Thomson Road Stems

DESCRIPTION

Thomson Road Stem

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 20  
[Feb 23, 2012]
mark welch
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

stiff yet slightly dynamic
light weight
very clean cnc milling

Weakness:

costs a hundred dollars for a new one.

a friend bought me a black anodized 50mm thomson stem. he said he got it for five bucks from a friend. they are light very well machined and exquisitely crafted.

[Dec 13, 2008]
fastbyfrank
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Strong, beautifully made verging on over engineered which suits me...

Weakness:

Many would say weight, but what's a few grams, the view more than makes up for it.

Exquisite finish, painfully strong, I'm 85kg's and it doesn't move, ergonomics are excellent as far as knee's are concerned. There's nothing quite like having hand made parts right there in front of you, for me it adds to the pleasure of cycling. A typically high end American product that does exactly what it was intended to do.

Similar Products Used:

early 90's Dura Ace ,FSA, Cannondale F3

[Mar 17, 2006]
Fattybiker
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Strong,
Beautiful piece of aluminum,
Strong,
Did I say strong?

Weakness:

Pricey,
Bulky,
Weight.

Always have used the Thomson Elite post on my road and mountain bikes, so I decided to try the stem on my cyclocross/commuter bike. First off, it's beautiful to look at. Most importantly it's soooooo strong! No flex, movement, etc. Holds the bars without a problem. I guess my only complaint is, a minor one. I wish it was cheaper! But then again I'm a cheap skate! On my cross bike its size is perfect and looks great, but on a dedicated road bike I could see the problem with its bulkiness and weight.

[Feb 10, 2006]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Tons of sizes. CRAZY CRAZY strong.

Weakness:

A bit heavier than competitors. Bit bulky looking on a ROAD bike. A bit pricy for the weight. 4 in value because of much lighter offerings for price. 4 in overall because much of strength lost on a road bike. 5 for track or mtb bike.

CRAZY strong. Nothing else to consider for a TRACK, or MOUNTAIN bike.

Similar Products Used:

Ritchey, RaceFace, Icon (trek), Cheap off brand.

[Dec 31, 2004]
jksu
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

strong, quality build

Weakness:

weight, special shim req'd, expensive

like others, learned the reputation and quality of thomson from mtn biking, use their seatpost on all my bikes and now have their stems on both my jamis dragon and gunnar roadie now. love the knee saving clamps and although the beefy looks doesn't quite fit the gunnar skinny 853 tubes, it's a solid stem. no creak, stiff as hell.

Similar Products Used:

titec, ritchey, specialized, 3T

[Oct 17, 2004]
bburgbiker
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Bulletproof (stiff) Beautiful craftsmanship Laser etched graphics Four-bolt face plate

Weakness:

Heavier than many other stems

I've been using this stem since just after it came out and have loved the stiffness. I've been using Thomson stuff on my mountain bike for years so I knew it would be a beautiful piece of craftsmanship and also bulletproof. For a road stem it is quite beefy. Four bolt face plate just like the mountain stem. If you like the sleek look this may not be the stem for you but if you don't want a wet noodle this is the one. For any bigger guys this would be a great option. Especially on the sprints. Goes great with the seatpost as well. I've got a black one but the silver looks great as well. All in all a great stem and I can also say that the Thomson customer service is great. I had a seatpost with a problem (it actually crimped where it was clamped) that they exchanged for a new one no questions asked a few years ago.

Similar Products Used:

Thomson mtn. stem Ritchey WCS road (very flexy)

[Aug 03, 2004]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5

My friend has a Thompson stem on his Mtn. Bike and loves it. I am just writing to say that if you are considering getting this stem, you must go to their website. You should find a picture somewhere on there of one of their stems holding a Vega off the ground. Email them for the poster of it. For those of you that are too young to know, a Vega is a Car. Go and try to wrench a set of bars out of that thing when you sprint, not gonna do it. Yes I am getting the stem.

[Jul 26, 2004]
Tig
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Strength, stiffness when sprinting/climbing, safe, non-damaging steerer clamp, 4-bolt bar clamp is 48 mm wide, no knee-banging exposed steerer clamp bolts, and it also comes in polished silver for those who are sick of everything anodized black!

Weakness:

A slight weight penalty that beats a week in ICU after a cheaper made stem fails.

For the last few years, all I've used are Thomson stems on my road bikes. I now use one on my MTB as well. The stem, steerer, and fork are the areas you NEVER want a failure with. Thomson's over-engineering is worth every cent and gram. For carbon steerers, there isn't a better, safer clamp design available! The steerer clamp wraps around over 180 degrees, which secures the stem without damage to a carbon steerer tube. Only Ritchey WCS comes close when it comes to safely clamping a carbon steerer.

Similar Products Used:

3T, Deda

[Jun 03, 2003]
Jeff Parriott
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Very strong for its weight

Weakness:

the overall weight

I agree with most reveiws of this stem. It is strong and stif. A very high level of finish adorns this Thompson product. It could be a bit lighter. I would like to see different colors as well. ie. blue, silver.

Similar Products Used:

Cinelli, ITM

[Jun 01, 2003]
MTCC
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Strong. I love the steerer clamp. It is nice not to have bolts protruding out the back of your steerer. Looks very clean. And who wants to worry about there stem bolts stripping their new featherweight stem? I was disgusted when I bought a torque wrench.

Weakness:

Check negative rise first

I just put this stem on my Seven. First thing i noticed was the -10 degree rise Thomson was actually sloping less than my -8 degree Deda Newton I was replacing. So I checked it against a -10 degree ITM Millenium to confirm, and I was right! Check that out Thomson.

Similar Products Used:

ITM MILLENIUM, DEDA NEWTON

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.