Selle Italia Turbomatic 3 Saddles

DESCRIPTION

  • Manganese Tube Frame
  • Genuine Pressed Leather
  • Carbon Finishing
  • Suspension Saddle

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-10 of 26  
    [Jan 21, 2008]
    roadie92
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Really comfortable

    Weakness:

    A little heavy

    This is a great saddle. It took me long time to find a saddle I really like but when I sat on this I thought this is the BEST saddle I ever sat on. Its not to long and its not to wide. Some say it is a little on the heavy side but when I look at a saddle I look at the comfort not really the weight. 5* saddle

    Similar Products Used:

    The selle Italia Flite

    [Jul 15, 2007]
    Steve Stewart-Sturges
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Comfort, durability, not too long or narrow, like a Flite.
    200 km rides a breeze

    Weakness:

    Mine kinda groans and squawks when I really grunt down on it climbing. I have broken a rail on one, the magnesium..some say heavy, what kind of price can you put on comfort and no saddle sores??

    Been using Turbos of all types for almost twenty years, mu bum was made for them, tried San Marcos and even Flites but they didn't have that shape that works, and they have consistently been a fantastic saddle.

    Similar Products Used:

    San Marcos Rolls, Ritchey WCS, Fizik Pave, Titanium Flite

    [Jun 08, 2007]
    Veronikafan
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Firm, supportive padding
    Suspension really works

    Weakness:

    steel rail model is on the heavy side

    This review is for the original Turbomatic with titanium rails. The basic saddle shape has remained the same throughout the four iterations of this design, until Selle Italia recently decided to stop producing it. A number of well-known pro riders have favored this saddle and still do. Obviously, the shape of the saddle is a personal choice, and what works for one rider will not necessarily be comfortable for another. I have been riding this saddle for about 15 years, having switched to it from the original Turbo model when it was introduced. The saddle is suspended on three rubber mounts which absorb a lot of the road vibration. Despite this feature, the basic feel of the saddle is firm and supportive, with no goofy cutouts, gel pads, or other gimmicks. It is a bit wider at the back than the Flite and most of the other Selle Italia minimalist designs. The nose could be a little narrower, but overall the shape fits me well. I rode 109 miles on this saddle last weekend, so I guess it is comfortable for this rider. The original Turbomatic model with titanium rails weighs in the 260-280 gram range, very reasonable for a suspension design. The steel rail versions are considerably heavier. So, if you are considering buying this saddle, look for the titanium rail version, which was also produced as the Turbomatic 2.

    Similar Products Used:

    Avocet Racing, Selle Italia Turbo

    [Oct 31, 2006]
    BillC
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Classic Turbo Shape.
    Suspension that actually works.
    Good quality, durable leather.

    Weakness:

    Bit heavy by today's standards.

    I have this on my Bridgestone RB-2 which I converted to Fixed Gear riding. I love this saddle. I always liked the Selle Italia Turbo shape and love the additional suspension under this saddle. I still need to be careful on big bumps, but the suspension really helps with washboard, road seams, and other minor road conditions.
    I was very sad to hear that SI had killed the Turbomatic line, but we must all move on.

    Similar Products Used:

    Selle Italia Turbo, Selle Italia Flite, Selle Italia Max Flite

    [Jun 16, 2005]
    jmcp60
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    To me, the major strenghts are price and comfort.

    Weakness:

    Weight. I wish it were at least 100 grams lighter.

    Saddles are one of the most (if not the most) personal components on a bike. I purchase the "Turbomatic 4" for two main reasons: price, and reviews/rating ratio. My other choices were "Koobi", and Fizik saddles. Both of them at least twice as expensive as this one. I figured that it would not "HURT" as much on your behind and wallet $45.00 than $90.00 or higher. Well, I think I made the right choice. For the first time in a very long time, I don't think about being sitting down on a bike, the saddle just disappears; my rides are usually 2-3 hours long. However, just like the two reviewrs before me, what works for some people will not work for others. I guess it has to do with the shape/size of your behind, weight, height, riding position, etc... Again there are many variables here that could make your ride very comfortable or the complete opposite. Like anything in life you have to try it for yourself to find out if it is for you.

    Similar Products Used:

    Selle Marco Aspide (different versions)

    [Jun 07, 2005]
    Anonymous
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    Strength:

    CHEAP

    Weakness:

    UNCOMFORTABLE and HEAVY

    To the previous reviewer (builder), you are not the odd man out. I too purchased a turbomatic quattro saddle based on the glowing reviews from this site. I have to say that my stock Giant OCR saddle was better. This saddle gives me numbness in places where I've never been numb before. And worse yet, it's HEAVY! I was willing to accept the weight/comfort tradeoff, but apparently IT DOES NOT EXIST! I've ridden this saddle for a couple hundred miles, and I've given up on it. I'm shopping for a new saddle (since I sold the old OCR seat with the bike).

    Similar Products Used:

    Giant OCR stock seat

    [Jun 02, 2005]
    D-Town
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Seems well built and not too expensive.

    Weakness:

    Shape of saddle will not fit everyone (not that any saddle would).

    I also purchased this saddle based on the reviewes and discussions on RBR. I was replacing the Selle XO that came on my Bianchi. I don't know which version of the Turbo mine is - the box merely said "turbomatic" and its the all white version. In short, this was not the saddle for me. The only complaint I have about it is that the shape is not right for me - that's not the saddle's fault, so I wouldn't penalize the rating of the saddle for that reason. After trying a few other saddles, I found that I tend to fit better on saddles that are more flat. So in considering this saddle, you may want to compare the shape to other saddles you've tried, which may give you some idea of what will work for you.

    Similar Products Used:

    Koobi Enduro gel, Selle Italia XO, Bontrager (stock on Trek 6700 mountain bike), other unknown brands.

    [Apr 27, 2005]
    Anonymous
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    2
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    Weakness:

    over-hyped?

    Well, I'm not sure if I want to be the odd man out here- I've used maybe 8 or 9 different saddles extensively over the years. I bought a Turbomatic 4 based on the reviews of this web site. I don't get it. This saddle is not what's it built up to be on here. The padding is too hard, I don't get the gel 'feel' when I sit on the saddle- more like a rock, there's no relief for my nether regions- whose being paid to post on this thing? The old Specialized Body Geometry that I wrecked was more comfortable and weighed about the same. My favorite saddle at this point is a variant of the WTB Laser V, although I forget the exact name, but its more of a mtb saddle- too soft for road riding. I guess I'll try one of the Specialized BG2 saddles, even though the reviews here are so-so on them. The search goes on. To SI's credit, the elastomers due soften the little hits, but I would not describe this saddle as "comfortable", certainly not instantly like some other reviewers.

    Similar Products Used:

    8+ saddles over the years

    [Apr 19, 2005]
    Anonymous
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Comfort and powerful pedalling platform.

    Weakness:

    It has to be said again: weight but a very minor weakness in the context of all the strengths.

    This review is for the Turbomatic 4. Unfortuately I have one of those behinds that doesn't love bicycle saddles. Accordingly I have could write a PhD thesis on all the saddles that I have tried. I really wanted a new, slick, lighweight saddle for my new bike so I gave them all a go then tried all the classic saddles (Flites, Concor etc). However, the one that I have wound up with in the Turbomatic 4. It is the only saddle that I can ride for 6+ hours and not have any issues down below. Sometimes on a long ride it even hits me how comfortable I am on this saddle. More than that, I find the shape is perfect to push against when on climbing or solo efforts. Two reasons in my view. First: It has perfect rise at the back. The Concor and Alinate have too much, forcing you to push back all the time so that you do not slide down on the nose. Second: The width is right at the back of the saddle and it tapers in much more quickly than almost every other saddle so that you have the support of a wide back but the freedom for your thinghs and sit bones to move. The only gripe has to be weight. Why Selle Italia didn't work on keeping a saddle with this exact, extremely popular shape (saddles are of course very personal but try and find a bad review) and cut some weight out is beyond me. Instead, they have decided in their wisdom to stop making the Turbomatic altogether and contunue to come up with about 20 new designs a year in the hope that one might work but most never seem to take off. Kudos to San Marco for continuing to make their classic saddles. So I have stocked up for the future. This why all of a sudden there are less Turbomatics in the SI sponsored teams, where there used to be many. However, for the sake of 100 grams over, say, an Arione or ti Aliante at around 250 grams it is not worth bothering about. You should never sacrifice one bit of saddle comfort for weight: save it elsehwere. So, do I think this is a good product? It has meant the difference between me enjoying my cycling and putting up with pain so I agree with some of the other reviewers that this is my favourite piece of cycling equipment that I own.

    Similar Products Used:

    Absolutely everything - you name it, I have tried it in my quest for the perfect seat.

    [Dec 06, 2004]
    Anonymous
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Can sit on it forever.

    Weakness:

    Weight.

    I bought this saddle after reading the reviews on this site. I was using a flite Ti. This saddle is heavier but significantly more comfortable. I will buy this saddle next time.

    Similar Products Used:

    Selle Italia Flite Ti, Old Leather Saddle.

    Roadbikereview Newsletter

    Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

    THE SITE

    ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

    VISIT US AT

    © Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.