Thomson Masterpiece Seatposts

Best Price At
Best Price At

DESCRIPTION

40 grams lighter than the Elite seatpost in the same size yet just as strong. Thomson accomplished this weight reduction by machining the seatpost including the eliptical inner diameter. 27.2mm x 240mm available with a 10 degree set back or straight 158 grams. 31.6 x 350mm available with a 7 degree set back 180 grams. Black or Silver.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 16  
[Oct 13, 2012]
eickmewg
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Low weight. Excellent quality.

Weakness:

A bit on the pricey side but worth it. Got mine at a pretty substanital discount which eased the purchase pain. The setback model looks a little odd with the mid-post bend but I don't mind as it works great.

A truly superb bike component. The machining is without fault. Easy to install and adjust for saddle position and tilt. Other positive reviews were spot on.

[Sep 13, 2009]
Zachariah
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Light
Striking in silver
Permanent settings
Saddle angle dial is convenient
Machined from a single 7005 aluminum billet

Weakness:

None...not even price!

At 155g this thing is still 10x stronger than full, fragile-by-comparison carbon posts will EVER be.

I had a machinist friend examine it and he was in complete AWE telling me the post must cost $200-$300 dollars. He was shocked how much I paid for it. The stick is a complete work-of-art. Yes, its highly over-engineered...but so is the OTHER PART LH Thomson and Co. makes- the landing gear struts for the Boeing 747 Jumbo Jet.

If 500+ air passengers can trust Thomson- so can your precious booty!

Similar Products Used:

Use Alien
Moots Titanium
Richey WCS Carbon
3T Doric Pro
Deda Elementi Black Stick

[Aug 01, 2009]
anthonys123456
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

Excellent clamping mechanism for saddle, easily adjusted

Weakness:

Aluminum walls too thin in places, exterior wall grooves were too large (causing stress risers), weaker than the Elite, not worth the risk for riders over 210 lbs.

Thomson seatposts DO break sometimes - don't let their marketing drivel stating that the post won't "catastrophically fail" influence your purchasing decision. Installed the seat-post at start of 2007 season using torque wrench (60 in-lbs) and rode for two seasons with no problems. About two miles into a ride recently, the post snapped in half where it enters the seat-tube. Sent me down instantly - nasty crash. Had a failure analysis done on the post and the findings were that the aluminum walls had been machined too much in some places (i.e., too thin) and the machining grooves on the outside of the post were likely out of spec, causing multiple stress risers. Thomson replaced the post but did not reimburse me for repairs to the bike, nor did they write a formal reply to my inquiry letter. I've actually gone back to Easton EC90 Zero carbon post - never had issues with it. Post is probably fine for lightweight riders, but there is a limit for how thin aluminum walls can be and still provide durability.

Similar Products Used:

Thomson Elite, Easton EC90 Zero, Easton EC90

[Dec 11, 2008]
miteemike3
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

- Super strong seat post
- Simple seat adjustments
- Set and forget

Weakness:

None

What else is there to say about Thomson other than they make rock solid products! Ingenious yet simple seat clamp design allows for minor (or major) adjustments by turning 2 screws. Once the seat is mounted and torqued, it's a set and forget type of seatpost. Never have to worry about it moving and works great with my Scott CR1. I took a pipe cutter to mine (31.6) and cut off about 2.5" and it weighs a scant 180 grams!

Similar Products Used:

- Ritchey WCS Carbon
- Easton EC90

[Oct 26, 2007]
rkb
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

There are few absolutes in life, the timeless quality of any Thomson product is one of them.

Weakness:

Perfection comes with a price and the Masterpiece is not cheap. However, look at the weights and prices of the other posts out there. The price and weight of the Masterpiece beats most of the high end carbon posts on the market. If the cost is still too much go with the Elite it is just as good, just a little heavier.

I have used Thomson Elite posts on my mountain bikes for some time now and went with the Masterpiece on my road bike for the light weight, and as much as I hate to admit it "Bling" value as well. All Thomson products are a work of art that function flawlessly forever. The mounting can take a little patience but once it is set up it will never move or fail you.

Similar Products Used:

FSA

[Aug 27, 2007]
Anonymous
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Strong, beautifully crafted, very light, MADE IN THE USA!

Weakness:

Somewhat difficult ot adjust. Pricey.

With price as no object, I began researching seatposts for my Cannondale SystemSix build project.

I examined all reviews and products on this site, and various vendor sites. I decided upon the Thompson Masterpiece due to the fact that it is light, strong, and it is made in the USA. Actually, this CNC machined product is a work of art.

I could not have made a better decision. I am a big guy 6'1" 225, and this post holds my Fizik Aliante solidy in place without a hitch.

My seatpost on my C'dale MTB is always popping and losing it's position; Therefore, I have decided to replace it with a Thompson Elite seatpost.

I recommend this product to anyone who will settle for nothing less than the best.

Similar Products Used:

Cannondale stock seatpost ono a Prophet MTB.

[Aug 18, 2007]
VooDooGuy
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Solid construction, good looks, reliability.

Weakness:

None that I've seen so far.

Best darn seat post that will ever be. After popping the bolt on the Forte Precision, I just had enough. Once calibrated to the right angle, it just doesn't move. Adjustment of the angle/fore-aft takes a bit of getting used to, but worth the time for a secure ride.

Similar Products Used:

Forte Precision carbon/aluminum

[Jun 27, 2007]
rdolson
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

The lightest, strongest, best made, safest, easiest to adjust seatpost BAR NONE!!!!

Weakness:

None (Well, a little pricey)

Have a Thompson Elite on my MTB, so I thought that I would try the Masterpiece for my road ride. It just doesn't get any better than this!

Similar Products Used:

Mavic, TTT, Bontrager, Campagnolo, Gippiem

[Mar 12, 2007]
Tim
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Bombproof,lightweight,gorgeous,& very adjustable.

Weakness:

good things cost good money

It's all good if you're willing to part with a c-note+.

Similar Products Used:

Ritchey for the Stumpjumper Pro, and various lower end posts for the ol' Cannondale SR500.

[Jan 19, 2007]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Light!! (158g aluminum!)
Adjustability (two bolt design)
Great look with the machined aluminum

Weakness:

None

If you want a lightweight, strong, adjustable seatpost, look no further!

This seatpost has all of the qualities you will ever want in a seatpost!

Similar Products Used:

Felt 1.1 Carbon Setback
Scattante aluminum
Supergo aluminum

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.