Selle Italia SLR XP Gel Flow Saddles

DESCRIPTION

Cut out center and flexing rail mounts for the utmost comfort.Weight: 205 grams.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-8 of 8  
[Jan 15, 2008]
DanTourino
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

-The finish is unparalleled by any other saddle.
-Great color (yellow, LIVESTRONG ALL ;)
-Comfortable on short rides
-great flex (shock absorbing)

Weakness:

-Very narrow @ 5" wide
-find myself moving around on the saddle a lot.
-excruciating on any ride over 60 miles for me.

I bought this saddle hoping to make the transition to a lighter saddle that promises more comfort and power on longer rides than those "Squishy saddles". I ride 100-200 miles per week and this saddle is great on those 40 mile rides, but I am a larger rider (6'1" @ 205lbs.) and this thing became excruciating on a 70 mile ride this past weekend.

I have this saddle on my race/serious training bike, madone 5.2, and overall I give this a 4 out of 5, with no fault to Selle Italia! The craftsmanship is unlike any I've ever seen, I'm just to large for the saddle. I think I will be going with the new Selle Max Flite w/ cutout given that it is practically the same saddle, but 1 inch wider. If any of you guys are my size and have had good luck with a saddle, please email me and let me know, otherwise, the search continues.......

Similar Products Used:

Serfas RX, Bontrager Race Lite Lux, etc.

[Apr 25, 2007]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Light, comfortable & great cutout....

Weakness:

Not too flashy looking

Great Saddle....Light enough at 205 grams but still very comfortable on long rides...
I really prefer saddles with a cutout--so this suits me well...

I am looking at Selle's new 120 gram saddle with both a cutout & carbon rails...of course, that costs $180

Similar Products Used:

none lately....have the same saddle on all 3 bikes

[Dec 08, 2006]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

reasonably light, very comfortable, effective cutout, reasonable price, excellent quality and durability

Weakness:

Some might complain that approx. 200g is too heavy, but I defy anyone to show me a sub-200 saddle that's anywhere near as comfortable.

This is for the SLR Gel Flow. I got a used one on a used bike I purchased. I never intended to use it at all, but ended up going for a ride before I had a chance to put another saddle on. It didn't feel too bad over a 1.5 hour trip, so I decided to give it a chance. I just kept riding it. I went back to my Alias and quickly went back to this one. I've now put nearly 2000 miles on this used saddle, including the moutainous Grizzly Century (nearly 8 hours of seat time). I was surprised that it works for me, because it's pretty narrow. I always thought that at 5'10" and 200+, I needed a wider saddle. I just purchased a Signo Gel Flow because it's a bit wider to compare, but I'm not expecting much because this has raised my standards considerably.

Similar Products Used:

SLR, Specialized Alias, Fizik Arione, Bontrager Race Lux, Terry Fly, SLK

[Feb 15, 2006]
pasta-lumbago
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Very good workmanship, light enough for fast recreational riding (185 gm, advertised), quite comfortable on long rides, and excellent customer service.

Weakness:

Maybethe lack of color selection (only available in black), but that's a very minor issue IMHO

Selle Italia SLR Gelflow saddle. Best saddle I've ever had! It's just plain comfortable, great quality workmanship, and very good customer service. I started using it last July (05), and about 3 months later the right rear rail came just a little loose where it joints with the saddle. I sent it back to Selle Italia (actually, to a company called ProNet here in the US), and they replaced it, no questions asked, with a brand new saddle (and the turn-around was less than a week!). They also apologized for the inconvenience and included a brand new skull cap as a "perk". They stood behind their product, which counts for a lot. 2 other riders in my group also have this saddle and really like it. A third wants to get one, too.

Similar Products Used:

Terry dragonfly, San Marco, and a bunch of other low-end saddles.

[Jan 30, 2006]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

At 215 grams, it is much lighter than other COMFORTABLE saddles, like the Pro Link Gel Flow (the older one, at 375 grams). I favor comfort over weight, but this saddle seems to have both factors in balance. I would not save the gel's weight under any circumstance. It does make the difference.

Weakness:

None so far, but I have only used it for about 350 miles.

Narrow saddle, I imagine it suits better small and light riders. I'm waist 31, weight 156 lbs. IMPORTANT: the SLR XP is one saddle, the SLR Gel Flow is another. This review is for the Gel Flow. Even tough it increases it's weight from 165 grams (XP) to 215 (Gel Flow), those 50 grams of gel make a huge difference. Compared to the Pro Link Gel Flow (a very comfortable 375 grams saddle I have on my training bike), this SLR is 95% as comfortable, but much ligher. Previous Specialized BG Alias saddle prevented me to ride this bike for about 5 months!!, with this saddle I just completed my first century.

Similar Products Used:

Selle Italia Pro Link Gel Flow, Specialized BG Alias (came stock with my new bike, stay away from that rock solid saddle)

[May 26, 2005]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

cutout works

Weakness:

hard on sit bones, not much padding

Good saddle if you are used to the minimalist racer type support. takes some getting used to and setup.

[Mar 22, 2005]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Good looking design, light weight (224 g).

Weakness:

Too hard. Imagine using a wooden 2x4 for a seat.

Ouch. This saddle is hard, very hard. I could not get comfortable on this saddle even using it for the 8 mile ride on my commuter bike. I am not a heavy rider (154#) and was surprised to find that it was too hard for me. The gel does help a bit after the leather breaks in, but I believe S. Italia fortified the nylon base compared to the original SLR, making a very stiff platform, too stiff for me. I returned it. You can check out a review from Cyclingnews.com and they came to the same conclusion.

Similar Products Used:

S. Marco - Aspide Arrowhead, Race Day, Active Suspension. S. Italia - Flight, Flight Genuine Gel, SLK, Turbomatic, Flight Gelaround.

[May 01, 2004]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Light. Sleek. Trans AM cutout. Narrow width (125mm) but with a BIG/FLAT "sweet spot" for my "sit bones".

Weakness:

Thick, abrasive stitching wears out shorts (I just use a SI lycra saddle cover but it looks a bit funky), SLR decal on nose already worn off, leather felt dry and had to be conditioned, not suitable for heavier, wider riders.

Rare combination: Light AND COMFORTABLE. I've already put 127 miles on this saddle and it hasn't disappointed. This model has the Vanox rails so it's a bit heavier than Ti. I really DISLIKE the thick stitching all over the saddle.

Similar Products Used:

Selle Italia Turbo, Mythos TA, Flite Ti. Selle San Marco Corsaire, Concor Lt.,ODS.

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.