Look ErgoPost Seatposts

DESCRIPTION

Material: High Modulas Carbon Fiber and Kevlar
Diameter: 25.0 or 27.2
Length: 255mm
Max Line: 175mm
Weight: 195 grams

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 10  
[Sep 12, 2007]
Anonymous
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Looks great (no pun...), strong, highly adjustable.

Weakness:

Saddle slips unless cranked really, really tight. If you are concerned about weight, it's a bit heavy. Adjustment a bit more tedious than other seatposts.

I got this seatpost with my Look 486 frame. I like the post initially, until the saddle started slipping. At first it was very nice, but soon I started getting very uncomfortable. My saddle had slipped all the way back, and since it was a Fizik Arione, that was a long way back. The only way I could solve this problem was to crank the bolt down to the point I was concerned about something breaking. I eventually decided to get a new post. The post is highly adjustable, though, and if you can't find a setting, the problem is likely lies with you. Finding the right setting was very easy, but the slipping saddle was annoying.

Similar Products Used:

Easton EC70, Easton EC90, Syncros, American Classic, Specialized...

[Apr 26, 2006]
Ian Eglinton
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Weight, Plenty of adjustment options.

Weakness:

Not suitable to be used with Look wedge clamp bolt.

As supplied with a Look KG481SL.
Has plenty of set back, seat clamp is stable, and the neck area is well supported.
However when this post is used with the Look clamp bolt not enough force can be generated without damaging the surface.
I am aware of at least 3 failures locally caused by this problem.

Similar Products Used:

DA, Easton, various cheapies

[Sep 09, 2005]
shiny_car
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

light fantastic finish in high gloss carbon fibre; plenty of adjustability including minimal setback

Weakness:

not cheap although ebay was my friend

I very happy with this seatpost. I wanted a schmick looking carbon fibre post with little-to-no setback and that's what I got. 27.2mm diameter, same as stock post on Giant TCR. No probs with loosening or twisting at all. Love it.

Similar Products Used:

factory Giant (C-Tech) CF post; Easton EC70

[Jun 14, 2003]
dryan
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

looks good

Weakness:

cracks bad

good looking seat post, should come in flat carbon color. HEAVY!!!!!!!!, I used it on on seven hour ride and with out even falling it was cracked in the middle, no where near a clamp.

Similar Products Used:

use alien is what ive all ways used, i wish i didnt try some thing new.i'm bad!

[Jun 02, 2002]
arnold
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

carbon fiber material. aero profile.

Weakness:

i have one in 27.2 size and they frequently slipped down the seat tube even when i clamped it so tight i might crush it. buy a 25mm size and use a shim with it. also give special consideration about the saddle clamp's weak grips.

either love it or hate it. i don't care about how much it weights. looks good and the adjustability deserves a thumbs up. however, this is one "slippery" seatpost. the saddle often slipped and the seatpost itself slipped into the seat tube even on smooth road. set it too tight and you might break it.

Similar Products Used:

none

[Feb 27, 2002]
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

Looks good with a Look frame. Never had a problem with it.

Weakness:

Costs too much. Set back much too far. Need to use mine as far forward as possible. Might be the frame geometry.

Decent seatpost if it cost $100, but it doesn''t. Odd in design, but it works reasonably well.

Similar Products Used:

Thomson (better product)

[Feb 08, 2002]
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

Its an OK post, it just isn''t worth anything near what it costs.

Weakness:

Weight, cost, adjustments.

Very expensive, odd adjustment, but looks good with a LOOK frame. I''d take a Thomson seatpost even if they cost the same- which they don''t.

Similar Products Used:

Thomson, Selcof, DA

[Jul 06, 2000]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

i bought it since i wanted a more relaxed position, and i believed that i can maximize my needs with this seatpost. since it can be moved by 2.5 in, this is what it makes this product great.

Weakness:

it say's on the brochure that there is an anti-slip groove but there was none! I tightened it to the point that I was afraid I'd crush it but it still tilted at the front when I sat on it. I had to place a fine sandpaper between the clamps to hold it in place but for how long, i don't know since my complaint letter to veltecsports was forwarded to another person and the letter is probably stucked in red tape!

buy this ONLY if you really need a very relaxed position or try using Titec or Thomson.

Similar Products Used:

DA. CAmpy chorus,

[Oct 06, 2000]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

Long fore adjustment. Looks cool. Light weight.

Weakness:

So called titanium (actually aluminium) bolt stripped as I was tightening it. Veltec sports was nice enough to sell me a new one wholesale. Its a fairly short post (235 mm) and it occasionally creaks. Not worth the money.

I still think an American Classic is the best post for the money if toy can deal with 235 mm. Its the easiest to adjust.

Not worth the money unless you need the adjustability.

Similar Products Used:

Dura Ace, American Classic, Control Tech, Zoom, etc.

[Jul 23, 2001]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Setback positioning
Carbon Fiber Build
Easy and extensive adjustability

Weakness:

Slightly heavy and expensive vs other carbon fiber.

Very comfortable.
If weight isn't a concern, and you can get one cheap, it's a good post, otherwise go for a simple thompson set back or an easton or USE carbon.

Similar Products Used:

Ritchey Aluminum Stem

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.