Selle Italia SLR Saddles

Best Price At

DESCRIPTION

The selle Italia SLR saddle has Genuine Gel for long term durability and comfort. The shock absorbing padding will retain its comfort for many a ride. Italian Black leather on a Carbon Fibre base with Lightweight Vanox rails. Great looks on a super com

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 86  
[Sep 20, 2012]
Artur Nogueira
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Beautifull, light, incredible confortable. And it lasts forever.

Weakness:

None

After my review from 2004, I am still using the original Transam SLR, no gel. Yes....it is the same saddle I have reviewed here for the first time in 2002. Yes...10 years of SLR experience. Ah...yes , in the meanwhile I have ridden other saddles - specially the San MArco Arami ( a great saddle ), but always returned to the SLR. Why ? It's minimalist, the padding is minimal...ah...but it is so confortable. We must to break it in and after that...it's a great saddle. Durable. Well built! Well finished!

First, let's be honest: it is not a saddle for long rides. A 4 to 5 hours ride on a SLR, the "damages" will be felt on the next day! But what are the "damages" ? Well, you'll feel your sit bones with a very little pain. So...the " damages " are well bearable!.

This saddle is firm but " flexible" and it's the kind of saddle that suit me best: "flexible but firm". That's why I have never changed for the gel version. Too soft for my taste! And it is a narrow saddle, which is probably the main cause why it is so confortable for me. I feel my sit bones on it and it's always a great ride.

It is not however, the best saddle for commuting. When traing I use padded shorts, but when riding as a mean of transport, without any padded shorts, it is not the best saddle for it. At least for myself.

After 1o years, it's still alive and kicking, and my problem is that I do not know which saddle to choose after the SLR. Because I have the feeling that the actual SLR it is not as confy as the old and original Transam!

Similar Products Used:

Selle Italia Flite 100% carbon, Flite Alpes, Selle San Marco Arami Nighttrain, San Marco Concor, Bontrager

[Oct 14, 2011]
Antonio Soares
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

Looks, weight.

Weakness:

Confort (lack of), Warranty (inexistent), Durability (minimum), very poor materials.

Apart from the fine looks, this is a lame product. The cushioning got compacted on the ischium (buttocks bone) with less than 6 months of light use. More than just being unconfortable, this changed the way I sit on the bike and eventually started to feel back pains. I tried to use the warranty but they provided lame excuses for not replacing the saddle. My opinion: the product sucks and they know it. Or they simply don't care about customers. This was my first, and certainly my LAST Selle Italia Saddle.

Similar Products Used:

Selle San Marco Arami, Specialized Avatar, Fizik Aliante.

[Jun 16, 2011]
dumalam
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Comfortable.

I got my SLR saddle with my bike a year and a half ago and have been very happy with it. I suppose I haven't though about it too much since, which means that it has been doing a good job and I haven't had any problems with it. Saddle are probably an individual, subjective issue, but I've found the SLR to be very comfortable, and so far, durable.

[May 10, 2011]
Kevin
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Comfy!! Even on rough roads, this saddle is very comfortable and has an excellent shape for any riding situation - climbing, hammering in the drops, or just riding

Weakness:

Mine wore out faster than I thought it would and developed the dreaded slight cradle look where it dips a bit where most of my body weight was continuously placed. Eventually this lead to groin numbness and the need to replace. I hoped that this would have lasted longer based on the price.

I loved this saddle. It was like a gift from the gods to me. I rode 10,000km+ in one season on this saddle and felt amazing the whole way through. Not much numbness and pretty much zero saddle sores which is a difficult feat for hard and fast riding. It always felt comfortable, it was such a welcome relief finding an outstanding saddle!! Selle Italia really does a great job.

Similar Products Used:

Bontrager saddles, Selle Italia Flite, San Marcos

[Feb 05, 2011]
Crusierman
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Light weight,fantastic looking. I don't feel like I have been on a saddle when I get off of it. No chafing, no numbness.

Weakness:

None in my opinion. My sit bones must just fit it right. I suspect most men's do. But not everybody. I've been riding bikes for over 45 years I miss my banana seat on my Huffy Slingshot 3.(yea right)

This is a GREAT saddle. I have read all of the reviews on this site of it and think that it just comes down to where your sit bones are located. You either LOVE it or HATE it or, if you want to be wishey washey (because you paid so much for it) its ok. This can be said for any saddle.

Similar Products Used:

Specialized, Brooks,various no name.

[Feb 05, 2011]
centurionomega
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Very stiff. Very light. Aesthetically pleasing (if you are a minimalist).

Weakness:

Very stiff.

The Selle Italia SLR is unlike any bicycle saddle that I have ever had before.

After installing the first thing that I noticed was how incredibly stiff it is! The tone produced when tapping on it was reminiscent of a bongo. I immediately had thoughts of turning up at the hippy hill drum circle, having a go at setting the rhythm then getting bored and riding home.

Seriously, this is the most firm saddle that I have ever owned.

Initially, the saddle was uncomfortable. I felt like I was going to slip off the back. Granted, I got this saddle for my commuter bicycle, which not might be the best fit.

After a few days, and a few long rides, I really started to favor the SLR. There is a "sweet spot" for me. You can see it on the saddle. There is a bulge right before where your sit bones would be. I guess this tucks into my physiology down there somehow. Even though it is minimal in appearance, the area towards the nose of the saddle is wide and fitted for climbing.

Aesthetically, the SLR is great and spices up any bike to look like a super racer. Also, it is pretty light. I really can't notice though because I leave the house with full water bottles.

I have been using my ass in padded and unpadded shorts, as well as long pants for years. The SLR was an adjustment in saddle comfort at first, but I got used to it. I even have grown to enjoy its solid performance in the saddle department.

I have heard how some people are fussy about where they put their butts.

If you are not, and you want to join the scores of other riders who like it, I would buy an SLR.

Similar Products Used:

Selle Italia Flite Genuine Gel

[Aug 17, 2010]
Oliver
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

135 gr. ti rails, perfect amount of flex

Weakness:

none, unless it doesn't fit your ass.

I lucked out by picking this saddle up for $35 at a bike swap with a $145 sticker underneath, like some, it just didn't fit the fella who sold it. I rode it for almost two years on my XC mtn. racer before switching that out for a WTB SLT Rocket V. The SLR landed on my 16 lb. road bike and has lived there for a year and couldn't be happier. Like shoes, it has to fit just right, but this saddle has the right amount of flex and fit to keep me almost always ahead of the pack. If I have to replace it I may try I Fizik, but mine is still going strong to maybe in five years.

Similar Products Used:

WTB rocket, Titec Gove, WTB Silverado

[Sep 14, 2009]
Zachariah
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

-Light, light and LIGHT!
-Comfortable enough for centuries
-High resale value
-Ti rails
-Italian quality and Italian price too

Weakness:

-Does not like seeing pavement, or dirt for that matter. Micromatix thin cover scuffs too easily.
-No wreckage coverage, from Selle Italia.

This was on my MTB for an entire year, performing flawlessly. However, the saddle started getting badly chewed-up on the trail, so I put it on the road bike.

For such a minimalist saddle- it absolutely WORKS. Once dialed-in this saddle will keep your mind off the nether regions so you can concentrate on finishing your century with reckless exhilaration.

Mine weighed 145g, but after losing much material on the MTB its now back to claimed weight of 135g.

Whats the secret? It simply is the way your sit bones rest on the flexy saddle. Remember, saddle flex is FAR MORE important than copious amounts of padding.

My MTB is getting something more suited for marathon comfort and overall saddle longevity...Fizik Gobi XM k:ium - which is basically the off-road version of the SLR.

Similar Products Used:

-Specialized Toupe/Phenom SL
-Fizik Pave/Gobi XM/Arione k:ium
-Selle San Marco Ponza Lux

[Jan 23, 2009]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Strong
Light Weight 135g advertised, 140g actual
Good comfort for weight
Titanium rails

Weakness:

None depending on what your after

It would be hard to find another saddle that weights under 140g is comfortable, looks good, quality built and uses titanium rails for peace of mind. Unfortunately saddle are like shoes, you need to try them on first to see if they suit you.

Similar Products Used:

Felt
Ritchey

[Aug 26, 2008]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Light weight, no pressure points, evenly distributes weight, comfort.

Weakness:

None

Great saddle! at firt glance, it may look like a torture device, but it fits me perfectly. No discomfort, very comfortable. Quite frankly, I'm surprised, because I purchase this on a hunch, from all the reviews I read, plus, I noticed a lot of the pros use this saddle.

Similar Products Used:

Selle Italia Flight, Fisik Alante

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.