Thomson X2 Stems

Best Price At

DESCRIPTION

The legendary Thomson Elite, in a downsized clamp version for road use. With two bolts instead of four, it shaves grams but still provides similar stiffness to the MTB Elite stem. 100% Made in the USA Smooth-edged clamp for c...

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 22  
[Dec 05, 2013]
ziscwg

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Very solid feel. Coming from an FSA OC-99, it's very apparent.
The look. At first it seemed bulbish looking. When mounted, I like it.
The quality of the stem.

Weakness:

A tad heavier than the FSA OC-99 it replaced by 10 gr.

I put X2 on because the FSA OC-99 I was using seemed to dig into bars as if the face plate was too small.

The feel of the X2 was stiffer and way more "solid" feeling. I'll take the 10 gr weight difference any day.

Similar Products Used:

FSA OC-99

[Jul 04, 2012]
Richard
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Light, classy looking, precisely made

Weakness:

Face plate cracks

The face plate has cracked where the bottom bolt is located after a few hundred miles and it is showing cracking appearing where the top bolt is located.

If I had not noticed this I may have lost my front teeth.

I don't believe I over tightened the bolt as I used a torque wrench. It is just the stresses are too great in that area for the amount of material. There is a reason why four bolts are used.


[May 17, 2010]
river roadie
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Looks great. Love the 17 degree drop. Very aggressive looking.

Weakness:

the weight savings is not worth the risk. that crack could have happened on the road. I would not like to think of the consequences.

this stem is mounted to Ritchey WCS bars on my Titus Modena. Didn't ride it more than 500 miles. It was stored for over a month. When I pulled it down from it's suspended hooks I discovered a crack across the faceplate top and bottom near the bolt. I have WCS Ritchey stems on my other three bikes. No problems with them.

Similar Products Used:

I use the thomson elites on my mountain bikes...no problem. My other road bikes have the Ritchey WCS 4 axis stems. Good stuff so far.

[Feb 01, 2010]
Scott Ayler
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

High quality. Great price. Very durable. At 260 lbs, it comes clydesdale approved. Overall appearance is gorgeous ... very well made.

Weakness:

None

Purchased Thomson X2 stem to complete my 2009 Capo upgrade. (Somehow the C4 stem didn't do justice to my setup.) The X2 stem is well designed with sleek lines. Absolutely gorgeous. Never had a problem with the faceplate or fit with my bars.

Would not hesitate to place this stem on an $8000+ professional road bike.

For those weight weenies (you know who you are), the weights posted on the IH Thomson website are accurate. Grab the scale and enjoy!

This stem is better than other stems costing in the $200+ range (that includes carbon).

I have been told that I am a VERY selective biker. Being picky, having the right components with exceptional quality is what I demand. This Thomson product is the finest I have seen (regardless of price).

Similar Products Used:

Thomson Masterpiece seatpost, FSA OS 99 CSI stem, FSA (cracked) carbon stem, Bontrager Race Lite stem, Cannondale C4 stem.

[Oct 28, 2009]
lebikerboy
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Light,stiff,attractive.

Weakness:

None that I've discovered.

I initially bought this stem because it was the only one with a low enough stack height
for the carbon take off fork I'd purchased.
Stiff enough for me and the bike goes where I point it. Some folks think it a good idea to grease the stem/steer tube interface. This is a definite no-no. Grease the stem bolts themselves and use a torque wrench and you're good to go.

Similar Products Used:

Easton EM90 magnesium stem.

[Aug 22, 2009]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Weight
Stiffness
Made in USA
Looks

Weakness:

A bit pricey

The Thompon X2 stem has been a good purchase for me. It holds my carbon bars and carbon steerer tube well, adjustments are easy, and it looks great. Thomson's reps have been helpful and informative on the phone.

As with most modern lightweight biking components, you can't overtighten the bolts on this stem without the risk of damaging the product. I feel that those who have had product failure with this stem likely damaged the product by overtightening the bolts. Always use a bicycle torque wrench with new components.

[May 11, 2009]
kenwall
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

looks

Weakness:

Not strong enough, particularly at the connection to the fork. It needs more metal there.

Looks great, but it broke. The thing always creaked. I only weigh 160 lb. and had a max of 2000 miles on it. Buy the Truvativ Team stem, it's much stronger and looks just as good.

Similar Products Used:

Truvativ Team Ti

[Mar 02, 2009]
crispysax
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Slim line appearance. Styling. Reputation.

Weakness:

Not the stiffest stem. Creaking. (despite copious grease)

I switched to this stem from a Ritchey WCS OS aluminium stem to match the stem to my thompson seatpost. Attractive and slim stem with good repuatation. However, instantly noticed more flex in the bars when sprinting. Creaking constantly during efforts and sprints (despite vigilant greasing of stem bolts). Not sure how they earnt their good repuation...

Similar Products Used:

Ritchey WCS OS
FSA OS-99

[Feb 07, 2009]
VaughnA
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Looks good. Stiff

Weakness:

Weak faceplate.

It was a nice stem while it lasted. I've had it a couple of years but I hadn't ridden the bike for more than maybe 5000 miles with the stem (I ride mostly Singlespeed).

Crossing a bridge joint today I heard a crack. At the bridge joint at the other end of the bridge my bars rotated toward the ground. Luckily I didn't crash. I looked down to see the stem faceplate cracked completely through on one side.

I torqued the stem to the correct spec when I installed it and it still broke. I had a thomson mountain bike stem faceplace crack about 3 months ago in a similar manner. I will say that Thomson did replace it. Although they are stiff I think that there must be a problem with machined vs forged caps. After today I think I'll pull both stems off and put on something a little more robust. That was a little too close for comfort.




Similar Products Used:

Easton, 3TTT, generic Sette Forte etc.

[Jul 24, 2007]
Alex Euler
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Weight. And the fact that it comes in so many sizes.

Weakness:

Faceplate cracked at top bolt. I'm now questioning wether a 2 bolt design is the best setup. Thompson is replacing the faceplate, but I may switch to an alternate brand when I get some $. Stem was not overtightened...Deda supernatural bars were not damaged.

Looks good, light weight, bulletproof reputation. Worked as advertised until the faceplate cracked.

Similar Products Used:

Specialized, Bontrager, Cannondale, Ritchey, you name it. I also ride a Thompson seatpost on my otherwise all carbon bike.

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.