happy.

Similar Products Used:

Selle San Marco Aspide TI

[May 05, 2004]
Creaky Carnivore
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Nice looking saddle. Very aerodynamic...not that that matters. Light and comfortable when set up correctly. Mine required 3-4 adjustments. Reasonable price for a saddle this light.

Weakness:

weighs more than advertised (205g vs. 185g). Setup is a little tricky.

I replaced the Sella ERA Luxe that came with my bike. After 2k miles I decided it was never going to feel comfortable. My experience with the SLK started out bad because I tried to set it up like I have my previous saddles....with the nose slightly down from level. However, this made it feel like I was putting too much pressure on the handlebars. After I set the saddle absolutely level it felt great. The padding is in the right place and it looks awsome on my bike. One drawback was that it was advertised in the Performance catalog at 185grams, but it actually weighs 205grams. Not a big deal, but you should expect the weights to be fairly accurate.

Similar Products Used:

Sella San Marco ERA Luxe...ouch!

[Apr 15, 2004]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

the look, it seems well made

Weakness:

make sure to get a wedge pack with velcro.a bracket might not fit the rails

Very trick-looking. Nice and light. Seemed very hard at first but now I don't even think about it. Just the right amount of shock absorbtion on my alum frame bike. Would definately tell others to consider it.

Similar Products Used:

prolink, velo, aspide

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.