Selle Italia SLR XP Saddles

DESCRIPTION

  • Carbon composite shell, added layer of lightweight padding for more comfort
  • Tubular Vanox Rails
  • Black Leather
  • Weight: 165 g

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-8 of 8  
[Jul 20, 2008]
uruz7
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Lightweight and looks great.

Weakness:

Clicking noise from the rails within half a year.

Offers little riding position.

Does not work well at all in pot hole infested road.

Is not comfortable after 120 kms in a single day of riding. Go with something more padding, or better ride shorts.

Was looking for a replacement saddle when I came by a swap out bin and found this saddle for 40 bucks. Even with it's great looks and weight weenie seducing numbers, this saddle does not provide the necessary comfort for a pothole infested road.

Similar Products Used:

Bontrager Select saddle, which caused a lot of butt pain.

[Sep 23, 2007]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Light, inexpensive

Weakness:

Pain in the backside!

I think this is not a good saddle for the bigger guys out there, it is narrow and just plain uncomfortable!
I persisted for 3 months/1500 km but eventually called enough. One thing, it doesn't seem to be worse if you are doing 50 km or 150 km, so if it comfy for you it will most probably be good all the time, but if it is not... then you will not break it in.

Similar Products Used:

Selle Italia Throok - this is one funky saddle, no review section for it, but better for my backside

[Apr 16, 2007]
steelbike
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Comfortable and well made.
Lightweight.

Weakness:

No problems

I bought the saddle slightly used and since have put 1500 miles on it. The first 15 minutes felt stiff as a board but then it started to get more comfortable and more comfortable. It gives me good support for my 140 lbs and has been as comfortable as any saddle I've used in the last 30 years. For me it's more comfortable than anatomic saddles I've tried.

Similar Products Used:

Selle San Marco Concor, Rolls.
Selle Italia Flite (4 of them)

[Oct 18, 2006]
brn2vlo
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Weight, price

Weakness:

Narrow

I only used the saddle for a couple of weeks due to the discomfort I got from it. As others have said saddles are as individual as the individual users. Although on my intial ride after my bike being built up the saddle seemed fine it didn't take long to find out it wasn't for me. I think the biggest problem for me was that it was too narrow. I was previously using a Specialized Avatar 143mm and will be looking for either another Specialized or at least something that is wider. This saddle gave me my first ever "numbness" on a ride and that was enough to pull it off.

Similar Products Used:

Speciliazed Toupe, Avatar

[Sep 04, 2006]
jacojbass
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Ummm lighweight

Weakness:

durability, comfort (although a personal issue) as all sadles are.

Based on srtong opinions i tried this saddle, well i'm dissapointed for two reasons. #1 the saddle really hurts you on long ride,not to mention saddle sores itt gives you (ouch) #2 the leather on the nose wore out with out even a full year of use. That was enough for me, so i got a san mrco era and all is well, although not as light,but no pain in the a#@ or wallet

Similar Products Used:

wtb, san marco,

[May 13, 2006]
Henry Coumans
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Comfortable, looks

Weakness:

Rail

This saddle is indeed very comfotable. i use it on my Scott Scale 20 MTB. However, today the rail broke for the second time. I'm not ammused :-(.

[Jan 27, 2006]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Comfortable, light weight.

Weakness:

none

Amazing saddle. I came of a absolutle shocker of a saddle which was teh fizik aliate sport. Im constantly shocked at how comfortable teh SLR XP is. Ive been currently putting in a big base for next season and im putting 700km a week on this saddle with rides upto 6 hours and this saddle is normally forgotten about in rides. It never gets uncomfortable and never causes any chafing of saddle sores. Amazing product. I ride an aluminum frame with a carbon seat post and I weight 65kg. Im planning to use the SLR carbonino next as the i think i can go down to having less padding.

[Feb 08, 2005]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

light, attractive, remarkably comfy

Weakness:

finish not brilliant, but then...

hard to fault the comfort of this saddle, as with all such things, it depends on your derierre: i like this saddle, don't like the flite, like the trimatic and fizik pave..so if these suit you, maybe so does the slr shape, of the lot, it's oddly rthe most comfy by far, even for rides of moderate distance. i'm not sure the XP makes any difference, it's about as minimal as padding can get, and you'll feel you've achieved more if you go without... next time i'm going to get the less padded version. the edges of the cover started to come away after about 6 months/2000 miles, glued down with superglue they've stayed put, i suppose that's what you get for a cheapish superlight saddle. i wonder when i see FSA churning out sadddles at the same weight, without padding, for 5 times the price, why anyone would buy one. I've no such concerns about the SLR. oh yeah, I'm using a USE carbon post, might make some difference to the vibrations, possibly worth considering that with an Alu post, the proposition might be rather different!

Similar Products Used:

too many to bother with, the feel of this is most similar to the fizik saddles, and not like other selle italia saddles (perhaps excepting the trimatic version 1)

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.