Kestrel Talon SL Frames

DESCRIPTION

Combine the ultra-light weight and magic-carpet ride of Kestrel's coveted EMS line of frames with the agile handling and explosive acceleration of the Talon. The result: the Talon SL. By employing a super-strong, super-stiff grade of “800K” carbon fiber, Kestrel engineers are able to produce an extremely lightweight frame with the stiffness and performance characteristics of the “standard weight” Talon.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-8 of 8  
[Dec 16, 2010]
Dick Wilson
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Frame strenght, ride quality and comfort once the bike was professionally set up for my size

Weakness:

Nothing other than the seat post creek noise that has been addressed.

2006 Talon SL.....after reading several reviews about how stiff and rigid the frame is I have found it to be exceptional. I love climbing TN hills and this frame doesn't flex. It is a smooth compfortable bike on all road surfaces. I did have the seat post "Creek" others have described but I did find the "sweet spot" in adjusting the angle of the seat which elminated any noises.

Similar Products Used:

Orca, Specilaized and Trek

[Feb 08, 2010]
Will b.
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Aero, stiff,

Weakness:

Seat tube malfunction. great bike but I keep a 4 mm allen wrench with me just in case it slips. (it has on dirt roads around Boulder)

The bike is great, responsive, light, and especially aero. It's a bike none of your friends will have.

Similar Products Used:

Fuji Team Issue

[Jun 30, 2009]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Lightweight, Fast, Comfortable to ride, especially on long distances.

Weakness:

None before the frame break.

I bought a new 2008 Kestrel Talon SL in April of 2009. I loved the bike. It performed like no bike I ever rode, incredibly smooth and fast! Averaging 20mph on this bike is practically effortless. I had no problem keeping up on grous rides, and in the two months of overship had done several long rides as well. It was truly a joy.

And then, last week, I experienced a frame issue. The front derailuer cable stop, that mounts to the downtube went down into the body of the frame after I attempted to shift to the large front chaingring on the street in front of my house. I heard a pop, and my shifter no longer worked. Upon inspection of the cable, I had a hole in the fram where the cable stop once was.

After taking the bike to a LBS (certified Kestrel Dealer), they notified me that the frame needs to go back to Kestrel for their evaluation of the damage. The mechanic told me he's never seen anything like the damage in his years at the shop. It seems like a freak break that hopefully Kestrel will warranty. More to come on this.

Similar Products Used:

1988 Trek 1500

[Apr 05, 2009]
Al Cassel
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Areo for a road bike. Stiff bottom bracket. Great value for the dollar.

Weakness:

I haven't really discovered any.

My Talon SL is simply sweet. When I need to put down the hammer it flies. When I need to climb it never lets me down. It is smooth over the roughest roads, and it is responsive when I need to carve through the turns. And it is a beautiful bike to look at as well.

Similar Products Used:

Novarra AL 6 frame with carbon fork and seat stays.

[Sep 01, 2008]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Weight and stiffness.

Weakness:

It's too beautiful a bike to take a fall.

I have put 4,000 miles on my Talon SL this past year. It is smooth and responsive. I rarely have to get out of the big ring because it just cooks along on inclines, and it eats up ground when cruising the flats. I have very little road chatter even with the roughest roads, and when I hit good payment it feels like butter. To top it off, it is a beautiful bike and it is a great value compared to it's competitors.

Similar Products Used:

Trek 1000 and REI Novarro AL6 frame with carbon fork.

[Oct 12, 2007]
peter bratz
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Acceleration, light as a feather, responsive and nimble, a great climber.

Weakness:

Had a problem with the carbon aero seat post sliding down the tube. Kestrel is sending me a brand new 2008 SL frame!

What a ride! Had too many problems with a K-2 alum/carbon bike so took a test ride on a 2006 Kestrel Talon. Couldn't see any appreciable difference. Then I rode the SL and UFF DA!! So much quicker it's all that and a bag 'o chips, comfy on the long runs too. Climbing is a breeze. While my buds are grinding away they look over shake their head as I glide to the front with a big grin. LOVE this bike!

Similar Products Used:

K-2 with Ksyrium Elite wheels.

[Apr 20, 2007]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Strength and quickness

Weakness:

none I've seen

Kestrel Talon SL is a very strong quick bike. I'm a big guy 220lbs and it can handle my bulk fine. I have the full Dura Ace package and Rolf Vector Pro Wheels that are strong but light enough to keep up with the guys.. I strongly endorse Kestrel products

Similar Products Used:

Trek 5500

[May 30, 2005]
Anonymous
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Rock solid stiff, great nude carbon fiber look and high vibration absorption. What more could you ask for?

Weakness:

Internal caqble routings = noisy

This frame was just what I hoped for and expected! It is extremely stiff, but it doesn't beat you up. I came from a light stiff aluminum frame, but it beat me up on the rough roads that I ride on. This bike seems to combine the responsive, stiff feel that I need especially out of the saddle on climbs or power bursts with the shock absorption that allows me to keep on riding. The nude clear coat on the carbon fiber is gorgeous! This frame rocks. I also sweat an incredible amount so I'm looking forward to NOT corroding the aluminum through the paint as on my last Trek bike. As others have mentioned, the through cable routings are a mixed blessing. The bike looks very clean without cables running along the frame. On the other hand, the cables are quite noisy inside the frame and also on the side of the frame. Overall, I wish that the cables were routed in the traditional manner. The frame is extremely light at 2.4 lbs and Kestrel says they are working on a sub 2 lb frame! The aero tube layout is cool and gets noticed by many other riders, but I wonder how much difference it makes at sub 30 mph speeds. I bought the frame through the internet (see above) for $300 below retail (bought 2004 frame at end of year although 2005 frame is identical). Also saved $150 on tax. I must say that although the construction quality of the frame is top notch and the value of the frame is high, I definitely do not like the fact that it is made in CHINA. I know that it probably doesn't matter, but I was not ready for a chinese frame. No offense intended to anyone, but it's how I feel. Anyway, it's still a great frame.

Similar Products Used:

Nothing similar. I have rode looks of carbon steel bikes and a Trek 2300 (light and stiff but no shock absorption)

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2021 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.