Look Ergo Stem Stems

DESCRIPTION

  • Aluminum
  • 20cm of Vertical Adjustment
  • Length: 80mm -160mm
  • Also Available in Aheadset Forks! Compatible Model (ErgoStem HSC)

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-8 of 8  
    [Aug 24, 2009]
    Anonymous
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    Strength:

    Adjustability

    Weakness:

    Faulty design - unuseable!

    The concept of the ergostem is great - at least in theory... It can simulate every other stem, so you can figure out what's needed on your bike. When first mounted I tightend the screws with the required torque (user manual: 25nm). The cast aluminum washers instantly cracked and made the stem useless. My dealer replaced it. Mounted the new one and tightend the screws with 10nm torque, which is less than half of the required torque. Guess what: washers cracked and fell to pieces!!!!!!!

    [Aug 18, 2009]
    Mick
    Triathlete

    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    2

    Have only been riding in doors on this stem set it up once to date. While setting it up noticed that I need longer cables for were I wanted to set up the stem. I tried to agjust it for the first time and the metal washers broke into many peices and now are unusable. The stem is rendered usless until they are replaced. Not a good thing to happen if I was riding our doors. Will be contacting LOOK to see what they say.

    [Dec 12, 2008]
    JRAM
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5

    Although it is hefty, it is infinitely adjustable to give you a perfect fit. Not everyone is adaptable to a straight stem but with the adjustable stem it fits the bike to the rider.

    [Aug 23, 2007]
    Anonymous
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Very adjustable

    Weakness:

    Need a removable front plate clamp design to allow for aero shaped bars to be used. At 180 lbs sometimes the stem shifts if I hit a bump hard.

    Great stem for dialing in your TT position.

    [Oct 23, 2003]
    needhamphoto
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Solid, Very adjustable, No torque, The new black looks great. Fully loaded w/panniers (65 lbs) No problems.

    Weakness:

    None so far.

    I tried all the stems on the market, This one has fulfilled my needs, I require a more upright position for touring, This stem provided that. I was worried about slipping and put the stem through all the paces, No slipping. The stem also offers me better front control(steering). Will not go back to a nonadjustable stem.

    Similar Products Used:

    Ritchie, Salsa, Bonti, Deda. None compare

    [Jul 13, 2000]
    Anonymous
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Full-circle adjustability. Comes in threadless and quill mountings, and I use both types.

    Weakness:

    Can be somewhat flexible during out of saddle pulls. The farther the reach is adjusted outward and upward, the greater the flex. I wouldn't object to a model with a removable bar cap to make it easier to swap handlebars.

    The only "full-circle" adjustable stem on the market. High quality product frequently pictured on the bicycles of the top ranked international riders. I have personally observed these stems used in actual competition by track racers at the Frisco, TX Superdrome. Grade 12.9 Socket head cap clamping screws are strong enough to be tightened to the point where they will not loosen. I have them on my 2 best bicycles to easily adjust my way through the season and will use no other until something better comes along!

    Similar Products Used:

    Zoom adjustable rise stems.

    [Dec 21, 2000]
    Anonymous
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Easy to setup and change angle / height of stem for a true
    custom fit.

    Weakness:

    Weighs more than most stems.

    This is a G R E A T stem. I have used both the quill and threadless version of this stem on my road bikes for several years now. The ability to change the bar position, up, down, in, out, etc on the fly is unsurpassed.
    The stem is very stiff, I have never had a minutes problem with it. They use high quality bolts for the pivoting part of the stem, which lock down tight and stay put. I've used lots of non-adjustable standard stems, and have found once
    you have the option of fine tuning your ride the stem provides you will never go back to the old style.
    The quality and finish of the stem is first rate. The old style is a shinny aluminum, while the new style is metalic gray. They weigh more than a standard non-adjustable stem, however the small increase in weight is a small price to pay for the increased comfort.
    In addition the price is a little steep, however you pay for quality, and with this stem it delivers. Compared to the adjustable Zoom stem, this one is much more adjustable, much stiffer, weighs a litte more, cost more, and looks better.
    I highly recommend this stem, once you set it up it will be as stiff as any high quality fixed non-adjustable stem. In either Threaded or Threadless configuration. It's a great addition to any serious bike.

    Similar Products Used:

    Zoom

    [Mar 08, 2001]
    Anonymous
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Infinite adjustability

    Weakness:

    Heavy
    Depending on adjustment, may flex during sprints or out-of-the saddle climbs.

    I just started serious riding again after a 7-year layoff and was contemplating buying a custom-made Seven. My old racing bike has decent components, and the frame is in good shape, but the set-up is more for crit racing and fast training (i.e., not that comfortable for long, slower rides). Anyway, my LBS did a custom screening on the Salsa stem system to find my optimal position. I wanted my stem rise to be high enough for comfort, and I couldn't exactly dial-in to the position I wanted.

    I heard about the Ergo stem, so I bought and installed one. For anyone who can't seem to find the exact riding position they feel comfortable with, this product is the solution. Just leave enough slack in your cables and you can adjust the stem to just about any position available. Although expensive and heavy, the comfort I experience while riding now more than offsets its weaknesses. The stem won't fully compensate for a frame that is too big or small, but it will allow you to get that perfect position if you're between sizes. You will never regret spending the money on this product.

    Similar Products Used:

    None

    Roadbikereview Newsletter

    Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

    THE SITE

    ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

    VISIT US AT

    © Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.