Terry Fly Tri Gel Saddles

DESCRIPTION

The ultimate in comfortable bike saddles for men, ridden and universally loved around the world. Introduced in 1999, the Italian-made Fly represents the best in all that research and development. The Ti version takes comfort up to the next level as a wond

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 41  
[Nov 12, 2011]
kjung
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Light weight. Well made, with one exception (see below). Has relieved the pressure points, and so far has been a pleasure to ride. SMP Glider left me with some severe rub spots, and in fairness, it may have been a bit too wide.

Weakness:

A bit 'un-level' when set on a flat surface prior to mounting, but not enough that it is noticed in a ride.

So far so good. Have used it on a number of rides up to 45 miles (some hammerfests). No "hot spots", rub spots, or raw spots.
Have a couple of longer rides coming up that should be a good test of the product.
So far, the best saddle I have used. Seems to be a proven design, with a long history. I wouldn't say it 'disappears' under me, but at the end of a ride, the legs are tired (as it should be), but not the butt.

Similar Products Used:

Fizik Aliante, Koobi PRS, Brooks Pro, Selle SMP Glider.

[Jun 28, 2011]
cyclist brent
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

very comfortable from day one. Lasted over 10 years. Hard pressed to top that.

Weakness:

wish it was lighter, but honestly, around 250 isn't bad. They have a carbon version, but I can't use it with my Ritchey one bolt with the side clamp.

I rode this on my Bianchi 2000-2010. Then on my new Wilier for Spring 2011. Very comfortable and very long lasting saddle. I've put a lot of miles on it. Everyone will say that saddles have a break in period, but honestly, a good saddle will be comfortable from the first day. This saddle was a 100x's better than anything I had been riding at the time. I'm in search of a replacement and have been trying other brands, but I'm having a hard time finding anything as nice. Right now I'm liking the Prologo Scratch Nack Pro, but after 90-100 miles, I'm really missing that cut out. I may end up with another Terry. Note I'm only 140 lbs but that cut out makes a big difference on a long ride.

Similar Products Used:

Fizik pave (terrible), Prologo Scratch Nack Pro (very nice), Selle SMP Evolution (surprised me as the worst saddle I ever rode. Actually hurt my inner hamstrings and tears up your shorts), Terry FLX (should have been nice, but felt way too hard)

[May 11, 2011]
cspike
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

No frills, straight out of the box comfortable with competitive weight.

Weakness:

Maybe wear and tear, but I can really only compare it to the flite saddles I used to use way back when.

I tried the Terry Fly Ti saddle when it first came out. It was easy to get used to, and comfortable over the long haul. The original had a suede like textured cover that became very smooth over time, but bled when damp. I retired it for the newer carbon railed model, but I still use this saddle on my commuter bike. As mentioned, saddles are a very personal part of the bike. When you find one that works for you, stay with it.

Similar Products Used:

Fizik arione and gobi, Selle San Marco Aspide Arrowhead.

[Jul 01, 2010]
tenacean
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Fits by backside and has worn well over the years.

Weakness:

None that I've found

I got lucky...sort of. I did my research and this seat consistently got great reviews. I replaced my stock seat three years ago and I haven't looked back. I ride short and long and it's comfortable, it's worn well, and it doesn't weight a lot - the trifecta. Seats are personal things...you always pay close attentin to where you contact the bike...and the Terry Fly seat has served me well!

[Jun 05, 2010]
stgparris
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Plush ride. Price.

Weakness:

None yet.

I purchased this saddle after being sized properly for the first time for a saddle. It's the chromoly version but still applies here. after less than a week I've noticed this saddle to be all too comfortable and I feel like I'm riding a form fitted seat. The only saddle that might come close to this would be a Brooks Swallow though it doesn't have padding. After riding it my normally sore spine seemed to straighten right out and it felt oh so good. Definitely get yourself sized for a saddle if the bicycle shop you frequent knows how to do this and has the right tools for the job.

Similar Products Used:

WTB, Selle

[Feb 16, 2010]
Bob Howard
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Comfortable on long rides. You don't even know it's there.

Weakness:

None

I am a 74 year old male, and have been riding the Terry Butterfly for several years. It is the same as the Terry Fly, except very slightly larger and made for women. When my first one wore out I started to buy the Fly, but thought, why do this? They Butterfly is perfect. Someone once told me, "That's a woman's saddle," and I replied, "Not anymore!" I would highly recommend either saddle.

Similar Products Used:

Avecet, other Terry products

[Nov 28, 2009]
Jerry Ewing
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Comfort

Weakness:

Durability. Leather started cracking on the sides.

I'll give it an 8 on comfort, a 5 on durability. Bought one after my Special BG started coming apart, hoping the leather would last longer. Found the Terry to be equally comfortable but no more durable. The leather on the sides eventually started cracking, possibly due to sweat, maybe from the wet shorts during triathlon training. Would probably buy another, but would put leather conditioner on it to keep it from cracking.

Similar Products Used:

Specialized Body Geometry

[Jul 21, 2009]
kpny1
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

The shoe fits. So I sit on it. I'm 215 lbs, never had a problem with uneven rails or leather.

Weakness:

Doesn't look as cool as the painful saddles, but if you're riding on it, then no one should see it, right?

I've been riding my Terry Ti Fly for several years. The best thing I can say about a saddle is: what saddle?

Just upgraded my decent bike to a carbon dream bike. Tried a lot of thin, expensive saddles on a lot of expensive bikes while I was test riding, and found nothing compared even remotely to my Fly in terms of comfort.

I always noticed the saddle on these test rides. I never notice the saddle on my ride. So I took off the fancy, lightweight, cardboard thin beauty on the new Colnago, and plopped on the Terry Ti Fly.

My butt and my boys have never been happier.

Similar Products Used:

A bunch of other saddles from Fizik, Specialized, Bontrager, etc....

[Jul 13, 2009]
Doug
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5

I regularly ride 100-200 miles/week and have been using another major brand seat. This is a tiny bit heavier than what I was using but the key is 30,50,75,100 miles out, rides of up to 7.5 hours, I can still feel all my parts. And I like being able to feel my parts. Riding all day puts pressure on some things no matter what seat you use. With this, I am not at all concerned that I might being damaging anything. This is good.

[Dec 04, 2008]
Bikedued
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

fairly light for a cushy saddle. Comfortable as a saddle can get, if it's shaped right for you. Ti rails are light and improve the ride of your bike somewhat.

Weakness:

Slightly odd finish, and can be slightly off on the rail to sitbone area as noted. The bee? and "Buzz Off" emboroidery I can do without. Can be fixed with a sharpie though.:-)

After riding the MS150 on a stock style BG Specialized, I was numb for a month!! I started looking around for an alternative, and heard people raving about the Terry Fly. I couldn't afford the $149 price, so I was bummed out. Within a week one popped up on CL for $60 so I jumped on it. I threw it on my 1985 Schwinn Super Sport, and it was a revelation. I never knew a saddle could be comfortable!! I understand not every saddle works for everyone, which is shown in the reviews here. Let me tell you, it worked for me!! I'm 215 and dropping, and this saddle is like riding on a cloud! I'm not super crazy about the leopard like finish, but just great about everything else looks great.

Similar Products Used:

Specialized BG. Turbo. San Marco Rolls, etc etc...

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.