Selle Italia SLR Kit Carbonio Flow Saddles

DESCRIPTION

The SLR Kit Carbonio Flow has all the characteristics of the last version that made it a best seller used by pro cyclists. The new SLR is lighter and guarantees unmatched aerodynamics though. With its special EVA foam padding and anatomical cutout the SLR

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 12  
[Aug 10, 2012]
glen harris

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

looks nice

Weakness:

the finish wears off very easly, it is a very thin plactic coating

poor quality

[Aug 02, 2012]
Steve Barney
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Comfortable, light, looks great, high quality

Weakness:

None so far

Very happy with this saddle. I probably am approaching 1000 miles on it, and it is my favorite so far. I have a Specialized Toupe on my other bike, and like it as well, but I think the Selle is maybe even more comfortable. I usually ride between 20 and 35 miles at a time, with up to 70 on occasions, and have stayed comfortable with it. I mounted it on a Ritchey Super Logic post with the clamp for the wider rails, and it is a great combination....so light!!

Similar Products Used:

Specialized Toupe, other Selle Italia's,

[Nov 16, 2011]
sonusfaber
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Weight, design and build

Weakness:

None so far

Very comfortable for a light saddle. The cutout really works, no more numbness during long rides and uphills. Shifted from Fizik Antares carbon which had a similar design except for the cutout. Bottomline, this is probably the best lightweight saddle out there in terms of comfort. I love you Selle Italia for thinking of putting in that cut out. I'll never go back to one that doesn't have a cut out.

Similar Products Used:

Fizik Anatares (Kium and Carbon)
Fizik Arione

[Sep 13, 2011]
gun2head
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

More comfortable for flat top lovers. Cut out helps and not overdone. Actually very comfortable for such a light weight.

Weakness:

Pricey, but my rear appreciates it.

New 2011 version with flatter top. 115g. Much more comfortable for me due to flat top and cut out over my previous slr carbonio. If you like a more flat top saddle so you can freely move around, this is for you. It reminds me of my old rolls or regal saddles in ability to move comfortably about. Great for me!

Similar Products Used:

Previous slr carbonio (non-flow)

[Mar 06, 2011]
jimijoe43
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

lightweight;
the right amount of padding in the right places;
looks great

Weakness:

expensive - but worth evey penny

Best saddle I've ever used. My Trek Madone 5.5 came with a bontrager saddle which numbed me out on longer rides plus gave me an ED issue.
This Selle Italia SLR Carbonio saddle is just incredible - just enough padding in the right places plus the cut-out made my rides, and home life, very much more enjoyable.

[May 11, 2010]
luth731
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

light weight
comfort (surprising amount)
style

Weakness:

you need specific posts, but if you are looking at this saddle then probably not an issue.

obviously very light and sleek looking saddle. I went through a few before I found one that works for me. The give of the carbon makes it a very comfortable ride. There is no padding to compress, and the shape works well for my relatively inflexible hamstrings and lower back. The next time I am in a pro deal situation, I'm buying two more. It is tough to find the right seatpost though. Thomsons work great, I've heard the new Fizik does, and the Easton EC90 as well. I'm using the one bolt Ritchey design currently with the specific clamp for the larger oval rails that Selle Italia uses on these saddles.

Similar Products Used:

fizik arione
selle san marco aspide arrowhead
bontrager thing
fizik nisene chunk

[Sep 18, 2009]
cpark
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Light, comfy, re-sale value and durability (?)

Weakness:

Wish it offers a model with Ti rail. Bit pricey.

I've been a SLR Ti saddle user for many years and I found the saddle quite comfortable. I also use the Fizik Arione and Aliante saddle as well and found them quite comfy as well. In short, most of the saddles work for me.

That was then, now at 180lbs and not consistently riding, I get little discomfort and my boys would go slightly numb when I ride in the drop.
In fact, it gets worse as the ride goes on since I live in the drop of the handlebar. I figure I try out the SLR Kit Carbonis Flow. WOW!!! What a difference it made!!! It is so comfy that I can stay in the drop most of the ride and have no issues at all. It also solve one of the short comings of the SLR. The SLR leather cover doesn't hold up well and it gets really dirt fast (I have a white one). Once it gets stained, it's almost impossible to take it off. The SLR Kit Carbonio Flow's cover is made out of the Lorica material and the dirt comes off with a swipe of a wet towel. Overall, I'm extremly happy with the purchase. One thing you should know is that the rail angle is different than SLR TI.
I took my SLR TI off and instlled the SLR KIT CF and found the saddle to be pointing down at a drastic angle. I thought that was kind of strange.....
Overall, it's light, comfortable and the cover seems durable. One other good thing is that you can sell it on eBay at the good price if it doesn't accommodate your behind. Bit expensive but I give it two thumbs up!

Similar Products Used:

SLR, Aliante and Arione.

[Oct 10, 2008]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3

fantastic saddle....have only used for a few hundred klms but 2 rides was all i needed to be convinced. I will echo other reviewers comments on the surprising comfort level given the look of it and the weight. Very happy with the purchase though i paid too much for it (USD 250)

[Sep 16, 2008]
aaronis31337
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Light, strong, sexy,quality

Weakness:

Didn't fit me. Sad, because it's such a great looking seat.

This is a very light, wonderfully constructed seat. It just didn't fit me. All the weight was placed directly on my sit bones, causing painfull pressure point. I guess I need something with better distribution. I bought this based on the reviews here, but you should all know that saddles are a personal thing. What works for some people might not work for others. You should really ignore reviews or you're waste your money like me. I'm giving this 4/5 because it really is a quality product.

Similar Products Used:

Specialized, skye.

[Jun 26, 2008]
canrider
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Surprisingly comfortable, beautiful, light, does not press your bits.

Weakness:

None so far

You would never think that this beautiful but skinny and hard looking thing would ever be comfortable. However as soon as you butt is on it just seems to melt away and you don’t feel it at all no matter how long the ride. No numbness to date so the cut out is working well.

Similar Products Used:

Fizik Arione
Selle SMP Strike PRO

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.