DEDA Magic Stems

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-8 of 8  
[Mar 22, 2005]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Stiffness, weight.

Weakness:

The "Gios" customized stem amounts to having a couple of "Gios" stickers on the sides of the stem, a tin stick-on "Gios" face place cover, and a "Gios" head set cap. Not really worth the extra $$$ you pay for the "Gois" emblazoned Deda Magic stem.

Since I like mashing the hills rather than spinning them (and I'm 6'1"), I needed a stiff stem. The Magic stem has worked quite well in that respect. In combination with the Deda Newton bar, there is little flex when pounding the climb. The weight is resonable, and the shape is unique. I purchased the Deda "Gios" Magic stem (since it matched my bike's color scheme). I was dissapointed that the extra $15 I spent on the "Gios" scheme stem only got me a couple of Gios stickers on the stem, and a tin Gios stick-on face plate. I decided to remove those and the stem is now just a normal Magic stem...sorry Gios! Another mistake I made during purchase was getting a stem that is a bit too long...so I'll have to purchase another. But heck - you can't spend too much money on bike parts, right??!! :-)

Similar Products Used:

Sticks, twine, tape, and a prayer! :-)

[Feb 25, 2004]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Reasonable weight. NO FLEX. Not too flashy. Compared to the market, this is even priced well.

Weakness:

Kind of odd with the three bolt face ? Would be nice if it was cheaper.

Went with large diameter bar after flexing just got to be scary. Had another stem on for a few weeks and it was better, but still would flex when I stood up. The DEDA has been nice and stiff. Mine is long (130mm) and it has been fine.

Similar Products Used:

ITM, Bontrager

[Jan 11, 2004]
campy10
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Strong and stiff, securely clamps to bar and steerer tube. Does not make any creaking or clicking noises.

Weakness:

not really a weakness but in my opinion it looks a bit fat and chunky compared to the newton and ITM millenium stems.

A good reliable stem which has so far proved itself to be trouble free.

Similar Products Used:

ITM big one

[Nov 07, 2003]
JFR
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

I don't know of any.

Weakness:

Apparently fragile threads. This weakness makes the product, at best, a waste of money due to the likelyhood of ruining it during normal adjustments/maintenance... at worst, it's hazardous and could cause a crash. Therefore I'm giving the lowest possible Value and Overall scores.

Stem came on new bik. When making a fit adjustment, after about 1k miles, I stripped the lower steerer clamp threads. I thought it was just me.... and figured I'd upgrade to a Newton. But low and behold the Newton reviews are full of stipped thread stories, and there are a few here for the Magic as well! I'll not be getting another Deda stem.

Similar Products Used:

Now using a WCS.

[Oct 08, 2003]
Mr Hunt
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Strong. No flex. Looks good.

Weakness:

Non I can think of.

First this is the pinarello version of the Magic, the same stem but with diff logo. The 1st feel was very strong and non flex stem, it transfer what you think into action. When I lift my bike the small amount of weight is notable and it feels great. I believe that the Newton stem is better but compare to the price diff the Magic is a great stem with a small price.

[Aug 16, 2003]
Armchair Spaceman
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Rock solid when fitted right. Absolutely no complaints about the performance of this stem.

Weakness:

Stripped a steerer clamp thread a bit too easily, so drilled out both and fitted recoils, no problem since. (I also use a torque wrench now). A recoils kit and a torque wrench together were way cheaper than a new stem. Price is a bit steep.

I like this stem. I'm a big heavy rider (250lb if I haven't had breakfast) and mating the Magic stem with a Forgie OS bar and Muscle carbon steerer my front end is rock solid. No complaints except you have to be REAL careful not to over-torque the steerer clamp bolts (I did, to my cost, but it WAS my own fault)

Similar Products Used:

Pazazz crap, ITM/Colnago. 3TTT forgie

[Jul 27, 2003]
simian
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

Nice looking

Weakness:

Quality

Unbelievably bad experience! I'd read the Newton was junk but trusted the Magic was better based on the reviews. Not so!! I put the stem on - road round the block. The stem was slightly off center so I loosened the two bolts that hold the stem to the steer tube, straightened the bars, then started to re-tighten the bolts. The bottom one worked, the top one stripped the stems internally threads and I hadn't even remotely approached a safe level of tightness. UTTER CRAP!! Deda's stems are clearly suffering from severe manufacturing and quality control issues. Don't waste your cash.

Similar Products Used:

TTT Forgie - rock solid.

[Jul 05, 2003]
HakeemT
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

- rocksolid - design - price

Weakness:

- none found so far (although it's a lot heavier than the Newton stem)

Solid stem, just doing what it is supposed to do. My first oversized stem + bars combo (both Deda Magic) and I love it. No flex at all during sprinting! Nice price compared to other oversized stems.

Similar Products Used:

- Cinelli Alter - Kalloy

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.