Wipperman Connex 9X1 9sp Chains

DESCRIPTION

A tool-free link, that allows you to take off your chain as many times as you want without weaken the chain.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 18  
[Jul 04, 2011]
AF.Rider
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Lasts forever. Loves the kilowatts. (well, honestly, most any bike chain is plenty strong if it's installed properly).

Weakness:

connector (snap on) is difficult to use. Like, SERIOUSLY difficult to put on and take off.

I can't remember when I put this chain, it's been that long. Over 3 years at least, over 15,000 miles. Yeah, I've been stingy, not replacing my chain, but it still works good enough. I ride really hard, TONS of sprints, ape-sheet accelerations, standing starts, big gear sprints up 18% grades at 40 rpms. My nuts owe this chain, for only having broken only once. And that was because I did a sprint when it was not fully shifted. When people / bike shops say to replace your chain every 3000 miles, laugh. Unless your off roading in the mud or something. A properly maintained chain on a road bike should last over 10,000 miles.

In my experience, Sram chains don't ride as quiet on Shimano cassettes as Shimano or Wipperman chains.

Similar Products Used:

shimano, sram

[May 05, 2009]
ReneB
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Hardly any stretch after 5 years of use on full XTR drivetrain. Never caused chain suck or any drivetrain issues.

Weakness:

None. Never broke. Kept chain properly lubed.

My ride is composed of 3 times a week average 12 + miles off road/single track.
I have chain gauge and checked chain at least once a year (lazy).

Similar Products Used:

Shimano

[Mar 11, 2008]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

performance

Weakness:

a bit pricey. but got it on sale.

Replaced my campy 9sp chain with the Wipperman. Easy assembly, smoother shifting than what I was using.

Similar Products Used:

SRAM, Shimano, Campagnolo

[Nov 06, 2007]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Everything

Weakness:

None



Over the years, a number of chains have come with some gone or morphed. While I have never experienced any chain that was not at least adequately good - PROVIDED THAT IT IS OF PROPER LENGTH, WAS PROPERLY INSTALLED AND MAINTAINED..., DUH (not all of you have figured out that rocket science) - I have to say that all Wipperman chains that I have ridden/used have always proven exceptional. These ARE well designed, well made - finished and very smooth, solid chains. If only from the standpoint of smoothness, these chains are winners. And due to routine maintenance of lubrication and cleaning which any chain deserves but hardly ever gets, durability is also outstanding.

High marks all around!!!

Similar Products Used:

Regina, Sedis, Sachs, Rohloff and Campagnolo

[Aug 04, 2007]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

High profit margin for the LBS that sold it to me. Not really their fault, I asked them to special order the chains for me. Still better than a Dura Ace chain.

Weakness:

Too high maintenace. Not durable enough for anyone who doesnt have a Pro-Tour wrench looking after the bike after every ride. The chains require a level of dedidcation to keeping clean that most of us do not possess.

I bought 2 of these chains at the same time intending on installing them on 2 different bikes. I only installed it on one bike, my best bike, the IF. The chaing worked great at the begining of its life but it developed a kink and i installed the other chain. It lasted less then 1000 mile and it developed multiple kinks during a particularly grueling day of riding on Skyline Drive. The chain left me stranded at one of the gas stations. I had to buy a bottle of lamp oil from the gift shop to try and clean and repair the chain. It was no use. Fortunately a nice couple on vacation drove me and my bike back to my truck.
I bought a SRAM PC-971 chain the next day. I should have bought the SRAM to begin with.

Bottom Line - Unless your a protour rider with a personal mechanic overseeing your every bicycle need, buy something else.

Similar Products Used:

SRAM, Regina, Sach-Sedis, Shimano

[Jul 12, 2007]
darin barker
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

none

Weakness:

Junk chain, should of never bought it.

I used this piece of crap chain for just under one month, the links started locking up, and would skip on the cassette, no deraillier adjustment would help.

Similar Products Used:

shimano

[Jan 25, 2007]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

better than shimano, connector is nice, but SRAM has one too..

Weakness:

Ummmmmmmmmmmm YES Oh and you can buy 2 other high end chains for the price of this crappy chain!

I've had several of these chains.. Not because they are good, but because the Shimano was so totally horrendous!

Reality is that this chain sucks too.. don't try to ride in the 11 tooth cog, even if you grind down the lock ring, it will STILL skip off... Oh, and it still rusts!

Similar Products Used:

All sorts of other crap.. The only chain I still like is the GO with sram PC-90.. The second best behind their hollow pin technology.. (what crap THAT is!)

[Dec 23, 2006]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

None noted.

Weakness:

Poorly designed connector link, frequent stiff links. Poor shifting performance.

After the favorable Bicycling review I expected great things from the Wipperman chain. Unfortunately I was very disappointed. This was probably the worse performing chain I have ever used. The connector link is hard to install and no amount of adjustment could make it run smoothly. As soon as I went back to a SRAM chain my shifting immediately became smooth and flawless.

Similar Products Used:

Various SRAM, Shimano, and IRD products.

[Oct 04, 2006]
Wallace Wormley
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

Does not rust. But never had a problem with chains rusting.

Weakness:

Breaks!

This is my second wipperman chain. I have loved in on my road bike so I thought this would be grat for my cros bike too. Worng the chain didn't last a full season. A little over 1000 miles and it broke. I inspected the chain and noticed that at least a dozen of the side plates were cracked. I have inspected my road bike's chain with 3000 miles on it and no problems so far. I am small guy and have ridden for years and never broken a chain. Even so I have seen may broken chains by other riders and never saw anything like this. Performance nor wipperman had any comments about this. I am going back to SRAM on both my bikes.

Similar Products Used:

SRAM

[May 29, 2006]
John P
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1

I was inspecting my bike today before a ride and cancelled it once I looked at my chain (wipperman/shimano 9 spd) and noted at least 7 links that had cracks in them, and I'm assuming these are just about ready to completely separate any moment now...

I did a quick search for similar situations, and apparently others have experience the same thing.

I'm just glad I didn't go out on a ride today!

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.